We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alex Valdez
La Paz, Bolivia

Sublime experience, feels like home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jun 2024via mobile
I have to say that my family and I have been received very well. The staff is quite good, even the receptionist came to me a day after I arrived just to give me back BOB 20, because my mom forgot them.
The installations were cozzy, and the food is great! They manage how to find fresh ingredients in the middle of the town. Also, the spa center is exceded my expectations! It was pretty clean and the pool had the perfect temperature!
If you and your family want to have a good time, I highly recommend this hotel!
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Try to make your reservation with anticipation
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review
Responded 4 Jun 2024
Dear Alex: We thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. We are very happy to know that your enjoyed your stay and our services. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests. Thank you for visiting Palacio de Sal.
Best regards

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $264
  • Official Hotel
2.9 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
Free parking
Restaurant
    0.7 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      0.7 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      $119
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        $119
      • eDreams
      22.8 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        $129
      • Priceline
      23.3 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $139
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        $139
      23.4 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      0.0 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      23.5 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      23.4 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      View more hotels in Colchani
      Reviews (785)
      Filter reviews
      785 results
      Traveller rating
      480
      198
      61
      15
      31
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      480
      198
      61
      15
      31
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews palacio de sal beautiful hotel pool table unique experience electric blankets buffet dinner buffet style comfortable rooms hot water lounge area bread dome edge bolivia flats luxury tour
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 785 reviews
      Reviewed 31 May 2024

      Excellent facilities, world class spa (except the steam sauna a bit warm at 110 C). But management is at Faulty Towers level: Coming a bit late to breakfast because our guide put in a sightseeing, management declined request for coffee refill! Two star service at a 4 star hotel! Uneducated staff. Poor heating in restaurant. Stingy supply of water (which is essential at 3.600 m elevation.) So a lot of improvement potential at a place with a lot of potential if only incompetent management could be changed.

      Room tip: Terrible bed! Max 120 cm double bed
      Date of stay: May 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Svein Arild K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

      Dear Killingland we thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services. We are sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay and we appreciate your understanding, We will review the points you mention to implement any necessary improvements.
      Best regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

      So disappointed with our stay at this hotel which was picked especially for my birthday.

      Hotel itself is lovely but what lies within is the problem. The reception staff are some of the rudest we have ever encountered.

      We arrived early morning on the La Paz to Uyuni flight (no option for afternoon flights). The girl who checked us in was robotic and nonchalant. After informing us our room ‘may be ready in 2 hours, maybe 3 hours’ she dismissed us by saying we could use the pool & spa. Ummm thanks! Surely if a town only has morning flights then those coming by air can be allocated rooms that have been vacated by people departing by air? Or is that too sensible?!?!

      Anyway we did get our room around 11am which was ok. Not the best room by any means which one would have hoped for a birthday stay (& yes we did pay for the highest category room).

      So then we headed off in search of some lunch which could only be found in the bar area. We ordered a few tapas from the surly waiter and they were mostly enjoyed aside from the cold garlic prawns and lattes!

      After lunch we went for a stroll across to the salt flats - an hour half later we returned to freshen up and prepare for dinner. We are not buffet people so the only option again for us was the bar area. Limited menu but spoilt again by the miserable waiter.

      Next morning (my birthday) we had a call from reception informing us they were waiting for us for breakfast! It was 8.45am and breakfast finished at 9.30am! I don’t understand why anyone would call your room telling you to go for breakfast! Maybe we didn’t want breakfast, maybe we’re having a lie in! Just bizarre!
      Anyway we went and had an omelette each. Ordered 2 lattes and sent them back as they were cold.

      Spent all day out on a tour and when we got back to the hotel my husband had ordered champagne & birthday cake for our room as a surprise. The layout of candles and rose petals in the room was lovely along with the champagne but alas no birthday cake! You couldn’t make it up!

      We left the next day on an early flight back to La Paz and weren’t sad to leave. We skipped breakfast as we just couldn’t be bothered.

      A little shout out to Joy in the bar, lady in the pool/spa and general housekeeping who were all smiley and happy. Massive thumbs down for reception staff who do not create a good first impression whatsoever.

      As with other reviews it appears the comments left for this hotel are futile as management respond by saying they will take on board but obviously they don’t. All customer facing staff need to get themselves to the Belmond hotel at Machu Picchu for training to see how it’s really done. The service there is absolutely sublime in comparison.

      Room tip: Don’t expect too much!
      Date of stay: May 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Hufflepuff33
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

      Dear Madam, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You deserved the best especially on your birthday.
      We are sorry that you perceived the reception staff and waiter as rude. Our goal is to offer a warm and friendly service. Concerning room allocation, we try to accommodate our guests in the best way and we will take into account your suggestions to improve our planning.
      Regarding the breakfast call, we apologize if that was annoying, our intention was to ensure that you had enough time to enjoy your breakfast.
      We want you to know that we are already working to improve the quality of service and attention to detail.
      We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate our improvements and provide you with a more satisfactory experience.
      Sincerely, Hotel Palacio de Sal

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

      As some have already said, bring your expectations way down before staying here. It is not a 5 star property by any stretch of the imagination but then again the bar is very low in this part of the world. Apart from Joy in the bar and the lady in the spa, the staff are generally very sullen and unhelpful. The place itself has so much potential but is let down by the standards of service provided. The difficulty is it’s a choice between arsenic and cyanide if you need to stay overnight out here as none of the accommodation available is great. Its one of the few places in the world where I would suggest a solid 5 star chain setting up shop would get the standards somewhere near what this beautiful area deserves.

      Date of stay: May 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank TomH423
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

      Dear Tom we thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services. We are sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay, we are already working to provide a better experience to our guests.
      We appreciate your recognition of Joy at the bar and the lady in the spa for their service. We will make sure to acknowledge their dedication.
      Best regards: Hotel Palacio de Sal

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 19 January 2024

      We stayed at the Palacio de Sal on the 10th December and it was an experience to forget.
      What happened since check in has to be reported because I don’t understand how this kind of hotel management keeps a 5 star rating.

      While we haven’t even completed the check in, we were already told we had to pay 2 times in that moment like we would leave without paying. I know this might be hotel policy but that’s not the way to handle it on a 5 star rated hotel.

      The bedroom had no hot water until we had to call someone to fix it, the bathroom toilet had to be flushed with the help of the teapot because it didn’t flush enough water. The bathroom toilet seat doesn’t stay up apparently too. But the worst was the temperature, while we’re in summer we arrived at the room only to finding it scorching hot. We obviously reported it to the reception before we left to dinner and they’ve said they would put a fan on the room to try and refresh it.

      While we were seated down to have our dinner at the bar, a group of young people charged in, literally took over the bar while the waiters looked helplessly and we were forced out of the are because both the music was too lout for the waiter on the other side of the bar to understand us but also because they started dancing everywhere, shouting, filming, etc.

      We asked for the manager to report this and we had to wait 45minutes for someone to show up even we called for it 3 times during this 45minutes of waiting. When the manager finally showed up all she had to say was “I’m sorry I didn’t know this was going to happen” while proceeding to doing absolutely nothing.

      Finally, when we’ve arrived to the room we found out no fan was there and the room was still hot. The only option we had was to sleep with the window open in order to try and refresh the room. Sleeping with the noise of a fan definitely wasn’t on our plans. But it gets worse, the windows of the room let all the sun in meaning at 5am it was day in our room without an option to keep it darker for us to continue to sleep.

      During check out we made sure we’ve talked to the manager (which, again, took his time) and expressed our feelings about our stay. We were told they look into it and would reach out later to discuss what happened and how we could be, in a way, compensated by all of this.

      A month has passed and no one reached out.

      Conclusion, I don’t know how a hotel with this conditions and service keeps a 5 star rating. This has been, by far, my worst experience in a so called luxury hotel.

      Thank you for your time,
      Diogo Neuparth

      Room tip: Be ready for a subpar service for a hotel of this rating/price.
      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Curious59347162078
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

      Dear Diogo.
      We are extremetly sorry for the inconvenience to your stay in our hotel. We take your comment and your experience to improve our service. We hope see you soon again and give you another wonderful experience.
      Thanks for your comment.
      Hotel Palacio de Sal.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

      The rooms we rented had no windows and no ventilation. There was no fresh air whatsoever coming into the room. Dinner was terrible with not enough variety. Same as for breakfast. Spa offers very limited treatments. There was not a place to sit outside to watch the sunset of the salt flats.
      Although there is not enough luxury hotel variety in the area, I would give it a shot to try other places and not the PALACIO.

      Room tip: Get a room with fresh air (either with windows or air conditioning if there is such a thing there)
      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank nitsanw
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Owner at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

      Dear Nitsanw.
      Without any doubt we will take care of all your suggestions, we are very sorry for the inconvenience and we will work to improve our service. We thank you for the time you had occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.
      Greatings.
      Hotel Palacio de Sal.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews