We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
111
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free kayaks hot tub laid back pizza oven awesome staff new zealand clean rooms post surf surf board hire my partner surfing lessons great place to stay hammocks sauna hostel social vibe
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

This is the kind of hostel, where you arrive and extend your staying straight away. Awesome staff, free spa/saune. Chilled common area. Wicked place near to the beach.
Paid 25$ per night for a 8dorm room. Cheap as.
Cheers guys.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Der_Looper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This place is awesome! Me and my partner stayed 2 nights in a double room. It was not expensive and the room was fine but it's the whole place you pay for. Free rentals, wet suit and surf board hire, hot tub, Sauna, pizza oven and loads more. There is no TV in the lounge so it makes it really easy to meet people. We also experienced movie night where one of the owners brought us in popcorn while we all watched a movie by the fire! This backpackers also really does its bit for the environment too which we loved! I would definitely recommend - give them a call!!

Room Tip: Any room it doesn't matter - you'll be so chilled!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceP1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We had the private double room, cosy bed. The outdoor hot tub is fab in winter. The hostel staff are super friendly & make efforts to make a great hostel community. Pizza and quiz nights, free kayaking to a little cafe up the lake. The lounge is cosy with a log fire. Best hostel ever!

Room Tip: Waterside location
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jambolina2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Raglan Backpackers is simply amazing. The facilities, the staff, the location and the vibe makes the hostel worth a visit. If you don't have time to surf while passing through Raglan (makes no sense) this hostel has something else for you to do. It could be yoga, slacklining, SUP, kayaking, hot-tub or sauna.. Just go!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank 732mathiasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

After travelling the world for 5 months this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Super chilled and friendly environment which is only enhanced by the incredibly helpful staff. Clean rooms, warm showers, cheap surfboard rentals and a hot tub - what more could you want?!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Travellingforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews