We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
14
14
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
14
10
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Initial impression of Vatai Beach Eco Lodge is that it needs a lot of work to upgrade, but the price reflects this. Currently they have a good cook and the fresh fish with garlic sauce is fantastic. Hut style accommodation with shared toilets and cold showers. Great spot to lounge in hammocks, and the best is the access 2 km+ by boat, to the coral reef for snorkeling at a reasonable price and our weekend bonus was heading out to the coral reef at night and swimming in a sandy lagoon while the local guy went off with a torch and spear gun looking for sharks. The night sky of stars, (minus the moon) was breathtakingly spectacular. Fish fly at night in the torch light with one landing in the boat!!. This is a gem spot that hopefully will get better if plans to tidy and upgrade come off but well worth the effort to get there especially in fabulous sunshine. Owner is very helpful organizing transport once you get to Ba or Tavua on the local bus.

Room tip: Accommodation basic with shared cold showers and toilets. Clean hut style accommodation with twin and double beds.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgates50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2017


“The road in is very rough, a rocky bush track for the last 2kms. The property is very basic with solar powered lights and cold bore water showers. It is not for people with physical disabilities as the paths and stair are very rough and uneven. We took the two units with ensuite bath rooms (3 adults and three children) extra bed $30 each per night was a foam mattress squeezed onto the floor, the second night we took an extra room which was $60 (no ensuite) which was a bit more comfy. Breakfast was included, and was excellent pancakes with fresh pawpaw/watermelon. Lunch and dinner meals were discussed and agreed on. Fish and potatoes with a tomato/carrot slaw and chicken curry and rice, tasty well cooked simple food. Do not expect a menu or choice. The grandkids loved it, table tennis, volley ball swimming and a fire on the beach. A real adventure. There was coolish beer, but only 4 stubbies because "the truck hadn't come" . Better next day when it did! Second night was cold, only a sheet and light throw so we were all cold most of the night. A great adventure for the young and fit. Not so good for elderly Nanas!”

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank PennitDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

I was lucky to experience this peaceful and amazing place. Yo have the beach in front of your rooms, clean water and activities to do as kayaking, paddlesurf, ping pong, art space, hammock, slikeline.
You will enjoy if you choose this place. The staff is so friendly and the food is delicious.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JuanaB168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

The experience Vatia beach eco-lodge is one of a kind and beyond comprehension and one that cannot fade from our mind. It's setting depicts the true meaning of the Fiji experience and Bula Spirit..... with its peaceful, charm, and simplicity signature.

In my capacity as a Fijian I highly recommend this awesome Eco-lodge to interested locals and especially to tourists and visitors to our Shores.

Thank you and vina'a va’alevu to the kind and industrious management and staff of Vatia beach eco-lodge.

Kind regards,
Spencer

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank snigel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

My adult daughter (24) and I (54) stayed here for 8 days and we LOVED it. This is NOT the place for you if you expect every amenity, but if your looking for the REAL Fiji, stay here! First off the staff is helpful, welcoming, and completely authentic Fijians. They made us feel like we were just one of the gang with no pretensions what-so-ever. The accommodations were basic but adequate for us. This is NOT a hotel, it's a beach with cabins and wonderful cooks who pay attention to what you like. We stayed in a basic cabin that had a toilet and shower, beds with bug nets, and that's it. As we were only in the cabins to sleep, it more than met our needs. Think camping with a roof. The beach was fantastic and really is the only one in the vicinity. We were lucky enough that we had the entire place to ourselves for several days and truly enjoyed every moment. Jumped in a volleyball game with staff, got things we liked to eat and lazed around in hammocks. The absolute only improvement we would suggest would be the addition of chairs outside of the cabins to sit in and a lounge chair or two. In the heat of the day it was sometimes difficult to find a spot to relax in the shade and a lounge chair would have made a nap easier. The instructions for getting there are on the money and part of the adventure we enjoyed. We were both very surprised that this establishment isn't over run with backpackers as it is the PERFECT place for those on a budget with a sense of adventure. Again the staff was spectacular. La, the manager can sing wonderfully (and play volleyball), Bill was SO helpful in so many ways, and Peter was incredibly attentive and diligent in his duties. It didn't matter who was cooking - we never went hungry and often got exactly what we asked for, They were replanting the garden which had been whipped out by a recent storm but still we had plenty of FRESH food. If you have the chance, go night fishing with a local fisherman - we loved it and the fish were biting! We just cannot express the wonderful time we had staying here and the overall experience the staff helped us have. Again though, this is for people who want the REAL Fiji not the tourist traps. We would positively stay here again and bring friends and more family too. To the staff, vanaka vaka lavu!! (I probably spelled it wrong but you know what I mean:)) Dreaming of coming back. Best wishes for your continued success! Sharon & Jessica

Room tip: You can't go wrong with whatever fits your budget, all choices would be acceptable.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews