We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
410
288
86
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
288
86
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petit palace sea view old port tapas nice hotel stayed here for nights the hotel staff location is great free wifi across the road walking distance breakfast room family room minute walk pleasant stay ferry home breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Pleasant Hotel, lovely beach, friendly staff. Bar next door for a night cap.
Not really child friendly, but for a nice little getaway its recommended.
The old village in the bay takes you back to a time lost before the modern era. There are a selection of restaurants within walking distance, and the marina to explore. Bilbao is a sort drive away, and there is plenty to do and see in the local area. Be careful of Speed Cameras. we counted 15 on the main road, including a couple on the slip roads as you enter the motorway. This makes driving very stressful and rather dangerous.

Room Tip: Best views are the sea facing suites that cost extra
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear Christopher,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such a detailed TripAdvisor review regarding your overall experience during your recent visit to Petit Palace Tamarises.

It was an absolute pleasure to read your review, we strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable and pleasant experience whilst with us and therefore we are delighted that you were able to experience this on your visit.

We appreciate you taking the time to highlight where we can improve and we will certainly look into this as we always strive to ensure that we proved the levels of service our valued customers are entitled to.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karmele Abarrategui
General Manager
Petit Palace Tamarises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Nice hotel in lovely area on outskirts of Bilbao. Was travelling for work so in close proximity to Industrial area and minutes walk from the metro. Also just minutes walk from the old town and it's lovely tapas bars. Right on the beach so if you fancy a swim it's literally on your doorstep. Rooms are very nice and clean, bathrooms are excellent and showers are fabulous, only issue is the AC isn't great, so the rooms can get a bit hot overnight and if you need to leave the window open it can get a bit noisy. Despite that I've now stayed 3 times and will return. Staff very friendly, breakfast excellent and there are bikes for hire (though I've not tried that yet!)

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind feedback with everyone.

We are pleased that you chose to stay with us ; it was our pleasure to be able to look after you during your stay.

The team at Petit Palace Tamarises are delighted to be able to offer you a warm welcome and efficient service

We are also pleased to read that your guest room was to your liking and enjoyed your brekfast time.

Louise, I can assure you that the team have been made aware of your very complimentary feedback, they are delighted – thank you.

I apologise for the issue you experienced with your ac in your room and have shared your comments with our maintenance department to ensure that the shortfall you encountered does not recur in the future.

We look forward to your return visit, which we hope will be soon.

Best wishes

Karmele Abarrategui
General Manager
Petit Palace Tamarises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

VG hotel with relaxed atmosphere and check in was no prob with hotel parking across the road and next to the beach which our veranda overlooked and so a great view if slightly industrial over to the left. Bar and restaurant attached with nice food, tapas and dinner menu all reasonable prices. We had a large comfortable suite and two toilets. the shower was excellent. 2 small bottles of Cava and chocolate were in our room free apart from stocked fridge.
My lack of Spanish limited communication with bar and restaurant which was overcome except for the ability to question the bill after dinner. We were very surprised at 3 women chain smoking at the next table for an hour while we ate dinner. They drank but didn't eat. Nobody commented on this staff or other and we assumed it must be acceptable for people in this place and possibly elsewhere in Spain. It's been a lot of years since we had that and it doesn't happen in France or Germany in our experience. The drive to the port during morning rush hour despite satnav was an exciting/nightmare experience depending on your ability to concentrate and avoid pinball with commuters and so wrong choice of location if you have a boat to travel to at Bilbao Brittany Ferries.
Hotel response:
Dear Allan Thank you for taking the time to comment on Booking regarding your recent visit to Petit Palace Tamarises. Allan, I was glad to read that you found our staff friendly and professional and the services were to your satisfaction. Our aim is to have all our guest leave us having had a good experience and wanting to return. Allan, we need to clarify that we do not have restaurant but I am so sorry for the inconveniences they caused you, Thank you once again for taking the time and to provide constructive feedback which helps us continue to grow and improve our business. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Petit Palace in the near future. Yours sincerely, Karmele Abarrategui General Manager Petit Palace Tamarises

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank hami180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Allan,

Dear Allan Thank you for taking the time to comment on Triipadvisor regarding your recent visit to Petit Palace Tamarises.
Allan, I was glad to read that you found our staff friendly and professional and the services were to your satisfaction. Our aim is to have all our guest leave us having had a good experience and wanting to return.
Allan, we need to clarify that we do not have restaurant but I am so sorry for the inconveniences they caused you,
Thank you once again for taking the time and to provide constructive feedback which helps us continue to grow and improve our business
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Petit Palace in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Karmele Abarrategui
General Manager
Petit Palace Tamarises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Located right next to the beach, this is a destination location. Though the building is far from new, the room furnishings were updated and attractive. Rooms are small and, unfortunately, not too quiet. Ours was clean and had a really nice shower (took longggg showers). There is limited controlled parking, so if you are staying there, make parking arrangements in advance. Otherwise you’ll be looking for on-street parking along with a few hundred others. Prices are not inexpensive, so if you don’t want to use the beach, I would suggest a different hotel.
We stayed there because of a wedding that held its reception in the adjoining restaurant (Tamarises Izarra). Please look at my review for that restaurant because IT was special!

Room Tip: Want quiet - top floor in the back! And then hope for the best.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradbhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent review about your experience at Petit Palace Tamarises.

I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be excellent.
However, I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the room size so please accept my most sincere apologies
We always strive to provide our guests with outstanding experiences and are continuously looking for new ways to do so. Therefore the feedback you have provided will be used to identify key areas of improvement for future guests to ensure full satisfaction.


Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Getxo.

Kind Regards,

Karmele Abarrategui
General Manager
Petit Palace Tamarises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

The location was excellent .It was nice hotel small but nice. Breakfast was good although very busy the morning we were there.We stayed twice once at the back of the hotel no view but quiet and the next time we stayed at the front which was a little noisy as the window was on to the street . We would go back and stay again as it was so close to restaurants shops etc.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Eamonn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Eammon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words following your recent stay with us at Petit Palace Tamarises and we are very grateful for your continued loyalty.

I was happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken note on your feedback regarding the issues you had at breakfast time.
Eammon, I am personally following this up with the team here at the hotel and it is through listening to our guests that we can improve our service.

All of the team look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when I am sure that we will meet again your expectations in all aspects of your return.

My kindest regards,

Karmele Abarrategui
General Manager
Petit Palace Tamarises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews