We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.comUS$81
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
111
202
110
48
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
202
110
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongariro crossing lamb shank bar and restaurant mezzanine room packed lunch open fire rooms are small thin walls two single beds both nights the kitchen electric blankets cooked breakfast hot tub light sleeper spa pool tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We stayed here as part of a 2 night crossing deal on grab one. Good value for money and well positioned to the crossing itself.. shuttle & breakfast was included too which was a bonus. I would say its more of a place for tourists planning on doing walks etc than a place for a quiet get away. Made it interesting having chats with different people around the world though. Staff were friendly, rooms were quite dark and the shower pressure was awful, the room wasnt very big either but considering we weren't in them half the time it was suitable. had to close the curtains after coming back in the afternoon though as on the bottom floor people walking across the balcony could see in. There was a kitchen that you could make your own food if you didnt want to eat at the restaurant which was neat. We ate at the restaurant the first night which was pretty busy and over priced i think, the second day we went into ohakune which was 30 mins away and alot cheaper. Overall it was suitable for the purpose of why we came which was to do the crossing.

Room tip: Would go for a upper level room if you got to choose
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unkn0wn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to hear that you found us a convenient base for the Tongariro Crossing.

As we are now under new ownership there are many exciting changes underway, including renovations to all rooms. We no longer have guest cooking facilities, but our popular Spiral Restaurant is still open for dinner and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The sort of accommodation you expect from a place geared up for walkers and skiers. We were there in summer and the food was excellent, well dinners anyway, breakfast was a bit limited. Friendly willing staff.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeteLucy434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights on the Waitangi weekend, taking them up on their Tongariro crossing package, including 2 x continental brekky, hike transfers and hike lunch pack. The hotel seems to have some renovated rooms, and some in original decor. I believe this package includes the renovated room. Bathrooms are small but clean and new. Beds are comfy. Wifi can be slow when the hotel is busy due to limited bandwidth in the National Park Village, fine for our needs though. (Vodafone coverage in the village was strong too.)
We had the choice of a 6 or 7am departure on the hike. With brekky starting at 6.30, we chose the later departure. The hotel gave us a lunch pack and once on the bus to the hike, we were warned to not miss the last bus, as there's a $150 fee. They would send a search party out if you didn't make it though, so that's reassuring.
There are 3 busses at the other end, roughly hourly. We didn't make any side trips on the hike, so easily made the first bus home at 2.30. Luckily it had space for us, as it was a warm day and shade was limited for the many trampers at the end carpark.
We ate at the hotel both nights - meals were filling, although my lamb shank was tough as old boots. We discovered the next day that the Railway Cafe is the pick of the village. What a great use of an old train station! You don't come to the hotel for the food though. This is a great place to prepare for and recover from the hike, and the package makes it easy. Worth hiring a walking pole from reception if you didn't bring one. There's an outdoor hot tub if you need it afterwards, and a laundry too. Not quite the quality of the Tongariro Chateau, but at a fraction of the price, it has everything you need for an easy and fun hike experience.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time on the Tongariro Crossing.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Dinner with friendly recently after having dinner x2 at another establishment nearby so we thought try something different. The menu we had seen at our accommodation was different to what was available- with variety. At the bar only 2 draught beers available and both similar. We tried the fish and chips - fish was tough! Friends had the sticky ribs which they thought were great. Nice Cosy atmosphere.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lyn_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your review, we have passed your comments onto our chef.

We hope that you visit our restaurant during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We booked the studio with loft as there were 3 of us. The shower room was so small you could hardly dry yourself - larger people would find it difficult to close the door. The windows were small and high up, as you might expect for a ski lodge, but not much good in summer. Basic but adequate , and the most expensive place we stayed in our month-long tour of NZ. We booked 3 nights to make sure we could do the Tongariro crossing, but as we did it on the first day, we left after 2 nights, forfeiting the cost of the extra night.

Room tip: Dont go for a loft room if you need room to turn round in the shower room
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

There are many new changes occurring here at The Park Hotel, including renovations to all of the hotel rooms.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews