We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Valley of Butterflies and Halki Day Tour
5

Book in advance
from
$123.22
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ancient Kamiros
from $123.22
More Info
from $539.63
More Info
from $80.94
More Info
from $89.94
More Info
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
631
389
95
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
631
389
95
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient city information boards well worth a visit preserved ruins coast road turkey entry fee walk around stunning views old town sea rhodes leaflet acropolis greeks athena hat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Most tourists like Lindos and the beach, others prefer the Old Town and the shopping, but my absolutely favourite site on Rhodes, is Ancient Camiros. It is the only one of the 3 ancient cities (Lindos, Ialissos, Camiros) that was completely abandonned therefor, there are not any modern buildings that were built above. So you can get a very good idea of what the city was all about, explore the Agora, have a look at the baths and how they functioned, enjoy the exact same vies people were enjoying more than 2.000 years ago from their two storey houses with the " aithrion" (court yard, atrium) and walk up to where the Acropolis was following the same ancient street that used to lead there. There is not much left from the buildings of the Acropolis, but there is a unique archaic cistern, dating since at least the 6th century B.C. The top offers views to the surounding hills where there were several necropolis (ancient cemeteries) that were unfortunately looted in the 19th century by foreign missions..Most of the stolen artifacts are in the British Museum and some in the archeological museum of Rhodes.

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank RhodesMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2015

It was wonderful to see how an ancient Greek village was set out and the views were excellent. These were towards the coast of Turkey and, from the top of the ridge, looking down into a well wooded valley. Marvellous!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank David2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2014

The archeological ruins are amazing and so are the breathtaking views once you reach the top. Some of the most beautiful cliffs I have ever seen!

Visited August 2013.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank lizett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Sadly our car hire ended up taking a bit of time otherwise we would have loved to have arrived in the early morning - it was hot, hot, hot under the baking sun!

This place is incredible and well worth a wander around, I love imagining what life would have been like in the market, the houses/shops so visible along the main streets, and the ancient acropolis perched high on the hill overlooking the town. Definitely one of my favourite sites on Rhodes!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank ScotchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2014

This was my second visit here and I am dreaming of going back.
Incredible ancient place with lots to see.
Arrive early before the crowds and the hot sun so you can appreciate everything.
I simply can`t wait until it is further revealed...
Unmissable with picturesque views.
Not sure if it is great for buggies but is great history lesson for sure.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank IMTRIPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews