We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Classic Motel(Hamilton)
US$79
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountain City Motor Inn(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
110
15
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
15
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayakshot tublaid backnew zealandthe kitchenpizza ovenboard gamesfree wifiawesome staffsurf boardsfantastic atmosphereclean roomsliving roomhome away from homenice courtyardmy partnersurfing lessons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Easy place to stay - right next to beach and town - lovely courtyard with hammocks and hot tub as well as an alternative to overlooking the sea.
Great surf vibe - opportunities for beginners and pro.s - but also kayaking and yoga.
Eclectic mix of folks - and of course ended up sitting down for supper next to a stranger from my own home town in England!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JudiGFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

This is the best hostel i have been to in NZ! It's super clean and cozy. The best part of the hostel though is the environment there. It's so relaxed and layed back but still with lots of things to do. Definitely the place to stay in Raglan!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Everything's well kept, they have a hot tub and a sauna, plus a lovely court yard with hammocks. Free kayaking in the nearby waters, daily trips to Ngarunui Beach where you can surf ($30 for a board, wetsuit and a ride there and back). Heaps to do on a rainy day as well. Supermarkets nearby and town is just around the corner.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank KaroParo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I stopped at Raglan hostel for 5 nights in September 2016. The hostel has tonnes to do when the surf is bad... free kayaks, hot tub, guitars, board games, baking box. There were a fair few longtermers while I was there which I think added to the family feel of the place. It was easy to start up a conversation and join in with everyone.
The glow worm canyoning trip was one of the highlights of my NZ travels. Would definitely recommend to my friends

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Only stayed for a night but was made to feel very welcome and shown around the place on arrival. They have a variety of rooms depending on budget all of them clean and modern from what I could see. Nice courtyard/chillout area which was closed from 9pm so people who wanted to could sleep, a good rule in my opinion. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theseapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews