We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outfitters!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okarito Kayaks

Okarito Kayaks
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Okarito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kayaking on Okarito Lagoon, New Zealand's largest unmodified coastal wetland. Guided tours and freedom rental. Excellent birdwatching and amazing mountain views. Paddle through the Okarito River Delta that leads deep into the rainforest.Our kayaks are safe, stable sea kayaks. Prior experience is not necessary and full instruction is given.Okarito is a quaint coastal village backdropped by the Southern Alps, only 20 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier, and has the best coffee in town!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outfitters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We went on a morning half day paddle, self-guided though a couple other boats did go out at the same time. It was great to be able to follow our own little hearts and explore down some rivers and through some marshes, without needing to stick together as a group.

Baz and Gemma and the rest of the staff were great, providing gear, maps, and bird guides. Bird sightings included white herons and spoonbills! There was a nice breeze in our face heading back so we were happy for the delicious coffee and carrot cake after our outing.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank julie_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Kayak guide, barista, gardener, baking taster etc at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Julie, hey, thanks for the great review of us!! Busy time of year here mid summer so we're stoked you guys got some space to yourselves out in the waterways, and that you got to see the Spoonbills out there! Glad you enjoyed your trip, nice to have you kayaking with us. Baz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great experience amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

The whole package of kayak hire, high quality equipment, excellent safety briefing and trip plan was just fantastic. Really impressed with the passion and commitment of Baz and Gema to quality experiecne and safety.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Chief kayak washer (and route briefer) at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Di, thanks for the review - sorry I didn't get much time to catch up with you, Mark and the family, but Gem and I are stoked you came through for a paddle and got to see the backyard! We're pretty lucky here in South Westland with what we have. Have a great summer, see you again sometime. Baz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very nice and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We took a half-day kayak and it was amazing. The weather was sunny - took a suncream! It is really recommended :)
Staff was very friendly and helpful, we enjoyed this activity!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Marko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Kayak hire launcher at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Hi Marko - glad you enjoyed your visit, and kayak, and obviously, good weather! We're lucky out here on the edge of the coast that we get much better weather than inland. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels through NZ; cheers for visiting our wee town! Baz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
348 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Terrific Way to Enjoy the Outdoors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

This small boutique Kayak shop has it all together and you can count on them to suit you up with excellent equipment and they will instruct you on how to visit several outstanding rivers where there is abundant beautiful flora and many birds.

Better enjoyed if you head out in the morning before the wind comes up. Our kayak was excellent and easy to turn with rudder pedals.

Dry bags are provided for your valuables or camera gear.

Plan on kayaking for about four hours and about 10 Kilometers. It is a "full" half day activity and you will want to rest the remainder of the day!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Kayak launcher at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Larry, thanks for the great review. We have tried to make a real effort to keep a small friendly feel to our place, so it's great for us to hear thats how you saw our kayak shop. Looking after our kayaks and gear is a point of pride for us so we're also real happy you appreciated the effort!!! Thanks for visiting us and the time for this review. Have a great New Year and further travels. Baz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

A chilly day for us rugged Pacific Northwesterners, balmy by Kiwi standards. The proprietor, Baz, made sure that we were properly outfitted, properly oriented, and that our kayaking skills matched our claims before setting out.
A nice paddle to a well marked river entrance and most importantly, a delicious cup of French press coffee for us Portland coffee twits upon our return.
They go the extra kilometer here.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkaritoKayaks, Cross-Pacific Kayak Host at Okarito Kayaks, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Ha! Thats great!! Love the comments; you guys said you'd have interesting things to say!! Oregonians welcome anytime here (-:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okarito Kayaks also viewed

 
Okarito, West Coast Region
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Okarito Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing