We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now reopened with new a menu featuring an imaginative execution of locally sourced ingredients”
Review of Bite on the Beach

Bite on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Chef Megan Moulder has successfully crafted a diversified menu and simply put, delivered food perfectly seasoned, artfully displayed, and with all flavor components properly balanced.

Our sampling of Nachos, BangBang shrimp and fried whole Snapper, may at first seem like items available elsewhere here in Roatan...but once you taste this Chef’s dishes...the bar has clearly been raised for casual water-view dining in Roatan where the food REALLY matters.

Whether it was the toppings on the nachos, glaze on the shrimp or the moist flesh of the snapper which included a kiss of coconut sauce, you will realize that THIS is a truly excellent food experience. Portions were ample, and waitstaff service was attentive.

Our raspberry Sangria beverage was served properly iced, and included fresh chunks of local mango nested on the bottom of a rather large carafe.

Eat here ....not doing so would be like coming to Roatan and never bathing in the water.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Roatan and walked to the other end of West Beach to try out Bite at the Beach as friends that had been to Roatan before said it was such a nice place. When we got there it was closed and falling apart. It obviously has been closed for some time. We had drinks at a nice little bar just behind it and we asked about Bite on the Beach and they said the new management basiclly killed the business. The walk down the beach was worth it in itself and the views off the walkway were great, just don't plan on eating there anytime soon. There were plenty of there bars and restaurants along the way.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Troessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Wish I could have eaten here because the set-up is great but they were closed. That said, we were able to see the famous Moray eels that live in the water below so that was super cool.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Meekosito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrJoe65, Owner at Bite on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

We are sorry to be closed but you can check us out at Kismet at the Meridian.
Please remove the bad review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We stayed at one of the hotels next door so were really hoping this would be a good place for some dinners. No eels when we were there and I think had the viewing area kinda closed off. Food was lacking flavor and I had quite a few bones in my fish. Also a lot of bugs, but they are kinda everywhere on Roatan I suppose. We had much better meals at other locations, this was just kinda underwhelming and meh.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelinteacher1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Really awesome food!! Glad we stopped here for lunch. The burgers were great and the beers were cold.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank peteydeteyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bite on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Bite on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing