We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fishoman
Ngunguru, New Zealand

Weekend getaway or longer

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2019
This is a great place to go if you like crystal clear seas to swim in with soft sand, great fishing or just relaxing 20 mins from nearest shopping so take what you need with you
great hosts clean and tidy units on the waters edge
Another great New Zealand experience overseas visitors should try it.
Date of stay: March 2019
Room Tip: all rooms have beach /sea views
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
APARTMENT 6 BEDROOM
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
superior room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $126
  • Booking.com
8.2 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Booking.com
19.2 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
70.8 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.9 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
69.6 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
71.0 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
65.0 km from Reef Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in Karikari Peninsula
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
8
7
3
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
7
3
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2019 via mobile

The location of this motel is magnificent . Absolute beachfront on one of the most beautiful beaches in Northland. White soft sand , blue blue water and the wonderful tang of salt and seaweed and the sound of the waves rolling up the beach. Paradise indeed. The units however are tired and tiny and not inviting. More fishing shacks really.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank parkinsontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maps56977398864, Manager at Reef Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Thank you Tessa. Five of our 8 units have been upgraded with 2 more, including where you stayed, scheduled this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We visited in late Feb 2018.
I cannot emphasise enough the awesome location and views from Unit 8, which we hired. It is second to none and at the quieter end of the beach.
Upon arrival,we were shown to Unit 8, which is right on the beachfront. This was the very disappointing part of the trip - the unit was tired and showed lack of investment. The kitchen was archaic, the shower minute and the exterior paintwork dirty. The deck and handrails were, in places unstable and a good push would have resulted in the handrail collapsing. The new managers Warren and Kim were wonderful and although only there two weeks had naturally inherited this.
This is the most wonderful location that just requires some serious investment and some TLC. I'm sure the owner must be aware that work is required and I hope this takes place. I understand that there are many return visitors and can understand why but the whole experience would be enhanced with some modernisation. I hope these comments are taken positively as despite them I would still revisit for the awesome location. Thanks again W&K and I hope you are still on site for our next trip, with the boat this time!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nzmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Awesome location (we have stayed here previously when managers were running the place, they were brilliant - January 2016) but this time we stayed for four nights January 2018 and were told there would be no room service, quite shocked, weren't offered milk, no top ups for tea or coffee, had to take our towels each day to get them replaced and had to remove our own rubbish. A plastic container in the kitchen had mold growing in it. Beds were terrible and need replacing. The owners were there this time, feel they didn't have a clue how to run the place. The BBQ's needed to be cleaned as were very dirty. Also no WiFi unless you paid for it.

Date of stay: January 2018
2  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maps56977398864, Manager at Reef Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Much has changed since your visit with ongoing improvements happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Awesome stay at the Reef Lodge great friendly service Tracy you are a star,
Units clean an tidy very comfortable beds,
Fish filleting station available, only 10 minutes to Tokarau Beach I will be back next trip north.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

What an awesome venue. Great sea views and access to the beach. Facilities were well placed and user friendly. Accommodation suited to families wanting space and time to relax. Staff were friendly and helpful when asked not in your face. Will go there again

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank May N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kellypeter2015, Manager at Reef Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you for your positive response....We are very happy that you had a Great stay with us....Hope to see you all again very soon...:) Cheers from Reef Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews