We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kerei
Christchurch, New Zealand

Service leaves a lot to be desired for the money

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2023
Pisa Moorings is a little out of town, units nicely located overlooking a man-made lake. We were two couples travelling together so booked two bedroom adjacent villa's, with large balconies, garages and laundries. Check-in was a debacle starting with the receptionist spending an extraordinary amount of time fraternising with other guests. After some twenty minutes we were given in the keys and directions to our villas, with no other information volunteered. One of the units was not "guest ready" and had obviously not been checked by housekeeping for several days. We could write in the dust on table tops etc., the TV could not be tuned-in (this problem remained for the duration of our two night stay); the glass TV cabinet door was broken and fell off, and the air-conditioning could not be operated from within the unit. We subsequently discovered the air-conditioning had to be activated from reception, the garage was housing building supplies, and Reception belately advised that the laundry (located in the garage) was private and not available for our use (despite our booking confirmation). None of this information was not made available on check-in and there is no compendium, or direct means of communication with Reception. To summarise the resort is pleasant, however the service was abysmal, and not deserving of the luxury prices.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
259
102
52
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
102
52
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moorings restaurant lovely location the kitchen washing machine would stay again new zealand lake resort apartment balcony heritage pisa spa upstairs garage cromwell units inlet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2022 via mobile

Unfortunately we selected a room with a mountain view and, despite the property being almost empty, that’s what we got. What they didn’t say was that the main aspect was actually the carpark, not the mountains.

To be fair the room was a very good size, but it was badly decorated with a few pieces of very heavy old fashioned wooden items.

Very disappointing experience from Heritage.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2022

The Lake Resort in Cromwell was the most luxury of the eleven places we stayed at during our vacation. The moment we stepped into our room we were in awe of the beauty of the place.

It even had its own jetty where you could keep a boat!

The unit had a large, open plan lounge, dining room and kitchen with a six-seater dining suite.

Outside, on the upper deck overlooking the lake, there was more seating—a wicker lounge set and a round wicker table with eight chairs. The story continued on the lower deck with more lounging and dining space… as well as a sauna!

Although this resort has a dining room for guests, we did not eat there, choosing to self-cater in our unit.

Friendly staff helped us with check-in and check-out and were efficient in both cases.

The flaw—the setup of the free) laundry facility in our unit. Unlike other units, ours (together with two others) had the laundry not in the garage but in a small closet on the outside of the unit. This presents at least three issues:
1) On rainy days, it would be very cumbersome trying to do the washing while standing in the rain.
2) The very tight area where the dryer is installed above the washing machine in a small closet causes a lot of dampness inside the closet (unless you leave the door open).
3) In a building with four units that share the laundry facility, it can lead to long wait times before you get a turn at washing. And that could spoil all plans you had for the day.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

But I would drive the 11 km to Cromwell to get to a coin-operated laundromat.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schalk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2022 via mobile

We have stayed and eaten here a few times.
This time we asked to not be put in the unit by the walkway. We were put in a lovely unit on the other side of the accommodation buildings.
Ground floor unit, noisy upstairs on our last night. The first night the wind howled through and the window in our bedroom kept banging. We had to jam some cardboard in it but that worked.
The meals and service is usually top notch, this time however was a bit different.
We booked a table on our arrival.
We were put outside which was windy and cool. My main was served as a entree so I had to wait for husband to have his main.
The next day we booked a table on line but no one confirmed, so I phoned the restaurant and left a message,no call back.
We headed to the restaurant and explained our situation and were told we had no booking they could put us outside, it was raining and wind was cool. We told the staff we were disappointed and this was poor customer service.
If u are taking online bookings at least check them! If someone leaves a message call them back.
They didnt offer another time just let us walk out.
When we checked out the receptionist was pleasant enough but was unable to show the details of the bill. She didn't ask how the stay was so obviously didn't care. Unfortunately we won't be coming back.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2022 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the photos of the setting and because it offered on site dining. The site advises to book dinner on check in. Sadly when we tried to do this we were told they were fully booked. After a long day of travel we were hoping not to have to drive back 6+ kilometres for evening meal. Staff on reception were very kind and friendly.our room was very comfy and pleasant.

Room tip: Suggest you request a room facing the water views as the other option ( mountain view) is not as nice by far
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2022

When looking for a venue to hold a special event this is a great option. I have stayed here a few times and it is where a group of family and friends came together from all over the country for the weekend to help celebrate my 50th birthday. Casey was fantastic to deal with for all the organising. The staff working the weekend were all fantastic especially the lovely Ravi who looked after us Friday and Saturday night. The service was excellent as was the food and it really is a lovely location. The birthday party was held in the Bunker Room which everyone loved. We had the best time. Thank you.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmL9034VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lake Resort, General Manager at Marsden Lake Resort Central Otago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2022

Hi Rachel!

It was lovely to host you! you guys were a great bunch :) Thank you for your positive review it was a pleasure to be a part of your day and we are super happy that your birthday was a success! Come back and stay with us again. If you decide to, email us at reviews@lakeresort.co.nz and mention your name to receive a discount code for your next visit! Hope to see you again soon :)

Kindest, Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews