We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens

32 reviews
Save
Living room: the dining table set for six.
The master bedroom (with en-suite): plenty of room for a travel cot (cot provided on request).
We've received our 'Safe Travels' stamp from the World Travel & Tourism Council.
1 of 32Living room: the dining table set for six.
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
2 nights minimum
Condo/Apartment
The apartment is comprised of: One master bedroom with a double, sleigh-style bed, two bedside tables, two bedside lights, two large built-in wardrobes and a large chest of drawers. There is also an en suite shower-room with WC, sink, shower unit, shaving socket, ample counter space, fitted cabinets for personal belongings and a heated towel rail. One double bedroom with solid pine bed frame, two bedside tables, two bedside lamps, a built-in wardrobe with a tall chest of drawers. One twin bedroom, a shared bedside table and table lamp between the beds and a very large built-in wardrobe. A main bathroom with WC, sink, a bath with shower over it, a shaving socket and heated towel rail. A cupboard by the main door to store jackets, bags, shoes and umbrellas (we provide a couple of umbrel...The apartment is comprised of: One master bedroom with a double, sleigh-style bed, two bedside tables, two bedside lights, two large built-in wardrobes and a large chest of drawers. There is also an en suite shower-room with WC, sink, shower unit, shaving socket, ample counter space, fitted cabinets for personal belongings and a heated towel rail. One double bedroom with solid pine bed frame, two bedside tables, two bedside lamps, a built-in wardrobe with a tall chest of drawers. One twin bedroom, a shared bedside table and table lamp between the beds and a very large built-in wardrobe. A main bathroom with WC, sink, a bath with shower over it, a shaving socket and heated towel rail. A cupboard by the main door to store jackets, bags, shoes and umbrellas (we provide a couple of umbrellas for you to use during your stay, just in case you need them). A well-equipped kitchen to meet all your culinary needs. We have a gas hob, fan-assisted electric oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, radio, excellent selection of cooking utensils, pots, pans, mixing bowls. To ensure you have enough dishes and do not need to run the dishwasher after every meal, there is enough tableware for 12 full place settings (main plates, side plates, bowls, large glasses, small glasses, wine glasses and cutlery). A living/dining room with views out to the well maintained, neighbourhood gardens. To ensure you are as comfortable as possible, the living room has two three-seater leather sofas with eight large cushions. There is also a beautiful oak dining table that seats six; perfect for hosting a family meal or for playing board games at. There is a 40 inch HDTV in the living room with Freeview television channels and a games console, which can be used to play DVDs and console games (a selection of DVDs and games are provided at the apartment). Please note that the games console is not connected to the internet. If you wish to connect your laptop or tablet to the TV, you can do so via an HDMI cable (not provided). All our mattresses are 'medium to firm', and we also have high-speed, fibre optic wireless in the apartment. There is limited free (on street) parking within a 1 minute walk. Parking directly outside the apartment is by permit only. One permit is available for guests to use; there is no charge for this service, but £30 will be deducted from the deposit if the permit is not returned at the end of your stay. The apartment is on the ground floor, making it ideal for families with children. It's also accessible for guests who have minor mobility problems (please note that, because there are a few steps up to the main door, the apartment is not wheelchair accessible). For guests with allergies, we do not use feather pillows or duvets. Our towels and bed linen are 100% cotton and they are washed in non-biological detergent for delicate skin. If you do not require the use of all three bedrooms, we are able to offer a small discount; please contact us for further details. A welcome pack is included and consists of bread, milk, butter, bacon, free range eggs, orange juice, and shortbread. Energy Performance Certificate Rating: DMore
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Pets are not permitted in the property for any length of time. Smoking is not allowed in the property (electronic cigarettes are fine). The front door must be locked when you are not in. Property is not suitable for parties/events (including, but not limited to, stag/hen parties). Check-in and -out times are restricted to sociable hours only (if you are unsure of your arrival time, please specify this before booking). Guests agree to keep noise to a minimum, and respect neighbours at all times.
Bathrooms
1 Full bath, 1 Attached (ensuite)
Show more
About the Owner
Maya R
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:July 2014
Interaction with guests
Once your reservation is paid in full, Maya (the owner) will be in touch via e-mail to provide the full address of the apartment, offer recommendations for things to see and do in the city (and beyond), arrange your check-in time in advance of your stay, and she will meet you at the apartment at the agreed time on the day of your arrival. Maya will be back in touch the day before your departure to check on your plans for the next morning. She will arrive in time to say her farewells, and ensure you have everything you need before leaving. If there is anything Maya can assist you with during your stay, please let her know. She will take her lead from you, and is happy to be either a 'hands-on' or 'hands-off' host, whichever you prefer.
Write a reviewReviews (32)

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2021

The apartment is fantastic, it is spacious and has everything you will need for your stay. Our host Maya was super helpful and welcomed us when we arrived to show us around. She also provided us with a great welcome pack that would easily cover...More

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank DayTrip28217118073
Reviewed 30 January 2021

We have stayed here multiple times and to us it is our "home away from home" when visiting Edinburgh. The apartment is always spotlessly clean and has every convenience you could need for your stay thanks to the gracious and efficient hostess/owner, Maya. My wife...More

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank RonL99
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Hello again Ron; please accept my sincerest apologies for not replying to your kind review before now.  Unfortunately, I didn't receive a notification from TripAdvisor that you had left a review; I'm very sorry for the delayed response. Thank you both very much for returning to...More

Reviewed 21 August 2019

We have just spent a few days together as a family at the Edinburgh Fringe. We returned to Maya's lovely flat having visited 3 years ago. We love the quiet location and have discovered some great walks nearby. Maya has been delightful once again and...More

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank vcstretch
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

You're very welcome, of course; it was great to see you all again! Thank you again for returning; it was wonderful to welcome you back, and to meet the rest of your family this year, too. It's my pleasure to be able to help with...More

Reviewed 21 July 2019

We had a lovely stay in Russell Gardens . The flat was very comfortable, clean and had everything we could possibly need for our 3 night stay. Maya was really helpful and was happy to help with any questions we had. We made good use...More

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank SouthHarvey
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Thank you very much for staying, and also for taking the time to share your thoughts; I really appreciate it. I'm so pleased to know you all enjoyed your stay here so much, and that you found the apartment so clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. It...More

Reviewed 18 July 2019

Our multigenerational holiday crew enjoyed staying in Maya’s apartment for 4 nights. Spacious, clean and with everything you could need. The sun was shining and Maya had given us an abundance of ideas of places to go and things to see. The parking was convenient...More

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank honestmum_perth
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Thank you very much for your kind words, and thanks also for taking the time to write a review; I really appreciate it. I'm pleased to hear the apartment met your expectations. I'm also delighted to know my ideas were so helpful, and that you...More

See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2019

Our family rented this property for a week in June 2019, we wanted more space than a hotel room and a quieter area than center city, this flat was wonderful! By tram, it is only about 10 minutes to get to center city and all...More

Date of stay: June 2019
4  Thank Bethgf
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I'm pleased to know the location suited you so well, as this was one of the main reasons I chose this particular property. Being situated between the bus and tram stops,...More

Reviewed 4 January 2019

Stayed here for our Hogmanay break 5 adults and 2 children. The apartment is ground floor very spacious and has everything you need and anything not there just ask during booking process and Maya will provide she provided us with travel cot and baby chair....More

Date of stay: December 2018
4  Thank fionamcg
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2019

Thank you again for choosing my apartment for your family's Hogmanay stay, and thank you also for taking the time to leave me such a lovely review. I'm so happy to know you found the apartment itself, as well as the location and local amenities...More

Reviewed 10 October 2018

We stayed at Russell Gardens recently and I have no hesitation in recommending the accommodation for a stay in Edinburgh. All pre-booking communication was as pleasant and helpful as can be and this was extended on our arrival with the friendliest of welcomes. We were...More

Date of stay: October 2018
3  Thank Terry S
MayaRarityBreaks, VR Owner at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you very much for staying, and also for leaving such a fabulous review to recommend my apartment; I really appreciate it! I'm pleased to hear that you found my pre-booking and pre-arrival communication so helpful, and that your welcome meeting with my mum, June,...More

Reviewed 29 August 2018

We (a family of 5, with 3 teenagers/young adults) truly enjoyed our stay at this apartment. The apartment itself is well maintained, spacious, and very comfortable for a stay in Edinburgh. It is on the ground floor of a quiet residential area. We used the...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Iddo7
Management response:Responded 30 August 2018

Thank you again for choosing my apartment for your stay, and also for taking the time to share your experience in a review; it's much appreciated. After our messages back and forth ahead of your arrival, it was wonderful to finally meet you and your...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018

Our group of 6 (4 adults and 2 teenage boys) stayed at Russell Gardens for a second time in August 18. We were in Edinburgh for four days of the Fringe festival. Just like our stay in 2016 Maya was an excellent host, including accommodating...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank lfc_supporters
Management response:Responded 20 August 2018

Many thanks again for returning to Russell Gardens, and also for taking the time to write a review; I really appreciate it. It was wonderful to welcome you all back, and also a delight to hear that you all enjoyed your return stay as much...More

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Books
Central Heating
Dishwasher
Freezer
Refrigerator
Hairdryer
Highchair
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Local Guides/Maps
Microwave
Parking
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
City Getaway
Good Nightlife
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
December 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
The apartment is situated in a quiet, residential area, only 15 minutes walk from Haymarket train station at the West End of Princes Street. Both Murrayfield Stadium and the Murrayfield tram stop are situated across the road from each other and are less than 5 minutes away from the apartment. The rather beautiful Water of Leith is a couple of minutes away and Murrayfield Ice Rink is less than 10 minutes away. There is a modestly-sized Tesco on the main road (2 minutes away) as well as a selection of local restaurants, cafes and bars in the immediate vicinity. If you are staying for more than a few days and wish to stock up on food and drink, there is a large Sainsburys supermarket less than 10 minutes walk away.
Getting around
Edinburgh has a clean, reliable, and efficient public transport system that also offers free wireless. Services run day and night (limited services run during the night), and routes can be checked online, at bus/tram stops, or via a free app. Lothian Buses and Edinburgh Trams are owned by the same company and, as their names suggest, they operate buses and trams across the city. You can pay per journey, or you can purchase individual/family daytickets, which allow you to 'hop on and hop off' most services, possibly saving you money if you plan to use public transport. Daytickets are valid on both buses and trams. For information on routes and fares, search for 'Lothian Buses' or 'Edinburgh Trams' online.
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2224694150
Frequently Asked Questions about Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens

Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Rarity Breaks - Russell Gardens must last at least 2 nights. See all property details.