We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Valley of Butterflies and Halki Day Tour
5

Book in advance
from
$122.62
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ancient Kamiros
from $122.62
More Info
from $537.02
More Info
from $80.55
More Info
from $89.50
More Info
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
631
389
95
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
631
389
95
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient city information boards well worth a visit preserved ruins coast road turkey entry fee walk around stunning views old town sea rhodes leaflet acropolis greeks athena hat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2024 via mobile

We intentionally visited as part of our self drive tour of the island and we were not disappointed.

There are a few areas with shade and there is lots of walking both up and down hill, some of which is quite steep. The pathways around the site are clearly marked. Suitable footwear is advised for the less stable surfaces.

It is amazing to see such history with your own eyes and we are very grateful for the recommendation to visit such a beautiful site.

Well worth the €6 per adult admission fee.

Recommend a visit

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

Veryimpressive hillside Town in beautiful setting with views over the coast. More could be done in terms of information and overlays to allow the visitor to picture how the Town might have looked, and functioned

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Lilacwheaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2024

Easy to find. Easy to park. Even if the ruins don't impress you, the scenery will. Take a stroll amongst the ancient streets of Rhodes' oldest greco/roman city and sit for a while enjoying the grasshoppers, birds and lizards as well as the forest and blue seas around you. We're fairly certain we saw an eagle too! It's an exposed hillside, so a hat and suncream are recommended. And it's a great compromise day out between the ruins and nearby beaches and tavernas. Well worth an hour or two and almost deserted on the several occassions we've visited over the years; if you're looking for a peaceful wander away from the bustle.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Fearless62645625884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2024

I didn't expect this. So vast. You truly get an impression of the evolution of the city. How the city was divided up. How people lived.

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Vincent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

Wow! We timed our visit perfectly. 5pm arrival in mid October meant that we had the place virtually to ourselves for the whole hour before closing time.
It was a fascinating experience - and abandoned town with layers of archeological sites surrounding us. The view out to sea is spectacular, but the stones, roads, pillars, houses are the real gems.
It is well laid out, with a series of steps, sensibly wide and solid, taking you up to the top of the site. It is a fairly easy climb. From there, you can walk down the main thoroughfare, taking in the sights on either side as you descend. At the lowest point you at the bath house, the forum and the sanctuary of the gods.
There is a cafe and toilets on site, though we did not use them. The €6 fee was very reasonable, and there was no charge for parking.
I think we chose the perfect time to visit!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank 30statesJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews