We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
15
18
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
18
5
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for a night before embarking on the Tongariro Northern Circuit. They offer a tiny amount of free wifi so if you need to surf the net I'd probably stay somewhere else. Our room was also close to the kitchen and so there was a lot of noise coming through right up until 2 in the morning. There were also very limited female toilets which was weird. Despite this, however, the double room is really spacious and the bed was nice and comfortable. Having stayed in many backpackers, this is a big plus. For this reason I would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fearless803025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

We tried to check in at about 3pm, as our booking confirmation indicated we could. However reception was closed with a note telling us to come back at 6pm! Very frustrating, as we’d had a long day travelling to get there. Facilities were basic, as you would expect for the price.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clarekennard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Facilities are ok, but there is no oven. the highlight is having a spa to soak your muscles after a long session of skiing/boarding up at Whakapapa.
The location is excellent. Just a short walk to any bars/shops. I highly recommend the Horopito lamb shanks at Schnapps bar

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K3426RRdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Nice fireplace in the lounge. It has the best share area to hang out with mates. People running the place is always friendly.
Tip -The showers closest to the kitchen is the hotest and progressively gets colder the further away.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarolineTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiHaus, Manager at Manowhenua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate it
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ski Haus.
We look forward to hosting you in National Park again if the opportunity arises.
Kind Regards
Sharyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Only had one night here but had no problems - booking, payment and check in was all easy! The village is small so the location of all the hostels and lodges here are convenient in reality; Ski Haus is about 800m-1km from all the important parts (supermarket) which is all flat and easy to walk!
Our room was a double which also had a bunk bed so would be ideal for groups too! The bed was comfy and layout of the rooms regarding the kitchen and bathrooms was also good!
We checked out really early due to doing the crossing so needed an early night! Unfortunately a bunch of people in the corridor were unaware of their noise levels at 11.30pm which highlighted how thin the walls were.
The kitchen was very clean with plenty of fridge space and all the necessary cooking amenities were there!

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank NaomiF2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews