We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$324
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
$302
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
478
197
56
15
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
478
197
56
15
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palacio de sal beautiful hotel pool table unique experience electric blankets buffet dinner buffet style comfortable rooms hot water lounge area bread dome edge bolivia flats luxury tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2023

The hotel is lovely. The staff are gracious and helpful. The dinner and breakfast, buffet style, have excellent food. We had a lovely welcome drink on arrival and the decor is very cool.

The room was spacious but uncomfortable for a couple reasons.
1. The room was HOT and stayed hot all night. We opened our window and it was still blazingly hot in there. And for context, I am an "always cold" kind of person--my own home is kept at 72 F (22.2 C) and I still wear a big bathrobe and slippers.
2. The bed was TINY. It's a small double bed that is small in all dimensions (my spouse is 5'8" --1.72m-- and his feet hung off the bed). We couldn't really both sleep in it comfortably and we are used to a Queen size bed at home (not even a King). Would have vastly preferred a room with two beds to trying to make it through the night totally unable to move.

I enjoyed the stay, although the pool and sauna were closed for maintenance, which was disappointing.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Dear Schlegal1,
All your comments are highly valued. We’ll take care of your suggestion. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.
Thank you for visiting Palacio de Sal.
Kind regards,
Maribel Mamani
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

This is a very original hotel made of salt , next to Salario del Sal. Rooms are decent, though a little outdated. as were the bathrooms.We had the dinner buffet there for 28$/ person and the food was very good. We were pleasantly surprised by Carlos, the restaurant manager who sent us a complimentary bottle of Bolivian wine.
The SPA wasn’t crowded when we were there and I had a facial for 48$, that was excellent.
The staff is what makes this hotel an excellent choice if you want to visit the Solar. Everybody was pleasant, helpful, smiling and genuinely kind. Not enough words to tell what a difference that made. From Xavier at the reception, Rodrigo the waiter , Carlos, they provided excellent service.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Orly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Dear Orly68,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very happy to read that you had an unforgettable experience and that our team did a great job.
It will be an honor to welcome you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Maribel Mamani
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Really special hotel, beautiful location and stunning views from the bedrooms and common areas. The staff are fantastic and very attentive, nothing too much trouble. The spa is also amazing, I had the full body massage and it was super relaxing.

Room tip: Pack lip balm and sun cream as the salt air does dry your lips out and the sun is more powerful than you would think!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EleanorO652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Dear Eleanoro652,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very happy to read that you had an unforgettable experience and that our team did a great job.
It will be an honor to welcome you in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Alienate yourself in this den of tranquility. Beautiful surroundings that can’t be explained, you have to go there to experience it. The hotel is relaxed, nice food, great staff. You have to come to this place. A day on the salt and a night here is great therapy for body and mind! Do it!!🤘👍

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Camper55265
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Dear Camper55265,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very happy to read that you had an unforgettable experience and that our team did a great job.
It will be an honor to welcome you in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023

Simply the best experience. Arrive not just to shower and sleep but to enjoy the entire hotel. The pool, spa, the bar, the 7:30 pm optional star gazing tour.
Excellent buffet breakfast, great staff led by Carlos, the maitre.
Would definitely return.

Room tip: Reserve spa ahead of time, before arriving
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victoria Anahi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Dear Vivtorism74,
Thank you very much for your comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us for your stay during your trip at Salar de Uyuni. All your comments are highly valued.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews