We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A library of natural wonders”

Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adrift Outdoors is an outdoor adventure company specialising in guided adventures through the Tongariro and Whanganui National Parks, including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we are a personal and professional organisation that can tailor our guided adventures to suit individual needs.At Adrift, we have vast experience in working with people of all ages and abilities. Adrift provides qualified, experienced and personable guides whose sole purpose is to ensure a safe, enjoyable and memorable adventure.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Pickup in the morning was easy and the drive from Turnagi took less than 1hr. Staff were helpful, there was appropriate clothing available inclusive in the tour price. The views are incredible and the tour guides are patient. You will be winning with the great company and tour guides!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilovenzl, Manager at Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Ahmed,
Thank you so much for the super review and we are thrilled that you had a carefree day with us. The Tongariro Alpine Crossing is so beautiful that it makes our job very easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tongariro crossing"
in 54 reviews
"guided tour"
in 14 reviews
"stew"
in 9 reviews
"bad weather"
in 7 reviews
"red crater"
in 9 reviews
"weather was perfect"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 9 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 6 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 6 reviews
"starting point"
in 6 reviews
"safe hands"
in 3 reviews
"own pace"
in 4 reviews
"new zealand"
in 12 reviews
"after hours"
in 3 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 4 reviews
"incredible experience"
in 2 reviews
"crater lake"
in 5 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

The hike was wonderful! We had loads of fun! the half day was not as strenuous as we were expecting. The guide ensured we were safe the entire time. The views were spectacular!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Sterling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilovenzl, Manager at Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Sterling S,
Thank for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful trip and you enjoyed the great views. Tongariro National Park really is a special place and we hope you get to come back and see more of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

very friendly and helpful company, they moved my booking forward a day so i could go up on a perfect day, guides made you feel safe at all times and gave good advice on clothing, ie when to take off and put on.
they managed the pace perfectly so we had time to catch a breath, play in the snow and take in one of the best views over lunch

Thank freighttradee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it and are happy to hear you enjoyed our tour. We hope you will come back again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

From all the team at Adrift Tongariro Outdoor Guided Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

To sum it up, it was a challenging and fun experience with amazing views. Our guide was well informed of both the scientific explanations and Maori stories of the the mountains in the area, and was very patient with our picture taking when we got to the top, but kept us on pace so we were back before dark. We saw amazing views going up the mountain and learned plenty of useful skills for winter hiking that can be applied in future trips. Although it is a long and difficult climb, it is well worth it.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jwfrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Yes, it was pricey
Yes, it was the most expensive thing I’ve done in NZ so far
Yes, I spent more money than I would’ve liked.

But wow. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. It was the coolest thing I’ve ever done. Our guide was awesome and answered all 4,386 questions I had.

You need to do this. Now.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank andrew827462728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing