We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Our beautiful holiday home in Threlkeld
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beautiful holiday home in Threlkeld
Spacious lounge in Byre with slate flooring, log stove and exposed beams Well equiped Byre Dining Kitchen with slate worktops and belfast sink
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Our beautiful holiday home in Threlkeld
Spacious lounge in Byre with slate flooring, log stove and exposed beams
Well equiped Byre Dining Kitchen with slate worktops and belfast sink
Byre Bedroom
Spacious Byre bathroom with shower over bath and high standard quality suite
Barn/Byre Utility Room with large belfast sink and stone flagged flooring
Barn 2nd Lounge
Barn 2nd Lounge
Barn Bathroom 2
Barn main lounge with slate flooring, log stove and fantastic views
Barn Dining Kithchen with slate flooring, Rayburn with additional cooker and ample cupboards
Slate worktops and extremely well equiped
Barn Hallway
Hallway
Barn 2nd floor landing
Barn twin bedroom
Barn family bedroom
Barn main bedroom
Fully refitted quality bathroom in Barn. Bathroom 1
View of Blencathra
View of Barn and Blencathra
Rear patio garden and more views
View of Clough Head
View of St John's in the vale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Threlkeld, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely Easter week at the Byre - beautiful and homely interior and glorious surrounding countryside, making it an ideal base for exploring the Lake District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocCroc13
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A stone-built hideaway for two”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at The Byre (lower apartment for two). There is parking, a wonderful lounge with flat screen television (for rainy days) and a wood-burning fire that is perfect for snuggling up after a day on Blencathra. The eat-in kitchen has ample working space and houses a table and chairs that looks out the windows toward the fell. Shower has plenty of pressure and hot water, with a deep tub. There is also wifi with a great connection. We Skyped home to Canada almost daily and the quality was superb.
Val takes such good care of us - ensuring that there is coffee, tea, milk, and even cookies for our arrival. It is my pleasure to recommend The Byre!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location ~ Threlkeld is a lovely village with friendly people.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon A
Steeton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Byre - Great accommodation for lakeland stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed in the Byre last March, just looking at booking again which has prompted this review.

Me and my hubby stayed here. There is 1 bedroom in the Byre and a further bed/setee in the living room. I would say that this is great for a couple.

The kitchen is well equipped with space to eat. All mod cons, just like a home from home. It is nice to have a separate kitchen to the living room which is not often found in properties for 2/4 people.

The Byre is centrally heated and also has a wood burning stove with logs provided which is a nice touch.

The bathroom is very nice - good shower over the bath and a really deep bath. Nice thick towels provided for your stay.

The bedroom is quite narrow but long - there is space for a double bed but we tend to push the bed to one side to give a bit more space to one side. One improvement would be to have a bed without the footboard at the bottom as this would make it easier to get out.

There is parking for one car, a few metres from the door.

Great views from the kitchen over the hills.

We had a look around the larger barn and this also looks great for larger parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rblasvega...
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family, 12 of us stayed at Townhead Barn / Byre. WE rented both units which worked out great for our large party.
There are plenty of reception areas to spread out or snuggle in all together. We all enjoyed the path walks and stopped in at the local pub. The accomadations were tidy, and cute decor, was a very pleasant stay.
The views from the barn were just beautiful, looking forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing