We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tom p
Rotorua, New Zealand
Quite an interesting stay with a spectacular view
Review of Cowboy Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Dec 2022
We stayed one night with Mike at Cowboy Paradise on our way along the West Coast Wilderness cycleway. Mike was, at first, a bit gruff, but after some conversation, proved to be an interesting and engaging host. Mike is quite interested in US politics, so a stay is a good chance to catch up on the latest right-wing conspiracies. While we are at opposite ends of the political spectrum, I have to say that my partner and I enjoyed his company and were intrigued by his perspective.
The hotel is along perhaps the most beautiful part of the cycleway, with magical moss-covered forests, deep gorges and a spectacular view from saloon deck. Our host runs no stock and does his best to keep hunters away, so the land around the hotel is quite natural. We were glad we didn't miss this part of the cycleway.
Date of stay: December 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Kokitika Gorge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
25.1 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.2 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
52.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.3 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spectacular Alpine Vista from a Mountain View Room
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
22.1 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.3 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Lake Kaniere
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner wilderness trail keep an open mind thanks mike enjoy the experience wholesome food interesting stay sunny deck long ride hot shower entertaining host e bikes toast and spreads guests staying cold beer wood pigeon torrential rain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2022 via mobile

Good accommodation and meal at night. Please have an open mind when you stay there. It is an an experience. Good breakfast but unfortunately no lunch for next day was available. Good for a group. Owner is somewhat different but harmless. 5 of us stayed and we did enjoy our stay

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lynnejgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

My husband and I rode into Cowboy Paradise from Kumaru arriving late afternoon with the sun shining.Location is just beautiful,peaceful ,quiet with stunning views down the valley from the saloon deck.
We were politely welcomed by Mike and shown our cabin which was clean comfortable warm with plenty of hot water ,all that we required for a comfy stay. Take a head torch if you get up during the night as the generator is turned off around 1015 for the night,back on around 0700 in the morning.
We were the only 2 staying the night yet Mike cooked us a roast dinner with chicken , lamb and 9 different vegetables really delicious and plentiful for second helping.
Mike was an amusing, delighful host,yes he probably sings from a different song sheet then most hospitality managers but I like difference , diversity and country music.
Breakfast at 0800 was a good range of cereals, fruit ,yoghrt ,toast and spreads to see us on our way.
Cowboy Paradise stay was a highlight for us along the Wilderness Trail.
All the best for the future Mike

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seabird7281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022 via mobile

My husband and I cycled from Kumara into Cowboys paradise arriving around 4.30pm, we were greeted by mike and shown to our room which was warm and clean and had a nice hot shower! We were the only guests staying this evening - we had a sunset beer on the beautiful deck, Mike made us a lovely dinner and chatted with us for the evening. Breakfast was served at 8.30am and Mike gave us a spot on weather report and suggested we don’t muck around to ride into Hokitika as the rain was coming in!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kirstenmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

Wife and I rode from Kumara to Hokitika on a Friday and we thought we would try for a coffee at Cowboys Paradise although we knew the background to the owner and the reviews, we didnt know what the reception would be like . There was plenty of signage placed by the owner in the approaches and on arrival we found there appeared to be nobody there. We stopped outside the main saloon and looked through the windows at the dancing poles, pro Trump stuff and confederate flags on the walls as there was a sign on the door " Closed , back in 30mins" We decided to sit outside and have our lunch break when the owner came out of an adjacent building, slamming the door and then proceeded to enter and leave various doors in the main building and adjacent building slamming doors and stomping along the deck. My wife greeted him but there was no acknowledgement. Over about 10 mins he made it clear we weren't welcome but he didn't say a word, possibly because my wife had a chest mounted Go Pro camera. We decided to move on and have our lunch elsewhere. I guess disappointing but not surprised. The owner needs to decide whether he wants customers or not because nobody knows what his mood will be.

Room tip: Not a place I would recommend to stay at.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GrantT372
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2022

We arrived mid afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Mike. We were the only 2 there for the night and Mike put on a wonderful roast dinner. We sat and chatted with Mike our on the deck. In the morning breakfast was served at 8am. Mike then made us a ham & salad sandwich and packed it with a fresh muffin for our lunch on the trail.
Altogether a wonderful night's stay. Bed was comfortable and shower was great. Mike could not have been more obliging. Thanks Mike for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank 714raewyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews