We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Trail Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
246
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic company great service second to none amazing journey great advice nights accommodation day trip highly recommend this company first class queenstown airport from start to finish phone call comfortable bikes per day quality bikes from australia commercial hotel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The organisation, attention to detail, friendly manner and prompt service from Trail Journeys was exceptional. The accommodation, food and friendliness of people along the trail was wonderful. A totally great experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank bicycle105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev G, Owner at Trail Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your Rail Trail experience with Trail Journeys. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and hopefully got some great photos on the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

This was the last part of our 3 week holiday in NZ from the UK so the confidence we got from the pre-travel arrangements was reassuring so we knew everything was going to work. The pickup at Queenstown airport worked well and we were impressed by the welcome we got and the professionalism of the bike handover - we had brought our own pedals and they were fitted for us with no fuss. Some great advice to try the river route to Alexandra which got our legs in, and a good briefing about where rest stops and food and drinks were available. All the accommodation was good and our gear was always there when we arrived. Although there we just the two of us, we passed the same few other groups several times over the days and in the evenings and so it was the best of both worlds to be able to cycle at your own pace but still meet other people. The bikes were clean and well maintained - gears clicked nicely into place, and the handover at the Middlemarch end was easy, with all our luggage transported to the railway station for the Taieri Gorge train trip to Dunedin.
We would highly recommend Trail Journeys and are hoping that by the time we get to return to NZ that Trail Journeys will be doing a similar service on the Alps to Ocean!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank bertiehedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev G, Owner at Trail Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your cycling trip with Trail Journeys and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are hoping at some stage in the future to possibly be involved in the A20 Trail but it will not be for a while yet until the trail is fully completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We used Trail Journeys to plan & book everything on the rail trail for us from bikes to accommodation, transfers, luggage drop offs & even store our car. It was so easy all in one place. Jo & the team answered questions quickly and provided a couple of different itineraries & options. The bikes were good & their accommodation options perfect. Shame they don't do A2O as that's next on the list.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank THCH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev G, Owner at Trail Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your recent Rail Trail experience with Trail Journeys. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and the service we provided. We are hoping at some stage in the future to possibly be involved in the A20 Trail but it will not be for a while yet until the trail is fully completed. We hope if you do cycle the A20 Trail that you have a brilliant time though with whatever provider you decide to go with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Traill Journeys put together a wonderful itinerary and was very responsive to any changes or questions we had. Very easy and efficient to deal with and one of our best family holidays so far!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MLCKL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev G, Owner at Trail Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your cycling experience with Trail Journeys. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We did a day of the rail trail, the roxburgh gorge and the clutha gold river ride.
We organised trail journeys to drop us off at our starting points as we based ourselves in Clyde. Terrific drivers who gave us a personal tour as they delivered the bags of bike groups.
The staff were terrific with their advice and accommodated us with our own bikes quite happily.
Loved the biking..but not the headwind for the last 2 hours of the rail trail. Should have been picked up at Chatto Creek!!
The Roxurgh Gorge was fantastic, and the boat ride a bonus part.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 59Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev G, Owner at Trail Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday cycling on the 3 Central Otago Trails. We love helping people arrange holidays they will remember for a long time and we hope you take away some special memories of your time here in Central Otago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews