We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paul K
Christchurch, New Zealand
Just keep riding!
Review of Cowboy Paradise
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2023
We stopped at this establishment during a day ride on the Wilderness Trail as we'd been told we could get a coffee there. The place was all locked up and as we stopped, a "gentleman" came out of a side door and told us brusquely that the place was closed and to move on to the toilets and picnic area down the track aways. So we did, stopping at the end of the building to look down the valley, to be yelled at and told to move on, go away. We did!
We met another cyclist shortly after who declared he was the rudest man she had ever met as , when she stopped to chat with him, he ranted and raved about his very right wing view of the world.
Our advice is to leave this place off your itinerary if what we were greeted with is any indication of the place.
Date of stay: February 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Tripadvisor
$455
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
25.1 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$98
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.2 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
52.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.3 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spectacular Alpine Vista from a Mountain View Room
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
22.1 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.3 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Lake Kaniere
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner wilderness trail keep an open mind thanks mike enjoy the experience wholesome food interesting stay sunny deck long ride hot shower entertaining host e bikes toast and spreads guests staying cold beer wood pigeon torrential rain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2023

Cowboys Paradise is well worth making an overnight stop if you are biking the West Coast Wilderness Trail. Mike the owner/host could not have been more helpful and provided an excellent all we could eat dinner (which he cooked) at a very reasonable cost.
The room was comfortable and we were able to charge our e-bikes.
We understand some wilderness trail organisers/transport providers actively discourage their clients from staying at Cowboys. If so we think this takes away from the whole trail experience. Yes Mike has strong opinions on many things which you may not agree with but go with the flow and enjoy the experience and his knowledge of the local area.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davepJ2142WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2022

We stayed one night with Mike at Cowboy Paradise on our way along the West Coast Wilderness cycleway. Mike was, at first, a bit gruff, but after some conversation, proved to be an interesting and engaging host. Mike is quite interested in US politics, so a stay is a good chance to catch up on the latest right-wing conspiracies. While we are at opposite ends of the political spectrum, I have to say that my partner and I enjoyed his company and were intrigued by his perspective.
The hotel is along perhaps the most beautiful part of the cycleway, with magical moss-covered forests, deep gorges and a spectacular view from saloon deck. Our host runs no stock and does his best to keep hunters away, so the land around the hotel is quite natural. We were glad we didn't miss this part of the cycleway.

Room tip: Power goes off at night. Rooms are small with few places to hang clothes or store things. Meals were ample and good.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2022 via mobile

Good accommodation and meal at night. Please have an open mind when you stay there. It is an an experience. Good breakfast but unfortunately no lunch for next day was available. Good for a group. Owner is somewhat different but harmless. 5 of us stayed and we did enjoy our stay

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lynnejgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

My husband and I rode into Cowboy Paradise from Kumaru arriving late afternoon with the sun shining.Location is just beautiful,peaceful ,quiet with stunning views down the valley from the saloon deck.
We were politely welcomed by Mike and shown our cabin which was clean comfortable warm with plenty of hot water ,all that we required for a comfy stay. Take a head torch if you get up during the night as the generator is turned off around 1015 for the night,back on around 0700 in the morning.
We were the only 2 staying the night yet Mike cooked us a roast dinner with chicken , lamb and 9 different vegetables really delicious and plentiful for second helping.
Mike was an amusing, delighful host,yes he probably sings from a different song sheet then most hospitality managers but I like difference , diversity and country music.
Breakfast at 0800 was a good range of cereals, fruit ,yoghrt ,toast and spreads to see us on our way.
Cowboy Paradise stay was a highlight for us along the Wilderness Trail.
All the best for the future Mike

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seabird7281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022 via mobile

My husband and I cycled from Kumara into Cowboys paradise arriving around 4.30pm, we were greeted by mike and shown to our room which was warm and clean and had a nice hot shower! We were the only guests staying this evening - we had a sunset beer on the beautiful deck, Mike made us a lovely dinner and chatted with us for the evening. Breakfast was served at 8.30am and Mike gave us a spot on weather report and suggested we don’t muck around to ride into Hokitika as the rain was coming in!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kirstenmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews