We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
111
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free kayaks hot tub laid back pizza oven awesome staff new zealand clean rooms post surf surf board hire my partner surfing lessons great place to stay hammocks sauna hostel social vibe
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We had the private double room, cosy bed. The outdoor hot tub is fab in winter. The hostel staff are super friendly & make efforts to make a great hostel community. Pizza and quiz nights, free kayaking to a little cafe up the lake. The lounge is cosy with a log fire. Best hostel ever!

Room Tip: Waterside location
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jambolina2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Raglan Backpackers is simply amazing. The facilities, the staff, the location and the vibe makes the hostel worth a visit. If you don't have time to surf while passing through Raglan (makes no sense) this hostel has something else for you to do. It could be yoga, slacklining, SUP, kayaking, hot-tub or sauna.. Just go!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank 732mathiasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

After travelling the world for 5 months this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Super chilled and friendly environment which is only enhanced by the incredibly helpful staff. Clean rooms, warm showers, cheap surfboard rentals and a hot tub - what more could you want?!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Travellingforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This place is DA bomb. I met some of the coolest people here. They have a BBQ, Hot tub, Sauna, multiple surf and water-related activities gear, they are 1 block from downtown, Kieran, Estelle, Alex, Frankie, and the rest of the gang were super cool. The hostel is located along the lake and is a 10 minute drive from the beach. Everyone is incredibly laid back, and of the 10 or so different places I stayed in New Zealand, Raglan felt most laid-back, like my friends back at home, and was an excellent value for my money. Additionally, it was clean, and they even have a cat and dog and beer fridges on site :D Thank you guys! I had such an awesome timeeeeeee!

Room Tip: All rooms are sweet. 4 and 6 room dorms gives a great deal of room in the center
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms, nice kitchen, great vibe, hammocks, a sauna, a hot tub, BBQ, pizza oven, and free kayaks. What more could you possibly want from a hostel? Definitely the place to stay in Raglan. Would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews