We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mick g

Rip off don't stay

Review of Cowboy Paradise
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2018
i was told $35 for single room it had no power connected it stunk also $30 for dinner approx $15 for breakfast and i got a Can of coke Mike charged me $95 total
35+15+ 30 can coke $3-5= $85 max it was only worth $70 including food
Mike is rip off merchant this place should be shut down no wonder he has so many bad reviews
funny enough the Food was good No receipts given just a TAb system
Date of stay: March 2018
Room Tip: Go else where give this one a miss ITS CRAP the worst place i have visited
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Kokitika Gorge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
25.1 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
26.0 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
26.0 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
25.2 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
52.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.3 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spectacular Alpine Vista from a Mountain View Room
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lake Kaniere
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner wilderness trail keep an open mind thanks mike enjoy the experience wholesome food interesting stay sunny deck long ride hot shower entertaining host e bikes toast and spreads guests staying cold beer wood pigeon torrential rain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

First experience of Mike was a lot of "f" ing! Best not charge your e bike here! Apparently its not welcome! No keys were given for the rooms and the rooms were entered while we were out and phone chargers turned off. Generator turned off at night and turned back on at 7.15am. Too bad if you need a light during the night or an early morning start! The owner stays elsewhere! A very rude man and should not be in hospitality. Do not stay here, give your money to someone who deserves it.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gk1_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Great amenities, except when the power was cut off from just after dinner until early in morning. When Mike drives off to stay at his house, he turns off the generator as he departs and this leaves you powerless. It would be nice to know this prior as the hot showers etc will not work without electricity and your now in your dark room unable to even charge your phones or have a light on to read.
The rooms were nice and looked clean, except for the moldy ceilings in the bath room and other peoples left over bits and pieces under the beds that made me wonder how clean it really was. There were no supplied door keys to lock up our valuables and during the night with the windows shut made the rooms unbearably stuffy, so they had to be left open and any valuables at risk.
Paying for a Roast dinner and getting roasted chicken legs and roasted chops, is far from the delicious roast as promised. To be fair the veggies were nicely cooked.
The accommodation as booked was re negotiated at our expense and then the agreed amount changed to more money again when we made the payment.
Some of our group, chose not to order the roast meal offer and they were promptly told to not enter the bar dining area. So they could not access drinks or sit on the outside deck area.
Overall Mike made nearly all of our group, wish we had chosen to stay elsewhere.
I honestly can not rate this place higher than one star which is a shame as the views are beautiful from the toilet windows.
As it takes a long drive to get there on up rough tracks that require re surfacing, I cannot rate the location as great, as there is nothing to do when the power is turned off and no where to go.
Very expensive compared to staying by the coast in a hotel, that has both a restaurant, local shops and electricity. Stay away from this place.

Room tip: Bring your own generator, a torch and a few cans of bug spray.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Promised a lot delivered ok. Small cabins, well built, great shower, comfortable bed. Great hospitality nice meal, so so atmosphere reminded me a little of school dining room, we all ate together at long tables. New staff not great chefs, but meal was ok. Views are amazing, the only place to stay if you don’t want to ride 60k. Very expensive.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hellfire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Our group of local kids called in for lunch and some shooting at the range today as a birthday treat, but it all took a sour turn when the first group of four arrived at the saloon and skidded to a halt. The owner came out and told them that they were all ba$^%$ds and they couldn't shoot any more. We arrived about 25 seconds later to sobs and after some discussion about respecting others property and needing to say sorry they would not come into the saloon for lunch as we promised them. I went to speak to the owner to confirm what was said and he told me that they had pi^%ed him off and he hadn't made his mind up about the shooting yet. He had spent over $10 000 on getting his part of the cycle trail up to standard and he didn't need brats (like our kids) ruining it. So we left without the $200 contribution we would have made to help him with the upkeep.
Honestly, this guy is in the wrong business, and seems to have studied hospitality with Basil Fawlty.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Taffyonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We arrived wet and tired after the ride up from Kumara, and it was great to take off our wet gear and get into our cabins and the the hot showers. We were made welcome in the large bar/restaurant, and enjoyed many free drinks of milo/tea/coffee as we played board games until the delicious buffet meal arrived. The cabins were very comfortable, and we woke refreshed for our ride down to Hokitika. The prices may seem high, but to set up and operate this establishment in this remote location has taken a lot, and it's good value, and a great part of the Cycle Trail experience

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DickL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews