We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast(Raglan)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raglan Sunset Motel(Raglan)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waoku Lodge(Raglan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
110
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayakshot tublaid backnew zealandthe kitchenpizza ovenboard gamesfree wifiawesome staffsurf boardsfantastic atmosphereclean roomsliving roomhome away from homenice courtyardmy partnersurfing lessons
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Raglan Backpackers has everything you need to get the most out of your visit while in Raglan. Amazing location, incredible views and only meters from cafes and shops. Fantastic facilities, sauna, spa pool, comfy beds, great prices, and really clean.
You can hire surfboards, paddle boards, wetsuits, kayaks and bikes. And Raglan has the best surf I've ever seen and gorgeous beaches too. Wish we could have stayed longer. Super friendly owners Tim and Suz and Kieran was really helpful.

Room Tip: The waterfront lodge is my favourite, especially the share room upstairs with amazing views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopewellLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Such a cool little place!
Rentals for surfboards, wetsuits, paddle boards, kayaks, and a surd car to borrow to drive down to Ngaranui beach.
There's a hot tub and a sauna on site that are just perfect!
Good kitchen area, 2 ovens, and a pizza oven.
No WiFi in the hostel so everyone is sociable - good living space for games and chats, reading, guitar playing (there are 5 or so!) - but there are 2 computers if you need to go online/WiFi :)
The twin rooms and double rooms (we stayed in both) are spacious, clean and have floor length curtains, lamps & electric blankets in the twin rooms.
The hostel gets cheaper yoga classes, they do quiz nights, home made pizza nights and film nights, a really great touch, makes it more personable.
Such a great place in a nice little town, would definitely recommend it to everybody.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I arrived in Raglan and was pretty soon disappointed over how empty the town was during winter and the weather wasn't great. But then I was lucky enough to stumble upon this hostel. Having been disappointed earlier about how anti-social a lot of people were in NZ hostels I finally found this personal, cozy place where people actually enjoyed talking to new people. And the staff interacted with the guests a lot which made it even more enjoyable. And even though the weather was bad I stayed longer than planned thanks the wonderful people that made this hostel into such a great experience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank escaperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

All the staff were so friendly especially Humphrey, and it makes a huge difference to the atmosphere of the place, people were social and it was easy to meet others. They had evening activities planned and we took part in a great quiz and a pizza night. We were so impressed, and could have easily stayed longer. The place is kept so clean and it's got a homely feeling. You can tell it's well looked after and that the owners and staff really care about the place. To top it all off, it's in a great location! I really have nothing bad to say.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg-NZmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Raglan BB was like a home for us, we spent 2 nights and it was really hard to leave, cause we felt like being there for a long time. The people are really lovely, friendly and positive. We met some nice guys and you feel the good vibes
Eg.: the kitchen was clean eventough used by everyone
Thänx for the good time, we're gonna miss u, Matzi and Evelyn

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews