We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
111
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayakshot tublaid backpizza ovenawesome staffnew zealandclean roomspost surfsurf board hiremy partnersurfing lessonsgreat place to stayhammockssaunahostelsocialvibe
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Only stayed for a night but was made to feel very welcome and shown around the place on arrival. They have a variety of rooms depending on budget all of them clean and modern from what I could see. Nice courtyard/chillout area which was closed from 9pm so people who wanted to could sleep, a good rule in my opinion. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theseapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Really loved this place! Been to quite a few hostels and this has to be my favourite. Really nice building with a beautiful little courtyard with hammocks and a swinging chair. We weren't in the main building we were in the other one and it was lovely, great, clean facilities, really nicely furnished, comfy beds, and a log burning stove! It was all so cosy and very homely. Staff were friendly as were the people in the hostel. Free hot tub, sauna, kayaks free to hire, arts and crafts cupboard, supping boards and surf boards and kit to hire for reasonable prices. And a lot of it done with environmental consideration which is always good to see. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TBall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I've been staying here for a week and it is the best hostel I've stayed in NZ. Very nice staff, proper surfing vibes and the owner is a hero. Stating to pick up my surfing game now. Come to raglan and stay here it's the best place in NZ I've been to!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Central location, very close to the sea and estuary. Staff and 'long termers' are all very friendly. They also have a hot tub and sauna and hammocks. There is no wifi so it makes guests social - the local library is a short 2 minute walk with free wifi. The chill room has a fantastic view of the sleeping lady mountain. The i-Site is also a short walk from the hostel. Accommodation prices were a lot cheaper than I expected too.

Room Tip: Central location - cheaper rooms
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Raglan Backpackers has everything you need to get the most out of your visit while in Raglan. Amazing location, incredible views and only meters from cafes and shops. Fantastic facilities, sauna, spa pool, comfy beds, great prices, and really clean.
You can hire surfboards, paddle boards, wetsuits, kayaks and bikes. And Raglan has the best surf I've ever seen and gorgeous beaches too. Wish we could have stayed longer. Super friendly owners Tim and Suz and Kieran was really helpful.

Room Tip: The waterfront lodge is my favourite, especially the share room upstairs with amazing views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopewellLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews