We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best on the beach”

Review of Casa Martin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mebglf
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best on the beach”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Terrific house on West Bay Beach. Beautiful sunsets, lots of amenities and just a walk on the beach to some good restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to beach
Liked least: Parasail boats playing loud music
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
We are happy you enjoyed Casa Martin! Please come back and see us soon.
-Your friends at Island House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie J
Granite Falls, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach-Front West Bay Vacation”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My parents, my 11-year-old son, and I stayed at Casa Martin for a week in July 2015. This was our first trip to Roatan, and none of us wanted to leave.

Our driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us by the grocery store so we could pick up supplies. We ended up getting more than we needed. There are a lot of vendors selling food on the beach, and it was fun to try those things (donuts, empanadas, etc) for breakfast and lunch.

Ryan checked us in and Ruth was waiting for us at the house. Never have I checked into a vacation rental where the manager was personally on site to welcome us. Additionally there were a few supplies waiting for us in the fridge, which was an unexpected surprise.

Casa Martin is an amazingly beautiful home within just a few steps of the ocean. It was clean and well-appointed. Yes, there was the occasional cockroach and tiny ants here and there, but this is a third world country! I felt spoiled to have hot water and air conditioning. :) The power went out a couple times (these were planned outages....I recommend checking the Roatan Electric Company website or facebook page to see when the planned outages are so that you aren't surprised) for 2-3 hours but other than delaying our morning cup of coffee, it wasn't a big deal.

I slept in the queen bed that wasn't the master....the mattress was very comfortable and I usually hate sleeping in any bed than my own. I didn't miss my own bed at all! The sheets where high quality as well. All towels, even beach towels, were provided.

The property managers were quick to respond to everything we needed. But, we didn't need much because the house is so well-stocked.

This location is absolutely perfect on West Bay. I would definitely stay here again....next time might try a different property just to try something new, but you can't beat the beachfront view at Casa Martin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: unexpected power outages....tell future guests to check the RECO website so they can prepare
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff p
Livingston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peacful beach with an attitude”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nothing more stressless than setting on your front porch or swinging in the hammock reading your favorite book and watching the world go by. Hearing the " Banana doughnut" man singing his song and selling his goods, buying a fresh hot empanada in the morning for breakfast or going fishing with Captain Brooks ( and yes, the big one got away after peeling off about 500 yards of line) This is a great location for folks who want to get away and be right there! As always, Ruth and Ryan at island rentals were more than accommodating, even put us up for the day when we had a late flight.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: High traffic on the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela L
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing home, beautifully furnished, great set up, stunning views and a porch you won't want to leave.”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 5th trip to Roatan, we have stayed in Sandy Bay, West End and West Bay.

This is the first time we stayed at Casa Martin and we loved everything about it.
The home is beautifully furnished and has a great layout 3 bedrooms 3 full baths. It is very spacious and the main living area is open concept. The outdoor shower is great for rinsing off after a swim or snorkeling.

The kitchen is spacious enough for several people to cook a meal. The only thing lacking is no dishwasher. If you have a big crowd, having one certainly would allow you more time to play.

The outside patio is awesome . It has amazing views and just enough privacy to make it perfect.

We will definitely be back to rent this home again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSMichael...
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Enjoyed every minute of Roatan. Island House had a driver at the airport to pick us up and take us to the grocery store and then to the house. Being new to the island, that was a big help. Check in was quick and easy and then it was on to enjoying our vacation at Casa Martin. The house was spacious and clean. We had 3 couples and it was nice that each of us had our own full bathroom. West Bay Beach is nice because if you are the touristy type you can do all of the beach activities that you would normally find at the beach. Parasailing, fishing, canopy tours... We are from the beach so we weren't interested in most of those things. We came to relax and chill. And this place didn't disappoint. Cruise ships were in on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. That made the beach a little more lively. But I enjoyed that aspect of it. Those folks didn't get to the area until 9:00 or so and they were typically gone by 3:00. That left us to enjoy the beautiful sunsets without the crowds. It was never crowded in front of West Bay Village. People would walk by on their way to snorkle but we basically had the beach in front to ourselves. Lunches out were a little difficult when the ships were in just because most of the places were fairly full. We typically ate lunch at the house and then ate dinners out. There is a charcoal grill at the house but we found charcoal itself was difficult to find. There are a fair amount of vendors that walk the beach selling their stuff. Didn't see too many things worth buying. The banana doughnut man was good. Just wish he would come by in the morning instead of the afternoon. There are also people selling empenadas that were really good. great for a quick and easy lunch. The vendors all seemed polite. A quick "no thank you" typically did the trick. Some would hang around longer than others. Gusto is the properties security guard. He would keep them moving along. Can't say enough good things about him. Super nice guy. I wish I could speak Spanish so I could have properly told him how much we enjoyed him being around. We tried to keep a cold Coke in his hand. Great guy. The only issue any of us had was a bout of stomach issues. I attribute that to being in a new environment that our bodies weren't accustomed to. Nothing serious, just an inconvenience. I've left a lot out and I know I've rambled and jumped from topic to topic but this really was one of the coolest places I've traveled. We really enjoyed every bit of it. If I can answer any questions for any "would be" Casa Martin or West Bay Village travelers, I'm happy to do so...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$380
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing