We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
28
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake atitlan detox doran teacher soul inspiring beauty views
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

The place is amazing. It is really calm, quiet and has a lots of space to relax and chill. The meals are vegetarian, healthy and really delicious. Every meal was delicious and well prepared. You taste, that Doron loves to cook. He also pays a lot of attention to the needs of his guests. We were really happy about the outdoor showers (we had a shared room), because the whole day we could take a shower with HOT water! The toilets, showers and rooms were also very clean.
The location of the Center was also perfect for us. You just have to walk 5 min to the lake. San Marcos is just a 15 min Tuk Tuk or 5 min boat ride away. Also San Pedro is just a 10 to 15 min boat ride away. So my boyfriend and I enjoyed to explore San Marcos and San Pedro for a couple of hours and coming back to Dorons Center to have a relaxed and quiet time.
I wanted to do some Yoga and started to visit Dorons classes. They were amazing. I felt challenged but at the same way supported and safe. He pays a lot of attention to the level of his students and adapt every class to his students. My boyfriend was a absolute beginner (he never has visited a yoga class before) and learned a lot of postures in Dorons classes. I am looking forward to come back and deepen my yoga and meditation practice at his place.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron H, Manager at Doron Yoga & Zen Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hey Tina,
It was a joy to have you and Toby here for over 4 weeks. What a great amount of time to fully integrate into this space and all it has to offer. You both provided such great company, your time here will always be remembered by the Doron Yoga and Zen Center. We look forward to seeing you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days (was hard to leave) -- the food is just wow --- the yoga studio beyond description -- Doran a masterful teacher in life and yoga
We also had a great massage in a beautiful little massage room
Also, we befriended a wonderful women from Germany

6 Stars

Room Tip: They are good from what we saw and heard from other quests
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron H, Manager at Doron Yoga & Zen Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Apologies for the delay in responding Bill. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and want to thank you so much for your kind words. Hopefully, we will see you again as our beautiful home continues to expand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

I have stayed here over a week and really enjoyed the daily yoga, mediatation and tasty vegetarian food. It is a great place to relax and rest for a few days. I personally came for a break from backpacking and it has been such a breath of fresh air. Most of the food is picked from the garden daily and it is so tasty.

The rooms are comfortable and the showers are hot. There are two friendly cats and dogs to play with as well as a full shelf of books and fast Wifi. The views are incredible, especially when you are enjoying a yoga class.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aoifebrophy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron H, Manager at Doron Yoga & Zen Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you, Aoife for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again in July for Teacher training!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

This place is such a nice getaway, I wish I had more time. Great people, great food straight from the garden and such a nice place. Yoga and meditation sessions are held in a great building with lakeview. A big thank you to Doron and his crew.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron H, Owner at Doron Yoga & Zen Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hey Robin,

We wish you had more time with us as well! Thank you for joining in for meditation, pranayama and yoga. Blessings on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

This place is amazing, whether you are looking for a hub to explore Lake Atitlan, to retreat from the hustle and bustle of modern day living, or embarking on a journey into the heart of Yoga and Zen, or all three -- which was definitely my intention -- The Doron Yoga and Zen Centre will not just accommodate, but without doubt, surpass any expectation. Nestled amidst the traditional Mayan Village of Tzunana, It boasts an incredible Yoga Shala with breath taking views of the lake and its many active volcanos’. Brand new, immaculately clean wooden cabins with Chic décor and cosy beds draped in typical Guatemalan woven blankets house the guests; and the warm open air showers deliver the perfect beginning and end to tranquil days which always end too soon. There is an open air chill out and dining area where you can sip yummy homemade kamboucha and nibble on delicious homemade healthy treats, or just lay in a hammock surrounded by nature, spell bound by the incredible view of the lake or lost in a book on Yoga or philosophy from the small but impressive library.
The centre, made up of beautiful wooden and bamboo structures has been lovingly built with care, for the land it was built on and its inhabitants: beautiful flowers and fruit trees and the river that runs through it; Doron works the land with permaculture principles, so from freshly prepared meals made from organic fruits and vegetables picked from the land, to lying on a hammock tied to a beautiful old tree or taking a dip in the fresh water river , you will be thoroughly immersed in nature, life outside of the centre will feel like a distant memory.
An experience not to be missed, the centre offers morning meditation, Saturday morning is a group silent trek to the local waterfall and Wednesday offers a movement mediation where you can shake, jump and dance the world away. There’s Yoga every day except Sunday and the classes offer amazing hands on assist and instruction which is guaranteed to get you into at least one pose you haven’t even dared to try… side crow really is for everyone. ;-) Dorons flexitarian approach is a much needed addition to modern day living and spiritual practice. The Yoga is first class and Doron has an immeasurable passion for it, which shines through with infectious enthusiasm; you are guaranteed to be hooked on Yoga, on meditation and all the other wonderful practices the centre offers, whether a new or experienced practitioner, you will leave with a strong practise and who knows, you might just find yourself so inspired you’ll want to stay and do teacher training with Doron. I did, but that experience deserves a review of its own. 

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lifeisamenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron_Yoga, Owner at Doron Yoga & Zen Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Apologies for the delay in responding to that beautiful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and teacher training. We hope that you are continuing to practice your side crow and have continued to develop your practice as a student and teacher.
Don't forget that there is a youtube channel with full classes, tips, and tricks should you want a little refresher, just search for Doron Yoga. Thank you for putting such time and effort into writing that review. Namaste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews