We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in NZ so far...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in NZ so far...”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I stopped at Raglan hostel for 5 nights in September 2016. The hostel has tonnes to do when the surf is bad... free kayaks, hot tub, guitars, board games, baking box. There were a fair few longtermers while I was there which I think added to the family feel of the place. It was easy to start up a conversation and join in with everyone.
The glow worm canyoning trip was one of the highlights of my NZ travels. Would definitely recommend to my friends

Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
35
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Only stayed for a night but was made to feel very welcome and shown around the place on arrival. They have a variety of rooms depending on budget all of them clean and modern from what I could see. Nice courtyard/chillout area which was closed from 9pm so people who wanted to could sleep, a good rule in my opinion. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theseapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Really loved this place! Been to quite a few hostels and this has to be my favourite. Really nice building with a beautiful little courtyard with hammocks and a swinging chair. We weren't in the main building we were in the other one and it was lovely, great, clean facilities, really nicely furnished, comfy beds, and a log burning stove! It was all so cosy and very homely. Staff were friendly as were the people in the hostel. Free hot tub, sauna, kayaks free to hire, arts and crafts cupboard, supping boards and surf boards and kit to hire for reasonable prices. And a lot of it done with environmental consideration which is always good to see. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TBall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I've been staying here for a week and it is the best hostel I've stayed in NZ. Very nice staff, proper surfing vibes and the owner is a hero. Stating to pick up my surfing game now. Come to raglan and stay here it's the best place in NZ I've been to!

Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Central location, very close to the sea and estuary. Staff and 'long termers' are all very friendly. They also have a hot tub and sauna and hammocks. There is no wifi so it makes guests social - the local library is a short 2 minute walk with free wifi. The chill room has a fantastic view of the sleeping lady mountain. The i-Site is also a short walk from the hostel. Accommodation prices were a lot cheaper than I expected too.

Room Tip: Central location - cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raglan hotels
0.1 km away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
1.1 km away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
0.5 km away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
10.7 km away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
6.6 km away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge

Property: Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge
Address: 6 Wi Neera Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Raglan
Price range (per night): $27 - $103
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raglan Backpackers hostel New Zealand is located on the water's edge of Raglan's beautiful harbour, looking out across the water to Mt Karioi. Purpose-built accommodation for your comfort and security, we take pride in our clean facilities, friendly atmosphere, surfing knowledge and helpful staff. All rooms open onto a private central courtyard garden, where you can relax in a hammock or enjoy the hot tub. The living room and dining area open onto the grass lawn which is absolute waterfront.AS a guest you have free use of our mountain bikes, kayaks, sauna and spa pool. We have also have a full range of surf boards for hire, with transport to the surf beach (5 min drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing