We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just here for a glass of wine to finish our afternoon”
Review of Elephant Hill

Elephant Hill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Te Awanga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Stylish, warm and inviting, Elephant Hill is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy some of Hawke's Bay's finest wines, whilst taking in breathtaking views over the vineyard and Pacific Ocean. Open for wine tastings, Thursday to Monday, 11am - 4:30pm.
Reviewed 3 May 2024

Haven't been here for some years - thought we'd come and have a look around and indulge in a glass of wine - settled on a Syrah which was very good - service was friendly and efficient without being formal - very good visit - will go back in the future

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

A really wonderful tasting experience. Great customer service with knowledgeable and experienced staff. The wine was really nice. Enjoyed every single wine we tried. The building and atmosphere was very cool.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Odyssey15148348783
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Wine, ambiance and service was great.

Really enjoyed trying their wines out by the water, however we expected more from the platter. Sourdough was tough, crackers felt random and platter had minimal cheese - however it introduced me to truffle salami, so for that I’m thankful!

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank kiwitravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

The food was lukewarm, the staff were including rude, especially for a birthday, and the bathrooms were filthy. Elephant Hill had been recommended to me but it must’ve fallen a long way from its peak. Please visit anywhere else.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank Meander45866109737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

We were not made welcome as we were running late for our wine tasting. Some of the table missed out on one of the wines for tasting. Can not recommend

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank FarmgirlwithCorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Elephant Hill also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Elephant Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.