We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brian Edment
Stavanger, Norway

An amazing experience and definitely the best hotel for access to the Salt Flats. I extended my stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jun 2022via mobile
This is definitely the best hotel in the area and also the best for access to the Salt Flats, your right next to it and don’t have to rely on transport to take you there. It’s a beautiful hotel with nice rooms and great service. You can walk onto the salt flats anytime of day or hire a bike from the hotel to go in further. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular with amazing colours. Highly, highly recommended!!
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: You can walk or hire one of the mountain bikes for going straight out onto the Salt Flats
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Dear Pioneer0753362004

We thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services. We hope you had gotten back home satisfactorily
Best regards

Katherine Luna
Guest Relation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$324
  • Expedia.com
    $366
  • Agoda.com
    $283
  • Hotels.com
    $366
2.9 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
Free parking
Restaurant
    0.7 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      0.7 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      $388
      No prepayment needed
      • Expedia.com
        $386
      • Hotels.com
        $367
      • Priceline
      0.0 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
        $40
      • Agoda.com
        $40
      22.3 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      $107
      No prepayment needed
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
        $107
      • Tripadvisor
        $107
      • eDreams
      22.8 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $128
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Vio.com
      23.0 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $52
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
        $51
      • Vio.com
      22.9 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free Wifi
      $53
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
        $52
      • Vio.com
      22.9 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      Free parking
      HOSTAL YOKOSO B&B SE ENCUENTRA UNICADO EN LA CIUDAD DE UYUNI. CUENTA CON HABITACIONES CON BAÑO PRIVADO, TV CABLE, WIFI, DESAYUNO, AGUA CALIENTE,  SE ENCUENTRA UBICADO EN PLENO CENTRO.  LAS HABITACIONES CUENTAN CON CALEFACCION Y TODAS LAS HABITACIONES TIENEN LUZ NATIRAL DEBIDO ASUS VENTANALES CON TERMOPANEL.  MUY RECOMENDABLE.
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Agoda.com
        $53
      • Vio.com
      • Booking.com
      23.1 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
      View more hotels in Colchani
      Reviews (783)
      Filter reviews
      783 results
      Traveller rating
      480
      198
      59
      15
      31
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      480
      198
      59
      15
      31
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews palacio de sal beautiful hotel pool table unique experience electric blankets buffet dinner buffet style comfortable rooms hot water lounge area bread dome edge bolivia flats luxury tour
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      39 - 44 of 783 reviews
      Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

      I stayed here with some friends while visiting the Uyuni Salt Flats. This hotel, and indeed this entire area, is amazing!
      The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the hotel itself is incredibly unique, having been largely constructed of cut salt blocks. The roof of my bedroom was a dome made of salt blocks!
      The amenities are wonderful - restaurant, lounge area (pool table), spa, fabulous swimming pool…everything is top-notch!
      We had fabulous guides take us out on the flats each day for wonderful meals and some fun entertainment making creative photos!
      So glad I chose to stay here!

      Date of stay: June 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Davis H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

      Dear Davis H
      Thank you very much for your comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us for your stay during your trip at Salar de Uyuni. All your comments are highly valued.
      Best Regards

      Katherine Luna
      Guest Relation

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 17 June 2022

      the Palacio de Sal Hotel is is beautiful large unique hotel, which is partially made of salt. the rooms are nice, but the shower is a little tight, but it does the trick. it has a large bar, restaurant, great service, and an indoor pool. the Meals are severed buffet style and the food is good.
      they have long beautiful hallways in which you can get lost. so just look up at the hallway junctions and check the numbers and exit sign.
      a unique experience!!!

      Date of stay: June 2022
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank bgerber948
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

      Dear Bgerber948
      Thank you very much for your comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us for your stay during your trip at Salar de Uyuni. All your comments are highly valued.
      Best Regards
      Katherine Luna
      Guest Relation

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 June 2022

      We stayed at the hotel on May 23rd 2022. The hotel was hosting some type of business meeting with about 50 people. While all the hotel staff wore mask, and some even wore gloves, guest were not required to wear masks even though it is hotel policy that all guest wear masks in ALL public places. Each area like the bar and restaurant had occupancy limits. These were not followed. When I asked about why the hotel did not ask guest to follow the policy the management would not answer. (VIA Whats APP) they explained the policy but would not explain why they did not follow it. The 50 unmasked people congregated in the lobby most of the evening. Or they would move from the bar (limit if 25 people) or go to the restaurant, limit 61 people. Making it impossible for other guest to use any of those areas without having a high probability of getting exposed to Covid. NOT WORTH THE RISK. We moved to another hotel, which was much nicer only 200 yards away and the other hotel had very strong covid protocols and the followed them!!

      Date of stay: May 2022
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank peggy l
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 23 May 2022 via mobile

      I stayed at both salt hotels look at the other salt hotel for my review.

      I will compare each attribute on how I came up with my rating.

      Check in process - 5. The process was smooth and easy.

      Staff - 5. Everyone we came in contact with was helpful and polite. At both hotels it was a mix of the staffs English skills, but we are in a Spanish speaking country and do not expect the staff to know English.

      Room - We had two rooms, a double, and a single.

      Hotel Palacio de Sal - I give the room a 0 (ZERO)!

      Hotel Palacio de Sal - The best description I can give of the room is an Army Barrack. You walked into the room and there are two single beds each pushed against the wall with about three feet between the beds to walk. There are NO windows to the outside world. I am not sure I ever stayed at a hotel with no windows to see outside. Especially in place a beautiful as the salt flats. There is a small window maybe 2 feet by 3 feet that looks out to the public hallway. In the double the curtain covers the window but is sheer so the light from the hall comes in while you sleep. In the single the curtain does not fully cover the window at the bottom. There is NO other furniture besides the two single beds.

      The closet is a old wooden built-in with ample space, but only two hangers. The walls are paper thin and you hear everybody walking through the halls. In fact I am writing this at 2:30 AM as I was woken by someone outside our room, I assume walking to their room. The bathroom is tiny with a plastic shower. The toilet requires you to put the TP in the trash can not the toilet. Like when I use to stay at Hostels. I would compare the room to a Motel 6 in the US that I stayed in 30 years ago, and had not been upgraded since then.

      The rooms have a small radiator that you can not control. The one saving grace is the beds do have heated mattresses. If not for that I am sure we would be freezing.

      Hotel public area - 5 - the public areas are very nice. The temperature throughout was comfortable.

      Food - included breakfast and dinner.

      Hotel Palacio de Sal - 2 - the dinner was buffet with a couple of options. It matched perfectly with the Army Barracks room it was like being in line at the mess hall in the army. The eating area was nicely appointed. I have not experienced the breakfast at this point.

      Spa services we did not use.

      Bottom line if it was not for the fact we are only in our room to sleep and we checked into Hotel Palacio de Sal after a long day (we were tired) we would have asked to switch hotels. If I knew what I know now I never would of stayed here.

      Room tip: Do not stay here.
      Date of stay: May 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Doug L
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2022

      Dear Doug L.
      We are very sorry that you have had such an experience in our hotel, indeed the standard category rooms do not have a window to the outside, we hope that on your next visit to the Salar de Uyuni you will enjoy different areas of our magnificent hotel.
      Thank you for your comment. We will take it into account to improve our services.
      Katherine Luna
      Guest Relation

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

      Everything and everyone was great. We vacation often and this experience was beyond beautiful. The hotel, Palacio de Sal, has an amazing design and detail that was actually more impressive in person than the pictures.Which normally we find the opposite to be true. The pool and sauna had great views during the day but wish it was open later as we wanted to go again after our tour of the stars.. The staff were friendly and professional. The guide, Victor, was awesome as he provided us with information, history, and assistance taking great pictures of our adventures.

      Date of stay: September 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank oscaru189
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

      Dear Oscaru,
      Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a comment on this important platform., we are very glad to know that you could enjoy all our services and the attention of our team that works every day to give our guests a service of quality,
      we are sure that you took with you magical memories.
      We hope to have you back in a near future to revive this amazing experience.

      Best regards,
      Tamara Carballo - guest relation

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews