We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Snacks and Espresso”
Review of Cafeteria Colibri

Cafeteria Colibri
Ranked #1 of 3 Quick Bites in Monteverde
Description: This coffee cafe is located near the entrance of the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. It is linked to the Common Cup coffee shop in nearby Santa Elena, which is listed.
Restaurant details
Description: This coffee cafe is located near the entrance of the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. It is linked to the Common Cup coffee shop in nearby Santa Elena, which is listed.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We enjoyed our visits here while we stayed at the Monteverde Biological Reserve for seven nights. We only tried the coffee and snacks, corn pudding, bread pudding, etc..., but they were delicious!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sneha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

The hummingbirds were astonishing! Wow. So many types. Counted about 25 different ones. The staff were rude and curt however. The gift shop is WAY OVERPRICED. Actually cheaper at the Reserve. Only got a cup of coffee as staff so abrasive. Still....those hummingbirds was well worth the walk up the hill.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BlueFalconRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Ok for coffee but for 3000 colones I would have hoped for a reasonable chicken sandwich - but got a rather sad greasy imitation of a sandwich with chicken shreds as a filling.
I would move away towards town rather than go here if you would like a reasonable snack. There are many better places.
Plenty of hummingbirds though.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The birds were awesome to see. The coffee was good, the pastries were fine, the service was so-so. But, the main reason to stop by this cafe is to see and photograph the dozens of hummingbirds buzzing around everywhere.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank rachell931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

This cafe is located conveniently near the gates of the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve so it is an easy place to stop by on your way to or back from the forest. We ordered delicious hot chocolates and sat outside to admire the hummingbirds that were eating from several feeders placed all around the garden. The hummingbirds seemed not to be afraid of people and therefore they were really easy to observe and photograph. We saw eight species of these beautiful birds so it is a must-see destination for every birdwatcher!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank titipounamut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafeteria Colibri also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Cafeteria Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.