We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, friendly and delicious”

Hygge at Clifton Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Te Awanga
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hyyge. A cafe where the special things in life happen. Take in the seaside atmosphere from the Wool Shed styled Cafe. Be welcome and feel at home. Warm by the fire in Winter and Cooled under the Olive Trees in Summer. A venue where everything can happen. Book a Function; weddings, Birthdays, Get Togethers, work and business gatherings , presentations. Enjoy delicious food for breakfast and lunch or for dinner if you have a group you wish to organise. Take in Music (every Sunday in the Summer, every 2-3 weeks in the winter. Winter and Summer FAWC where special food is made just for you Or just come along and relax in a place that you are safe, cosy, cared for and home. Just take your time and Enjoy
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely lunch here - I had the mist deliciously flavoursome beef cheek risotto with a lovely glass of Clearview Blush. Perfect. Busy and quite full but not noisy, and surprisingly fast service. Beautiful outlook.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Eleanore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Brannigan, Owner at Hygge at Clifton Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Thanks for your thoughts. We get many walk in guests which makes a very busy environment. The chefs do a marvellous job as do all our wait staff. Marvellous you got to enjoy one of our dishes in a beautiful place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

Been here a few times but there seems to be new management and the service and food was great. Excellent coffee. All the staff are very pleasant, there is a great selection on the menu of food and drinks. They seem to have catered for everyone’s needs. It was fairly busy when we arrived (about 12 noon) but we found the service quick and efficient. It may even pay to book ahead. You can sit inside or out, lovely sea view and doggy friendly.
Will go back again just to sample the delicious looking desserts/cakes in the cabinet.
Take a look around the shelves at all the lovely things for sale as well. Ideal if you need to grab that last minute gift or card.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Bonnie936
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Brannigan, Owner at Hygge at Clifton Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Apologies this late response. So pleased you got to share Hygge and enjoy the food and service our lovely staff provide. The kitchen do a marvellous job in presenting a delicious range of kitchen and cabinet food to suit all desires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2023

We did a group wine tasting here. Every wine was described as easy to drink. None of the wines were particularly special.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank LennyLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Brannigan, Owner at Hygge at Clifton Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Dear Tabatha1998,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time sharing your review about your experience at our Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that our wine tasting didn't meet your expectations.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.

Warm regards,

Arber Hysko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2023 via mobile

We drove out to Hygge on a cold, rainy Saturday, the fire was blazing, providing warm and a wonderful cozy feeling. Adding to this was a serving of Thai Pumpkin soup.
Service was impeccable, food and coffee faultless and Hygge present.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank MandyJKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Brannigan, Owner at Hygge at Clifton Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2023

Dear MandyJKim,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time sharing your review about your experience at our Restaurant. It gives us great satisfaction and also is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the special of the week Thai Pumpkin Soup and service delivered by our team.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.

Warm regards,

Arber Hysko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2023

We usually enjoy eating a Hygge but not last Sunday, we waited an hour for our food, during this time we had to yell at each other to be heard, as there was a band/choir there which was VERY loud. Our family members had come a long way to visit us in Hawkes Bay and they were unimpressed. Add to that, we had our 90-year-old father with us, there wasn't any parking close to the restaurant, so we had to drop him off and go to park the car, when we got inside our table wasn't ready as it hadn't been cleared!

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Food
Thank AnnetteC1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Brannigan, Owner at Hygge at Clifton Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2023

Dear AnnetteC1667,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time sharing your review about your experience at our Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that the waiting time was very long and we didn't meet your expectations.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant and serve you better.

Warm regards,

Arber Hysko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hygge at Clifton Bay also viewed

Te Awanga, Hawke's Bay Region
Te Awanga, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region

Been to Hygge at Clifton Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.