We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
111
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free kayaks hot tub laid back pizza oven awesome staff new zealand clean rooms post surf surf board hire my partner surfing lessons great place to stay hammocks sauna hostel social vibe
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

That was one of the best backpackers I stayed during my 7,5 months working holiday in New Zealand. I met wonderful people there and got the chance to learn how to surf. The whirlpool is not even that disgusting than in most hostels :D

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariellaG300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The hostel is clean and tidy. Staff is welcomed and friendly like all other travellers. We stayed in a room for three people and met a nice guy too. There is no wifi as they want you to interact with others. There is an access to a full equipment kitchen, a lounge or a garden with hammocks and a hot tub. If you need to check anything online there are two PCs available. You can get surfing lessons or hire kayaks in a decent price. There is a short walking distance to the beach, closest supermarket or pubs and fast foods. A little advice for people who just started their traveling, they don't do keys for the rooms. But everyone seems to trust each other. Great place to stay, will be back for sure and for longer next time!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikoleta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Really nice, chilled place right in the heart of Raglan. The hostel is small but really nice, clean and comfortable.

The kitchen area had everything you would need - again clean. The beds are comfortable and you have space to store your bags in the room.

There is a jacuzzi and sauna if you fancy that too!

We stayed a night and really enjoyed it - thanks

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

I'm a female solo traveller having surfed a handful of times in the past few years. Raglan is a great little town for beginner/experienced surfers, yoga lovers and those wanting some coastal walks and kayaking. Raglan backpackers is the best hostel I've stayed in to date because of its homely feel. The features that make this hostel so amazing are the friendly staff and people, their helpfulness, mixture of room types and the social areas, including hot tub (great post surf). There are always people willing to help with tips for improving your surfing, so don't be worried if you are a beginner like myself. This is not a party hostel. Social areas close around 10pm/11pm and people are here to work and surf, but at the weekends you will find the local bars a treat. Overall you will find yourself never wanting to leave this place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This is the first time I am using Trip Advisor to give the community advice and that has got a reason: Raglan Backpackers is the best hostel I‘ve ever been to! The people working there didn’t ask me to recommend that hostel on Trip Advisor or anywhere. Because they don’t need it. It’s probably super difficult to find a bed at this place in the summer. Even in spring on weekends it’s almost impossible.
The hostel is totally clean. The rooms and the beds are very high standard for a hostel. If you get a place in the backhouse you will be sleeping in a sweet house with very big rooms. There’s also a brand new big TV in a lovely living room. Talking about the equipment, Raglan Backpackers has got: a sauna, a hot tup(!), more than enough bathrooms, two kitchens with lots of stuff in there, two living rooms with lots of books, games and DVDs, and a cute little dog - his name is ‚ocean‘.
All the people working there are super friendly and cool. They all live there as well and if they don’t have to work (they try really hard by the way), they will sometimes do activities with you (going surfing, kayaking, biking, having a walk with the dog, relaxing in the hot tup, ...). Renting surfing equipment is cheap in my eyes ($30 for a couple of hours: they will give you a free car ride to the beach, give you tips, you get a wet suit and a surfboard). There are little Kayaks FREE to rent and big kayaks as well, but you gotta pay for those. Renting a mountain bike is $2 per hour.
I stayed 4 nights in that hostel and I was really sad when I left that place. It’s so lovely. I met so many nice people around there, everybody there was in such a good mood always and only nice people at this place, a lot of surfers and a lot of Germans.

RAGLAN I ALREADY MISS YOU but
YOU ALWAYS MEET TWICE IN LIFE!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews