We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty Good”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lucaswill...
Camrose, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good ”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Came for a week with two other couples. We're all mid thirties with kids. Was a great getaway for sure. Would come here for a family vacation. Great location amenities etc. House is dated. Needs some TLC. But still an overall great place to stay. BUT make sure to not book when the owners are staying below. The latest we stayed up on our trip was 12:32am on day 2 usually it was 10:30-11 and we sat on the deck playing cards, laughing with a small portable speaker. The next morning the owner stood below and wagged his finger at us and scolded us like we're children. 'I hope you got that out of your systems' he said. 'This isn't that type of place he said' like we were 20 and stayed up until 5am partying! Gimme a break. Had he approached us in a respectable manner, I would not have written this. Seriously put a stain on the rest of our stay. Still give it four stars though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Hi Luke, we spoke with the owner about how this interaction affected your stay. I would like to share his response. "I was sleep deprived in the morning and addressed the noise to them. Unfortunately my comments were not welcome and not diplomatic enough. For that I would apologize."

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, hopefully we can have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justinein...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant location”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The villa is in an unbeatable location - right on the beach and minutes walk away from the various bars and restaurants along the beach. The little enclave of villas is well maintained and guarded. The villa is spacious and well equipped with everything you need. However some aspects are a little tired and dated - the furniture for example - but still very serviceable.. The showers are not great. I think it would be good if the owner could offer new bedding and towels and the ones used are seemed worn. But overall, due to the location and spaciousness - a great place to stay...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig K
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Used to be a great place to stay and go”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Have been here before, used to be fantastic. Internet was down first two days. Grounds maintenance which used to be done daily was not done first or 4th day there. Palms needed trimming as well as coconuts that can fall and hit you. Far too many peddlers on the beach now. Water taxi's are parked on what used to be our swimming beach. National holiday made for a very crowded beach for 4 days- wish we would have know, we would have booked for a different week. The government taxes- over 25% (not the rental's fault), add a significant cost to everything- rentals, dinning, etc....

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: Peddlers, water taxi's on the beach, crowds, maintenance
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Hi Craig, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We apologize for the internet issue, I know you had to work. In all fairness, you were able to use the neighbor's internet until we could replace the router Monday morning. The gardener was not working Sunday, your first day, he never has in 10 years. Since it was a holiday, he came in every morning (besides Sunday) to rake and clean the beach area. We don't cut the coconuts down because many guests like to drink and eat them.
The vendors can be annoying, yes, but they are normally respectful of our West Bay Village guests when they are on property. Had we known they were harassing you we could have alerted the security guards to pay more attention to you and your group.
The national holiday was set up by the Honduran government only the month before, so we could not have told you when you booked.
Thank you for your honest review. We hope we can have you back to St. Mac's and show you relaxing vacation you are used to.
Your friends at Island House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amallouk
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Dreamy Beach Roatan”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a 1 week stay in Roatan with our children ages 10 and 8, along with another family with 2 teenagers (we had the lower level as well)
Overall great vacation and we will have amazing memories. The island is beautiful with good amenities, beautiful sites, plenty to do and plenty of third world charm. Here is how we felt about the different aspects:
-overall location of house in Roatan: great: easy walk to multiple stores, restaurants, hotels on and off the beach, and a small store with some simple basic supplies. for major groceries and or fruits/veggies need to drive about 30-40min to Coxen Hole.
-beach and water immediately in front: excellent in terms of water clarity, depth for swimming, calmness, sand purity and softness. on a nice calm day, water is as turquoise and clear as you can get in the Caribbean. you can see the fish from above water!
also conveniently in front of the house is a dock with small boats available for hire for snorkeling and or fishing etc.. also water taxi available right at that dock.
-activities: plenty to do right off the beach, with all the water activities you can imagine.
for us the highlight was the ability to snorkel right off the beach and see amazing colorful fish on a decently preserved reef (not an easy find in the Caribbean or anywhere). Inland there is more activities including but not limited to zip line, jungle walks (we did South Shore Canopy), gardens (went to Carambola gardens), and others..
-safety: felt pretty safe throughout the stay, plenty of security around the property. we felt safe letting the kids play on the beach as long as we could see them from the veranda.
-comfort: villa was very comfortable when power was on. outside and away from the beach need plenty of bug spray especially in the evening.
now the only gripes/things to keep in mind:
-the beach can get pretty crowded on cruise ship days
-the people who try to sell you things/services can be persistent
-the wifi reliability was poor and the modem is not inside the property (seems odd to us)
-the villa does not have a generator, something we did not think about or learn until we got there and would not have been an issue if it weren't for the multiple power outages that we experienced there. and apparently that can happen. worse time was on our last night when the power was out from ~6pm till ~2am and the heat was almost unbearable inside with all the windows open. it made things worse to know that almost every other property around us had back-up power. I strongly recommend the owners get a generator or at least warn people about that upfront. we made do with candle light on several occasions which is ok if you 're prewarned and it's just one time.
-there is no washer/dryer in the unit. you can pay to have it done.
-finally and this is perhaps small: some appliances were rather old or not functioning well, namely the oven, dishwasher and toaster.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best spot on West Bay”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had two families with three kids staying a week and there was plenty of room. The house was very safe and situated right on the beach. Once you navigate the crazy road to the house everything else is easy. House has all amenities you would need except clothes washing machine but cheap to get them cleaned. Hopefully they might add a hair drier. Hammocks on the deck were wonderful place to relax, read a book, watch the sun setting. Staff were great, whenever we needed something they came over quickly ( their office is very close by). The house is now flanked by resort hotels which was a shame but meant heaps of places to eat along the beach. We would go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thanks for the great review, Debbie, we are happy you all enjoyed the home. Per your suggestion, we are picking up a hair dryer.
We hope to have you all back with us soon.
-Your friends at Island House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing