We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
57
38
17
18
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
38
17
18
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner wilderness trail keep an open mind thanks mike enjoy the experience wholesome food interesting stay sunny deck long ride hot shower entertaining host e bikes toast and spreads guests staying cold beer wood pigeon torrential rain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2023

What a great spot we rode in from Hokitika into a wonderful welcome from Mike with a few laughs. Fantastic accomodation with awesome hot shower. Cold drinks on the deck watching the sun go down followed by an awesome meal with 2nds. Great stories and Banter Mike has his views but don’t he afraid to express yours. Remember everyone has a back ground story if you get to hear Mikes it worth a listen. He’s a legend in the area and I bet he has a heart of gold just give him a chance. Would have loved to stay another night.Felt safe and secure do you really need wifi and power after 10am of course not in fact it was great to be off the grid for 24 hours.Highly recommend will be back one day.

Room tip: Don’t miss this
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023 via mobile

This is our third stop over at cowboys.comfortable, well presented motel style accommodation for 2-4 people. Legendary roast dinner with lamb chicken and 9 veg.- with seconds !
The saloon is rustic with magnificent views on a sunny deck looking down the arahura valley. A comprehensive continental breakfast sets you up for the ride.
Some of the tour operators are doing their best not to accommodate drop offs and picks ups, so we carried our kit for the overnight stop. Why drive an hour back to hokitika when you can relax on the deck with a cold beer and exchange experiences with other riders?
You might not agree with mike’s political views but he is is up for a robust debate.

Room tip: Bring a head torch or kindle as the generator goes off at 10
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank hop1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2023

We stopped at this establishment during a day ride on the Wilderness Trail as we'd been told we could get a coffee there. The place was all locked up and as we stopped, a "gentleman" came out of a side door and told us brusquely that the place was closed and to move on to the toilets and picnic area down the track aways. So we did, stopping at the end of the building to look down the valley, to be yelled at and told to move on, go away. We did!
We met another cyclist shortly after who declared he was the rudest man she had ever met as , when she stopped to chat with him, he ranted and raved about his very right wing view of the world.
Our advice is to leave this place off your itinerary if what we were greeted with is any indication of the place.

Room tip: Good luck!
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

Cowboys Paradise is well worth making an overnight stop if you are biking the West Coast Wilderness Trail. Mike the owner/host could not have been more helpful and provided an excellent all we could eat dinner (which he cooked) at a very reasonable cost.
The room was comfortable and we were able to charge our e-bikes.
We understand some wilderness trail organisers/transport providers actively discourage their clients from staying at Cowboys. If so we think this takes away from the whole trail experience. Yes Mike has strong opinions on many things which you may not agree with but go with the flow and enjoy the experience and his knowledge of the local area.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davepJ2142WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2022

We stayed one night with Mike at Cowboy Paradise on our way along the West Coast Wilderness cycleway. Mike was, at first, a bit gruff, but after some conversation, proved to be an interesting and engaging host. Mike is quite interested in US politics, so a stay is a good chance to catch up on the latest right-wing conspiracies. While we are at opposite ends of the political spectrum, I have to say that my partner and I enjoyed his company and were intrigued by his perspective.
The hotel is along perhaps the most beautiful part of the cycleway, with magical moss-covered forests, deep gorges and a spectacular view from saloon deck. Our host runs no stock and does his best to keep hunters away, so the land around the hotel is quite natural. We were glad we didn't miss this part of the cycleway.

Room tip: Power goes off at night. Rooms are small with few places to hang clothes or store things. Meals were ample and good.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews