We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$511
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gabriel V
La Paz, Bolivia

Road trip vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2021via mobile
We had the best day ever at the Palacio de Sal at the shores of the salt flats. Definitely the most elegant hotel in the area, you can tell it is the diary salt hotel in the world not only because of its installations but also because of its marvelous service. It is worth to try its food at the restaurant, drinks at the bar and to stop by the spa while there.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jan 2021
Dear gabrielva7,
We thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments.
It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services, we are glad to know that you enoyed your stay and all the services we offer to make the experience of our guests the best.

We hope you had gotten back home satisfactorily.

Best regards,
Tamara Carballo - guest relation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $314
  • Official Hotel
2.9 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
Free parking
Restaurant
Vio.com
    0.7 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    0.7 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $511
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $113
    • Hotels.com
    23.3 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $117
    • Hotels.com
    23.4 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    23.5 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free Wifi
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    23.4 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free Wifi
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    23.6 km from Hotel Palacio de Sal
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Colchani
    Reviews (781)
    Filter reviews
    782 results
    Traveller rating
    480
    198
    58
    15
    31
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    480
    198
    58
    15
    31
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews palacio de sal beautiful hotel pool table unique experience electric blankets buffet dinner buffet style comfortable rooms hot water lounge area bread dome edge bolivia flats luxury tour
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    43 - 48 of 782 reviews
    Reviewed 11 April 2020

    The hotel is best located on the fringe of the salt flat only about 20 min from the airport. The location makes it very easy to walk to the salt flat or start a tour of the salt flat. Palacio de sal is unique in the way that a lot of its structure is made of salt cubes from the salar the uyuni. All areas nicely are geared to the salt theme and it that sense are very special. Rooms are roomy, have nice salar views, ok bathrooms and a dome of salt cubes above the bed. The bed however is very uncomfortable. We did not sleep well at all They have a great spa area with al little pool with best views of the flat. The bar area is great especially at around sun set time which creates an almost unreal and great atmosphere in the bar. Breakfast and restaurant offer are good and the service staff is very friendly and helpful. The rest of the crew is equally friendly and helpful in arranging all sorts of things.

    Date of stay: November 2019
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Voyagearoundtheworld
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 March 2020 via mobile

    Location is amazing. Staff is very friendly, especially the ladies at reception and all the staff in restaurant and bar. People usually have a full program with excursions when they come here, I had one day with no program and was able to enjoy the spa and hotel facilities.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Michaelk11759
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Lucia Quesada, Propietario at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

    Dear Michael:
    Thank you very much for your comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us for your stay during your trip at Salar de Uyuni. All your comments are highly valued.

    Best Regards

    Tamara Carballo - guest relation

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

    Wonderful place close to the entrance for Salt Flat.only complaint I have is that some salt would fall from the ceiling at night. Breakfast was good. But truly an unique place.Staff was wonderful. Overall an amazing place and highly recommend.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Jaypatflorida
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Palacio_Sal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

    Dear Jaypatflorida:

    We thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services. We hope you had gotten back home satisfactorily
    Best regards

    Tamara Carballo - guest relation

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

    This is a superbly designed hotel. It's original, the lobby and corridors are exceptional. The lounges are comfortable. Best of all are the views and go outside in the evening and there is brilliant night sky in summer. This is also the first hotel I've stayed in in many years and many countries where the bedrooms are not redesigned around a television. Having no TV in the middle of one of the more remote places in the world is fabulous. Other hotels should follow. The food was good. Omelette cooked to order at breakfast, nice buffet. For a place so remote the quality of the food was good. I'd brought warm clothing because of the altitude. I didn't need it as bedding was plentiful and warm and the radiators in bathroom and main room were on. You also get complimentary bottle of water. Staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean.
    I've read some of the terrible reviews and what they say about food, staff and price of beer are not true many of their comments are the result of their lack of planning when travelling and ignorance. Don't come to places like Uyuni if you expect a perfect holiday. Yes Uyuni is dusty, dirty and cold at night. It's 4,000m up on the altiplano.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank NamasteHello
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Palacio_Sal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

    Dear Nastame:

    We thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services. We hope you had gotten back home satisfactorily.

    Best regards

    Tamara Carballo - guest relation

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 January 2020 via mobile

    Was expecting a fairly basic hotel. But the Palico de Sal is a stunning building, beautifully constructed, with interesting architecture and superb rooms.
    Easy check in and warm welcome, room was large, well appointed with great bathroom, good shower and a good nights sleep!
    Views across the salt flats and stunning sun set from most of the rooms.
    Large restaurant with buffet dinner and breakfast offering a wide selection of very good food.
    Great service and easy check out.
    Having stayed in Uyuni before,I would certainly recommend coming out to the salt hotel- a great placebo stay!

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    2  Thank RobertD2454
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Palacio_Sal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

    Dear Robert:

    We thank you for the time you’d occupied leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure for the Hotel Palacio de Sal to dispense you our services. We hope you had gotten back home satisfactorily

    Best regards
    Gabriela Minor- guest relation

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews