We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to be in New Zealand”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed there for almost a week although I would have loved to stay longer, but my flight was already scheduled. Never had such a warm and welcoming atmosphere, the staff is the nicest I've ever met in a hostel, in fact, their more like your buddies and help you with everything. It's almost impossible not to socialise in this beautiful place, and it goes on with the surfing in the daytime and the hottub in the evening to cooking together with people you met a few hours ago. My favourite place in whole NZ, definitely coming back in the future!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stephan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

This is the kind of hostel, where you arrive and extend your staying straight away. Awesome staff, free spa/saune. Chilled common area. Wicked place near to the beach.
Paid 25$ per night for a 8dorm room. Cheap as.
Cheers guys.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Der_Looper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This place is awesome! Me and my partner stayed 2 nights in a double room. It was not expensive and the room was fine but it's the whole place you pay for. Free rentals, wet suit and surf board hire, hot tub, Sauna, pizza oven and loads more. There is no TV in the lounge so it makes it really easy to meet people. We also experienced movie night where one of the owners brought us in popcorn while we all watched a movie by the fire! This backpackers also really does its bit for the environment too which we loved! I would definitely recommend - give them a call!!

Room Tip: Any room it doesn't matter - you'll be so chilled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We had the private double room, cosy bed. The outdoor hot tub is fab in winter. The hostel staff are super friendly & make efforts to make a great hostel community. Pizza and quiz nights, free kayaking to a little cafe up the lake. The lounge is cosy with a log fire. Best hostel ever!

Room Tip: Waterside location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jambolina2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Raglan Backpackers is simply amazing. The facilities, the staff, the location and the vibe makes the hostel worth a visit. If you don't have time to surf while passing through Raglan (makes no sense) this hostel has something else for you to do. It could be yoga, slacklining, SUP, kayaking, hot-tub or sauna.. Just go!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank 732mathiasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raglan hotels
0.6 km away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
10.7 km away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
6.6 km away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#4 of 11 in Raglan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
1.0 km away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge

Address: 6 Wi Neera Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Raglan
Price Range: $29 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raglan Backpackers hostel New Zealand is located on the water's edge of Raglan's beautiful harbour, looking out across the water to Mt Karioi. Purpose-built accommodation for your comfort and security, we take pride in our clean facilities, friendly atmosphere, surfing knowledge and helpful staff. All rooms open onto a private central courtyard garden, where you can relax in a hammock or enjoy the hot tub. The living room and dining area open onto the grass lawn which is absolute waterfront.AS a guest you have free use of our mountain bikes, kayaks, sauna and spa pool. We have also have a full range of surf boards for hire, with transport to the surf beach (5 min drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing