We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to hang out with great company.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Raglan Backpackers has everything you need to get the most out of your visit while in Raglan. Amazing location, incredible views and only meters from cafes and shops. Fantastic facilities, sauna, spa pool, comfy beds, great prices, and really clean.
You can hire surfboards, paddle boards, wetsuits, kayaks and bikes. And Raglan has the best surf I've ever seen and gorgeous beaches too. Wish we could have stayed longer. Super friendly owners Tim and Suz and Kieran was really helpful.

Room Tip: The waterfront lodge is my favourite, especially the share room upstairs with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopewellLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Such a cool little place!
Rentals for surfboards, wetsuits, paddle boards, kayaks, and a surd car to borrow to drive down to Ngaranui beach.
There's a hot tub and a sauna on site that are just perfect!
Good kitchen area, 2 ovens, and a pizza oven.
No WiFi in the hostel so everyone is sociable - good living space for games and chats, reading, guitar playing (there are 5 or so!) - but there are 2 computers if you need to go online/WiFi :)
The twin rooms and double rooms (we stayed in both) are spacious, clean and have floor length curtains, lamps & electric blankets in the twin rooms.
The hostel gets cheaper yoga classes, they do quiz nights, home made pizza nights and film nights, a really great touch, makes it more personable.
Such a great place in a nice little town, would definitely recommend it to everybody.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I arrived in Raglan and was pretty soon disappointed over how empty the town was during winter and the weather wasn't great. But then I was lucky enough to stumble upon this hostel. Having been disappointed earlier about how anti-social a lot of people were in NZ hostels I finally found this personal, cozy place where people actually enjoyed talking to new people. And the staff interacted with the guests a lot which made it even more enjoyable. And even though the weather was bad I stayed longer than planned thanks the wonderful people that made this hostel into such a great experience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank escaperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

All the staff were so friendly especially Humphrey, and it makes a huge difference to the atmosphere of the place, people were social and it was easy to meet others. They had evening activities planned and we took part in a great quiz and a pizza night. We were so impressed, and could have easily stayed longer. The place is kept so clean and it's got a homely feeling. You can tell it's well looked after and that the owners and staff really care about the place. To top it all off, it's in a great location! I really have nothing bad to say.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg-NZmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Raglan BB was like a home for us, we spent 2 nights and it was really hard to leave, cause we felt like being there for a long time. The people are really lovely, friendly and positive. We met some nice guys and you feel the good vibes
Eg.: the kitchen was clean eventough used by everyone
Thänx for the good time, we're gonna miss u, Matzi and Evelyn

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raglan hotels
0.6 km away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
1.0 km away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
0.1 km away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
6.6 km away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#2 of 11 in Raglan
236 reviews
10.7 km away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge

Address: 6 Wi Neera Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Raglan
Price Range: $28 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raglan Backpackers hostel New Zealand is located on the water's edge of Raglan's beautiful harbour, looking out across the water to Mt Karioi. Purpose-built accommodation for your comfort and security, we take pride in our clean facilities, friendly atmosphere, surfing knowledge and helpful staff. All rooms open onto a private central courtyard garden, where you can relax in a hammock or enjoy the hot tub. The living room and dining area open onto the grass lawn which is absolute waterfront.AS a guest you have free use of our mountain bikes, kayaks, sauna and spa pool. We have also have a full range of surf boards for hire, with transport to the surf beach (5 min drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing