We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Valley of Butterflies and Halki Day Tour
5

Book in advance
from
$122.62
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ancient Kamiros
from $122.62
More Info
from $537.02
More Info
from $80.55
More Info
from $89.50
More Info
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
631
389
95
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
631
389
95
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient city information boards well worth a visit preserved ruins coast road turkey entry fee walk around stunning views old town sea rhodes leaflet acropolis greeks athena hat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This is one of the most interesting cities I have visited as the ruins truly give you a sense of how the people of Kamiros would have lived. Tiny dwellings line the main streets and you get a real feel for how enclosed the city would have been. It is very well preserved and has lovely views out across the sea. Sadly, we couldn't spend as much time there as it was incredibly hot and there was very little shade around the main body of the ruins. There was a café on site, but it was extremely expensive and the service was surly to say the least, so take your own refreshments.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank GayleG261
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Very interresting site and well conserved, especially the disposition of the former greek houses. The explanation leaflet given to the visitors at the entry is really needed to appreciate Kamiros

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank 75VR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Very well signposted from the main road and easy to park (and free), even at busy times. At 4 Euros each it is 2 Euros less than many of the other main attractions but very much worth the cost.
We went up the right side of the hill but found coming down the left hand side was better as there was a better perspective of the ruins, but this could have been the time of day and the way the shadows fell.
The little leaflet given to you at the ticket office in the entrance was okay, and you got the chance to walk up the 'main street' to the top of the city. However, there was almost no signage around the main site which would have been handy.
4 out of 5 because it is definitely worth the entry fee but there could have been more information and it wasn't clear what was original and what had been reconstructed.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank LucyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Kairos is the smallest of Rhodes three ancient cities forming the Rhodian state and on the west of the island, Lindos and Ialysos being the others. It dates back to Mycenaean times and has been carefully and thoughtfully excavated and preserved. It cost €4 for the entrance but is a small price to pay for so much history.
It's in a beautiful setting but off the beaten track so a hire car is essential. We went early on a west coast adventure with this as a starting point so arrived about 10.30. It was very quiet and peaceful and we had a good look around before hoards of buses turned up causing havoc in the car park.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you like history and legends Ancient Kamiros is the place to visit on Rhodes Island. It is not far from Rhodes city and there is a public bus which goes there around noon gives you 2 hours to explore it and returns to Rhodes town every day.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Agnes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews