We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
121
26
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
26
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real castle narrow road one night bread details wedding dream mist furniture property heart trips
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

EXCELLENT, AUTHENTIC, DIVINE! :)

If you're looking for excessive lavish luxury akin to The Ritz, you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for authentic, THIS IS THE WAY TO GO!!!!!

We arrived late, after 8pm, but we called ahead to let them know. Jasmine waited for us! So sweet! It is a real CASTLE! Everything you would expect and MORE! Steep, narrow road up a winding hill, beautiful property with a stream, manicured grounds that offer stunning event/wedding photos, four-poster bed, antiques, etc. The view out the window of our room at sunrise made my heart skip a beat. Birds singing, mist hovering over the hills, sunrise colors and shadows... Oh, my. We would return to the castle because we loved it, and I would return, again, JUST for that view. It is a spiritual experience, for sure.

The staff is EXCELLENT - managed by Marco, the grandson of the owner. What a delight. We inquired about the history of the castle and his family's connection. He gave us a private, behind-the-scenes tour of the castle and facility, and he shared with us his dream of creating an agritourismo... a property that offers beds and a place to learn their agricultural endeavors: olive oil, wine, truffles, etc. We loved seeing the grand church within the castle! Wow.

Our first night we went to dinner at the restaurant on the property: Ristorante Castello di Valenzano. This is a separate business, but right on the property. Only open Thursday thru Sunday when we were there, so we just caught Saturday night and Sunday. We didn't know what to expect, and were thrilled to be delighted! A dark walk (9pm) up old stone stairs to an unassuming old wooden door... we opened thinking we must be in the wrong place. The place was packed! So warm and cheery and the food smelled DIVINE. We ordered a bunch (pizza x 2 - one for each of us! - and pici pasta and beer) and we couldn't wait to come back again the next day to try the things we couldn't make room for! LOL.

Our waitress, Augunstina, was so helpful. She spoke enough English for us to speak comfortably with her and ask questions about the food and the area. She wrote down a few activity recommendations that we asked about and gave us her cell # so that we could call and ask her ANYTHING! Such a sweetheart! We took pictures with all of the staff after dinner, because the food was EXCEPTIONAL and my boyfriend is a foodie, and could barely contain himself that they use a domed pizza oven to perfection. So much fun! Lunch at the restaurant the next day (gnudi, patate (potato) pasta, biscotti and liqueur - DO NOT MISS THIS), and we didn't want to leave! :)

Breakfast is simple pastry and cafe and juice, and some breakfast meat and bread. Very nice. We did day trips to Arezzo and Poppi for exploring and wineries. Absolutely MAGICAL. Thank you, Marco and Castello di Valenzano!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelMarRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

What do you want on a good vacation? You want beautiful surroundings, in a good location, with friendly and helpful staff, and good cuisine. Castello di Valenzano has the first. It's a beautiful structure, and the prices are good for a place this nice. But the location is not great. It's far from everything. (Foreign travelers would be wise to remember that speeds are significantly lower on Italian roads, so it takes longer than one would think to get there).

Then there is the staff. The person "helping" us was Marco, a very young, sullen, and not-so-responsive Millennial.

Then there is the lack of luxury. Marketing yourself as a castle? You should have working heat. Remember this is a castle on a mountain: tomb cold.

Selling breakfast with the rooms? This doesn't mean you can take off one day and just lock the breakfast room (which happened to us).

The beds were so ridiculously hard and old that my wife had bruises on her body. Shocking for a castle stay.

Please understand this location is NOT staffed. My favorite was when the plumbing broke one night -- the handle literally came off the sink -- and I had to run around the grounds, calling the proprietors, screaming for anyone, while my wife plugged the leak to prevent a flood. One number was disconnected, the other just rang and rang. No one was on site. So I had to fix a sink myself -- on vacation.

I want to give you another window into this "luxury" location: breakfast consisted of salami, cheese slices, and cake. Um, yeah. Not ideal; emphatically not luxurious or consistent with the marketing.

Then there was the restaurant on site. Some days it would open after the posted hour it was supposed to open; some days it was just inexplicably closed. There is nothing like driving up a mountain road with hungry kids and everything else being far away, only to find that the restaurant is closed despite being posted as open. Fun times.

The family who owns this castle clearly has made a pile of money from doing weddings there, for wealthy Brits and Americans. Do they care about hotel guests? No, and this was apparent throughout our stay. Strongly suggest visiting the castle and checking out the view for free, and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

This Castle was a great find. Set in the mountains in Tuscany. We had wonderful rooms with four post beds and great views.
The restaurant served good food at reasonable prices. The grounds of the castle were also beautiful and well maintained. Hope to stay there longer on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a four post bed.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank len2015414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

any couple wanting a fairy tale wedding this is the place the caste is just that old world the manegement team know their stuff i only hope you like climing stairs this is not for the infirm but the food is so good i think i put on a half stone in 4 days yummy please check it out not just for a wedding venue i love laid back hollidays this is the biz in the heart of the tuscan mountins enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Hence we got all our friends and family from Holland/Scotland and all over the world (Middle-East, America, Australie, Ireland etc) It is the most amazing castle, it has wonderful staff and the food is to die for.
Castello di Valenzano made our wedding weekend absolutely fantastic (we had it exclusively for the whole weekend), no better place to get married or stay the night! All our guest were blown away by it' s beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vonna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews