We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great kayaking outfit at wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Okarito Kayaks

Okarito Kayaks
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Okarito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kayaking on Okarito Lagoon, New Zealand's largest unmodified coastal wetland. Guided tours and freedom rental. Excellent birdwatching and amazing mountain views. Paddle through the Okarito River Delta that leads deep into the rainforest.Our kayaks are safe, stable sea kayaks. Prior experience is not necessary and full instruction is given.Okarito is a quaint coastal village backdropped by the Southern Alps, only 20 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier, and has the best coffee in town!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great kayaking outfit at wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2017

We were really impressed by Okarito kayaks! Baz (hopefully that's the right spelling!) was really friendly and gave us a great introduction to the lagoon and what we might see, as well as carefully going over the routes and the wind/tide conditions so we knew what to expect and how to stay safe. The equipment was all in great condition and we had an amazing time out on the water. Thanks for a great afternoon!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank NflashG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“should have been idyllic, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017

we were part of a 12 person group on a lovely day weather-wise (apparently rare this summer!). The Southern Alps looked beautiful and the lagoon itself peaceful and calm. As first time kayakers, however, the set up and briefing was rushed and we were uncomfortable throughout the trip (and backache lasted the rest of the day ..) due to improperly adjusted footboards. No birdlife seen either. Expected a great day, so a disappointment.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank gm175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Baz, your kayak setter-upper that day at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Hey, we're very sorry you felt rushed and improperly set up. To adjust your footrests is just a ten second exercise, and I set these up, with you there in the kayak at the time, in a position we find works best for kayakers to support their back. I talked to you about this position as we did this - if I had known you weren't comfortable with the position I could have changed these very easily for you. I did though take 50 minutes, from when you arrived to launching you on the water, to go through a very thorough safety and navigational briefing, gear set up, paddle technique and kayak fitting, so am a bit puzzled by your comment on a rushed set up and briefing. Again, if I had known you felt rushed, I maybe could have helped you further. I did take questions and asked if everyone understood several times through that briefing. Even as I drove your group back to town and asked about your day, there was no indication you had not enjoyed your trip out on the lagoon. If I've let you down here, I am sorry - we can help if you let us know at the time, but not afterwards I guess. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around the South anyway. Baz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

This is an extremely well run small operation. Baz gave us a friendly greeting when we were making our initial enquiries about what was on offer. We opted for the 2 hr self guided trip in double kayaks and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon. The pre-trip briefing was excellent in terms of safety and the route and also in terms of what bird life we might see. We much appreciated the friendly approach of all the team we met. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank robinhbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, General everything person at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thanks Robin!!! Really appreciate the review, and I enjoyed getting you guys out there - glad you had fun; good on you for getting out paddling! Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Baz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

We did the three-hour (red) self-guided trail. There were nice bird views in the main lagoon and then there were beautiful and secluded views along the narrow inlets. The directions could be a bit easier to follow, so look at the map carefully before you start. Some of the channels are also pretty narrow, which require some detailed maneuvering. However, if you are a capable kayaker this is a really nice trip.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank ChessHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Kayak helper at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Cheers for the review ChessHiker - glad you enjoyed your kayak up the lagoon. There's a range of routes and channels in the lagoon that suit different abilities - we're lucky that much of the lagoon, in most conditions, is suitable for novices and families, but there's some neat hidden rainforest channels that are great to explore if you have a bit more experience too., even stretching to remote overnight trips. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in the South - Baz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takaka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of NZ's Hidden Treasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We did the overnight kayak hire - exploring the gorgeous okarito lagoon and its channels the first day and then paddling out to our very own camping spot on the wild and stunning west coast.

If you are travelling in the South Island, are the adventurous kind, and like to find the hidden treasures, then I can recommend the overnight kayak hire! Great equipment, and awesome to be given a map and out on an independent adventure, you really feel the remoteness of this unique location. Magic!!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Paddle helper at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Hey, stoked you, Mandy and Kier visited and got out adventuring! Overnighting on the lagoon is a pretty special trip; it's not one we suggest to everyone as you need to be pretty self-sufficient out there but there's few better places in the world to watch the sunset on a remote beach with the Southern Alps laid out behind you. Good on you for getting out and doing it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okarito Kayaks also viewed

 
Okarito, West Coast Region
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Okarito Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing