We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”
Review of Cafeteria Colibri

Cafeteria Colibri
Ranked #1 of 3 Quick Bites in Monteverde
Description: This coffee cafe is located near the entrance of the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. It is linked to the Common Cup coffee shop in nearby Santa Elena, which is listed.
Restaurant details
Description: This coffee cafe is located near the entrance of the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. It is linked to the Common Cup coffee shop in nearby Santa Elena, which is listed.
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Staff was very attentive and provided good service. Food was simple, nothing to brag about especially for the prices charged but helped fuel us up after 4+ hours of hiking around the Monteverde Reserve. The lattes were good as was the strawberry drink we ordered.

The different varieties of hummingbirds we saw was a real treat. We were not expecting to see so many nor the different species.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuffnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Avoid this café with horrendous service and medicore food/drink at all costs. Instead, visit the cafeteria run and operated by the park 20 meters further down the road by the entrance to the park. The quality isn't dramatically better, but at least the servers are nice and don't try to cheat you.

Somehow, buying only once coffee with milk, one cappucino, and one cinnamon roll at Colibri, I ended up paying more than $11. How, you might ask? Well I did the same and found out that they had charged me more for the coffee with milk ($3) than the stated price on the menu ($2) and that they had added on a $2/person charge because the café is actually located IN the hummingbird garden and they said the charge was for visiting the garden. Signs outside clearly ask for a "donation" of $2 to the garden, however, and people are free to enter and leave it at will (and do) without paying. This was clearly just a case of them trying to cheat people they PERCEIVED as being wealthy gringos into paying extra. Don't be scammed by them like we were!

Additionally, the food was mediocre at best. We had a cinnamon roll which we enjoyed, but none of the food was even appetizing enough to eat. As a result, we went to a different restaurant for lunch.

The highlight of this café is definitely the views out the windows of the hummingbird garden, however, as I have already stated, you can feel free to come and visit the hummingbird garden as you please without having to pay a fee and being subjected to the rudeness of this café's staff.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank globe-trotter_2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2012

There are over 60 species of hummingbirds in Costa Rica, and these stunning birds are worth studying on their own! If you want to see them up close then drop in at Cafe Colibri (For non-Spanish speakers Colibri means hummingbird). Multiple feeders attract many different species and you can view them close up as well as constantly ducking as they fly close to your head! The cafe offers simple fayre and great coffee, while the souvenir shop should keep the shopaholics happy for quite a while. One observation though, many people dislike the use of 'sugar water' feeders as they take the hummingbirds away from their natural sources and I have been told that it can cause the hummingbirds beaks to become fragile and break, I don't know if this is true of not and would be happy to be corrected.

Date of visit: October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Located just outside the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve (10.18.09N 84.47.45W) this is more of a coffee shop rather than a restaurant. If you want a meal you would be better served to head back down the road to Cerro Plano or Santa Elena. There are many wonderful deserts, candy bars, and drinks available here.

Ordered 2 sandwiches (one ham and one tuna) on whole wheat buns. They were served heated with chips. A nice light meal after a hike, but do not expect much more than this. Each sandwich cost 5USD.

Outside and next door there are multiple humming bird feeders with dozens of humming birds constantly buzzing around. Great photo op.

All in all this is a nice place to kick back and plan your next move while you enjoy a mocha. Enjoy.

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank CalTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafeteria Colibri also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Cafeteria Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.