We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Patti R
New Zealand

YEE HAW! A highlight of the West Coast Wilderness Trail

Review of Cowboy Paradise
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2017
You may get mixed reviews of Cowboy Paradise before you you go, but I can assure you that if you go with the flow, put on a hat and realise that this is the only show in town, you are in for a treat. The rooms are clean and comfortable - comfy bed, hot showers, and even a hair dryer! The communal roast dinner was delicious and plentiful. The extensive bar was open and accommodated every request. Land owner, Mike Milne, was a trip in himself. His eccentric manner and passionate vision made Cowboy Paradise a highlight of our trip. Keep an open mind, have a wine, put on a hat and get in the cowboy spirit. I hope all Mike's visions come true!
Date of stay: February 2017
Room Tip: Three ensuite rooms that sleep 4 - all the same - 2 bunks and a double.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Kokitika Gorge
Tripadvisor
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.1 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$98
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
25.2 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
26.0 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Tripadvisor
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
26.0 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
52.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.3 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
25.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
21.4 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spectacular Alpine Vista from a Mountain View Room
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.8 km from Cowboy Paradise
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lake Kaniere
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
40
17
18
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner wilderness trail keep an open mind thanks mike enjoy the experience wholesome food interesting stay sunny deck long ride hot shower entertaining host e bikes toast and spreads guests staying cold beer wood pigeon torrential rain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Cowboys Paradise is a dream which is still developing, and its great to be part of the experience. The ensuite cabins are well appointed, very warm and the beds comfortable. The evening meal was plentiful and filling wholesome food.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jocescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We were a party of 25 - taking up all the rooms - even those that were still unfinished! For those in the new suites all was good with their ensuites, carpeted floors, etc - the rest if us did ok but had to go outside to use the communal ablution block as our rooms had yet to be visited by a plumber.

Still no one complained because we all got a good nights sleep after a traditional kiwi feed and plenty of beer and wine - next mornings continel breakfast at 9 was good - plenty of food for everyone.

Worth another visit in a few years once the cash flow allows them to complete the building and it stops looking like a building sute.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Good stuff: views to die for, a comfy bed, a roof over my head during torrential rain, and a hearty, tasty meal which was very welcome and appreciated after a day of biking. All those basics were done well and that's what counted for me. Andrea, a young German woman was clearly keeping the show on the road and was doing a very good job and working very hard to do so.

Things to know: expect what is essentially a construction site. Lots of things are half finished. Aesthetics are not attended to or a priority and building materials are scattered around the site, which is in a stunning location. I would have faced the cabins in the other direction so the verandah looked out over the valley / lovely views. Instead they look into the street and a shooting range!

The location of Cowboy Paradise makes it an ideal spot to stop and I would not hesitate to stay again to see how progress is going. But book early to secure accommodation and keep your expectations realistic. It's rough around the edges.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed staying at Cowboy Paradise, the room comprised of bunks and a queen bed which was very comfortable and clean. Ensuite bathroom with great hot shower. The main room with bar, kitchens and dining area is still to be finished but there was complimentary tea and coffee available. We had the most amazing roast meal, better than any restaurant and certainly plenty of food. This place is full of potential and once building work is finished will be great.
SM

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 119sallym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed here during the Wilderness Trail. We had the separate modern rooms which were tidy and comfortable. (more are being built) The main lodge was under renovation so the facilities were rustic. Do not expect the Hilton, this is a work in progress or an 'evolution' as Mike aptly describes it. I will be coming back in a couple of years to see how it went but I am sure it will still have that typical Coaster charm. If you don't mind a bit of 'roughing it' then you will fit in well. Mike and girls are great hosts and will look after you well. The meal was good honest Kiwi fare. We were given the option of paying the account by internet transfer but ended up paying cash because we had done the research and bought plenty. The packed lunch we bought for trip to Kumara was yummy.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 816tonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews