We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
216
164
61
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
164
61
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brewery tour micro brewery the pub red letter brewed on site beer tasting steak and ale pie great beer brewing process real ale main bar cropton brewery beer garden overnight stay great yorkshire well worth a visit yorkshire pudding
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We stayed in Cottage 11 for the weekend of the 27th April as we had booked on the brewery tour ( which we highly recommend). Janet took us through the tour and was fantastically informative and made the experience very enjoyable. She is an absolute asset to this hotel, pleasant helpful and extremely friendly. Every hotel needs a Janet. It si however unfortunate and bitterley disappointing the same could not be said for other members of staff. We ate in the bar on the first night and ordered pork stroganoff...we had to send both plates back as the sauce was cold ( maybe using warmed plates would help!). The waiter was very apologetic and took the plates away, explaining it was a new menu!! On the first morning of our stay we were unable to have a shower as the mixer tap was stuck down hard and fast. We mentioned this to Helen in the bar , who simply said she couldnt get a plumber as they wouldnt answer on a Saturday!and could we use the bath ( my partner had had his hip replaced and finds this extremely difficult!) we tried to explain about the issue of just at least being able to wash our hair and asked if she had a jug we could use ... the best she could manage was a ice bucket!!! I cannot believe a whole premises such as this couldnt provide a jug ...I wouldnt say she was being unpleasant but she was extremely offhand and we got the impression it was too much bother to talk and discuss this with us. In the end my partner managed to loosen the mixer valve, but this was far from ideal. Janet mentioned on Sunday morning she had taken a look and had tried to remedy the issue.Up until then our stay was pleasant the cottage suite was lovely and we would have returned. Unfortunately her attitude put a total dampener on the weekend, and we will not now return. Its such a shame that alovely place like this has staff with this sort of attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danandolisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hello danandolisma

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We take all feedback seriously whether it be positive or negative.

We take pride in not only delivering a true, warm Yorkshire welcome but tasty, quality food, as should be expected in a traditional Moors inn.

Whilst we are unable to comment on cases before we have reviewed them in full. We will, however, look into your concerns and ensure that any failings on our behalf are rectified in full.

Sorry, we did not meet your expectations, we would, of course,​ welcome you back to the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

....having spent 2 nights here, sampled the locally produced beers and good food, and enjoyed the friendliness of every staff member it would be churlish to not give this place 5.
Its a country pub that does what it_does well.
We also did the brewery tour - I've been on a few and this one was the most enjoyable and informative I've been on. Its a micro brewery so doesn't take long but Janet knows her stuff and has an enthusiasm that is infectious.
We even woke up to the early morning call of a cuckoo - worth the extra star for me any day!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggersparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi raggersparkin

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting!

As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We will find the cuckoo and thank it for your early morning call ;-)

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in room 10 for 3 nights (dog friendly). Room was comfortable and very clean. The pub is just super - full of character with a great range of real ales. Food was excellent (breakfast and dinner). All staff made you welcome. So relaxing with lovely walks nearby. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Robin K

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Visited The New Inn as part of a groupon voucher, had a superb brewery tour which was very informative by Janet. The hour went so quick with so much information. Tom was very helpful and the food was excellent. Would recommend the steak pie! People around were trying the Yorkshire pudding wrap which they said was delicious two. The beer was excellent, great tasters plus a few extra! Designated driver recommended. Came away with two bottles too!
Would recommend the tour and food. Would visit again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank annieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi annieDoncaster

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay, very good brewery tour, fab food and drink with comfortable accommodation. Could take your dog which worried me but it was lovely and clean and great value for money. Not to be missed loved it!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank glentrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi glentrev

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews