We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coconut Villa

Coconut Villa Ariel View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coconut Villa Ariel View
Ground floor Bedroom 2nd Floor Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Coconut Villa Ariel View
Ground floor Bedroom
2nd Floor Bedroom
1st Floor
Pavillion on 2nd Floor Terrace
2nd Floor Bedroom
Ground floor bathroom
Our Pool 25 meters from Villa
Our Pool 25 meters from Villa
Our Pool 25 meters from Villa
Beach near Villa (250 meters)
Beach near Villa 250 meters
High Season on Koh Mak. Yes taken December 11.00 am
Evening View from the beach with Koh Chang in distance
Beach
One of the many deserted beaches on our small Island
Pier in evening
View from behind the Villa
Nearby Beach
Pier
View from Beach
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ko Mak, Trat Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
634gram
Ludington, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time. We were shorted on sleeping accommodation. Everything else was wonderful. Pool was not maintained very well but we had the ocean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pool not clean
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks for the nice review. I don't understand the sleeping accommodation comment. The villa normally accommodates 6 but we agreed to your request to accommodate a seventh child providing a blow up bed.
Glad you enjoyes your second visit to Coconut Villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary366
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Restful break”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We selected Koh Mak Island as it seemed to be a quiet and fairly non-touristy island and we were not disappointed. Its a lovely peaceful little island and our stay at Coconut Villa was very pleasant. The access from the mainland is actually quite easy - we hired a private mini-van to transport us from Bangkok and then came across on the Lelawardee speedboat which makes the trip in about 45 minutes.
We did have a slight issue with our pickup on arrival but that was not their fault because the speedboat came about an hour earlier than scheduled.
The villa is very roomy which was ideal for us - we had our own bedroom and both of our teenagers had one as well. Each bedroom came with an ensuite bathroom and excellent air conditioning and fans. The villa is on three levels which suited our family perfectly - the kids like to have their own space - but may not be as suitable for a family with very young children.
There was a small but functional kitchen on the middle level. We only really used this for snacks as we had breakfast and dinner out most evenings. The villa is very close to the ferry jetty and there are numerous little restaurants and bars close to the villa. There are also a couple of little mini marts where you can buy toiletries, snacks and drinks.
The villa is situated in a pleasant tropical garden and shares the space with the Good Time Resort. This resort - or at least the manager - created the only issue with our stay and that was, he told me we couldn't use the pool as we weren't staying in the resort. I texted Oi - the local manager of the villa - and she sorted it in about 5 minutes. I was amazed at her speed. The resort manager was then all smiles and apologies and said of course we could keep swimming. So that was all good.
The only suggestion I could make for improvement would be the provision of a few more towels and some soap in the bathrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm and peaceful atmosphere
Liked least: Attitude of resort manager - see review
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks for your nice review. Its always nice to know out guests enjoyed their holiday. I have taken on board you comment about toiletries. From next season we are providing in each of the 3 bathrooms soap, shampoo and shower caps. Hope to see you on Koh Mak again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blessing3...
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect tropical island stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Comfortable spacious villa on a truly unspoilt island. Coconut Villa is set in a tropical garden surrounded by birds, butterflies and flowers. It is a very relaxed location with a shared pool at the end of the path. It is easy to walk to stunning beaches, and the whole island is gentle and friendly, with very little traffic. We ate out every breakfast and dinner as there is a wonderful choice of really good cheap food. We really appreciated all the help Garry gave in advice for what to do and setting up transport to and from Bangkok. Great stay that I would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
Thanks for your nice review. Its always good to know our guests had a good holiday I could not be on Koh Mak at this time but hope I may meet you there in future. Garry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole92V...
Ville d'avray
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Petit paradis sur terre. Little paradise on earth”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are extremely pleased with this house: ideally located close to the nicest beaches of Koh Mak. The owner is very helpful and the person who welcomes us over there is so nice!
Koh mak is just a perfect place for a sunny retreat :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Thanks for your nice review. Glad to hear you had a good holiday and liked the Villa. I could not be on Koh Mak at this time but hope I may meet you if you return to Koh mak in the future. Garry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotcityb...
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Villa-licious !”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Five of us stayed at the privately owned Coconut Villa on Good Time Resort, Koh Mak where the island vibe is really, chilled and laid back compared with Koh Chang.

Gary's villa is managed well by the charming Ball & Oi who are on hand (at the end of a phone) to provide help and look after your every need.

The villa is located amongst lush vegetation and is spacious and modern with the necessary AC in all 3 bedrooms. Unfortunately one of the 3 units died while we were there, but this was quickly and efficiently resolved to everyone's satisfaction :) The villa also provides wide terraces on which to sunbathe and a charming outside seating area for evening drinks!

Breakfast was provided at the main Good Time Resort building 2 minutes away. Reasonable selection but sometimes a bit chaotic during the 9am rush. The local restaurants were great (and cheap!)

My only negative comment would be aimed at the ground floor bedroom. This definitely needs sprucing up as the decor is very tired. Due to the low roof, walls need to be white, with much better lightening and a different choice of furniture to lift the room. AC, however, was great and the large bed very comfortable.

Great place to chill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2014
Thanks for your nice review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your second visit to out Villa. We are re decorating the whole interior of the Villa this year including the ground floor which will have new furnishings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing