We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
NORTHUMBRIAN HOSPITALITY AT IT`S BEST

My wife and I had a four night stay at The White Swan. We had a very comfortable room with a very... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2020
Spirite53
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Good home cooking, dog friendly inn

Lovely pub and a delicious meal. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was gorgeous and excellent... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2020
24suzannew
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
15
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
3
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2020

My wife and I had a four night stay at The White Swan. We had a very comfortable room with a very large shower. We had our own outside access and there was plenty of car parking. We had three enjoyable, tasty and good value evening meals there. There was a good choice for breakfast . The portions were very generous, especially the black pudding!
The best part of the stay was the friendliness of the staff, especially Duncan, who served us with breakfast three of the four mornings. We shall return!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Spirite53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Lovely pub and a delicious meal. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was gorgeous and excellent value.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank 24suzannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

This is a great bed and breakfast with tastefully decorated rooms and also the restaurant serves good and plentiful evening meals. The rooms are well equipped. It is definitely dog friendly with dogs being allowed in the breakfast area in the morning and in the bar at all other times. The evening meal can be taken in the bar so you can have your dog with you. Our 8 month old cocker spaniel certainly enjoyed meeting the other dogs in their.

The bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere with locals and guest alike.

The staff are friendly and attentive.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

I booked as a weekend treat for my partners birthday as we were spending the weekend. Lucy welcomed us into our room Friday afternoon and was a stellar hostess behind the bar as was Peter the chef who cooked our delicious meals. The room was lovely and comfortable we had everything we needed to make ourselves at home a lovely spacious bathroom too. Duncan our breakfast chef made us feel at ease and also cooked us a proper Northumbrian breakfast which lasted us most of the morning. He then asked about our day when we got back to the bar in the evening where Natalie the barmaid was also very friendly. We nipped back to our room before our day out on Holy Island and the cleaner was lovely polite and friendly. It's been a lovely first stay for us here visiting the north and we would definitely return to the White Swan Inn as it's a great location for things to do and see and overall the staff made our journey worthwhile thanks to everyone Bec & Rob Room no 4 :-)

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank bexmorgan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

We stayed for one night last week. Our room was basic but spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and a shower which worked well.

We ate typical pub meals in the restaurant and enjoyed our breakfasts. The bar had a good atmosphere with plenty of friendly locals.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Menna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews