We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mason Orion

Great location but in desperate need of renovation

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024via mobile
The property is on what I believe to be the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean.
Both the a/c and the WiFi worked.
The staff was very friendly.

The hotel itself is tired and worn.
The rooms, bathrooms and furnishings are terribly old, outdated and worn.
The bed sleeps like a cheap sleeper sofa.
The restaurant is closed, as is the bar and there is no vending on the property.

I’ve spent much of my life traveling in 3rd world countries, so I’m accustomed to very basic hotels, but this was me was even a bit rough for me.

Next time, I’ll spend the extra $75 and stay at the Raddison
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$353
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $353
  • ZenHotels.com
    $310
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$435
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $452
  • ZenHotels.com
    $333
  • Booking.com
    $495
1.3 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$971
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $787
  • yescapade.com
1.9 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Expedia.com
    $146
0.6 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedrooms
$219
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $219
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$687
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
    $611
  • ZenHotels.com
    $568
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,101
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $991
  • Agoda.com
    $310
  • Trip.com
0.1 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$409
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • ZenHotels.com
    $231
  • Trip.com
0.0 km from Allamanda Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Morne Rouge
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
36
89
59
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
89
59
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiceland mall large room spice market wall street umbrellas supermarket beach anse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

I am very happy we chose this hotel, even though it may not be for everyone. However you get what you pay for and more. (If you want high end experience go to Silversand, but be prepared to pay 5-times more)

It is a low-key and simple hotel, with aging room interior, yet clean with a very friendly owner and enthusiastic guests. Basic amenities (like beach towels and toiletries) are provided and the front desk kindly arranged a taxi to the airport (though you may want to prenegotiate the price if you are stingy)

The hotel has its own beautiful beachfront with chairs, no crowd, great sunsets and a nicer pool than what I expected. Yes; sadly their restaurant is closed, but there are several restaurants and a supermarket within 3 minutes walk: none of them are of US high life standards, but they provide what you need, and the best restaurant that we found on the island is also in easy walking distance on the beach.
Also the bus stop is with 3 minutes that takes you into the capital (and you don’t want to miss that busing experience if you traveled this far)

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BeLaZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2024

This hotel is basic; the restaurant is closed. However, it has direct access to the stunning beach; the same beach as the Coyaba Beach Resort, which is at least 3 times the price and the Radisson which is more than twice the price. The rooms were very clean, the housekeepers came in every day; pool/beach towels were provided and changed when requested, as were the bath towels. There were sun loungers provided for the beach, with amazing huge trees that were great for sheltering from the sun. The gardens were immaculate. The staff at the hotel are very helpful. If you want 5 star luxury this is not the hotel for you, but if you want somewhere that is clean and comfortable, at a very affordable price, this is great. Easy walking access to restaurants and the nearby shopping mall.

Room tip: Don't expect 5 star luxury, but this hotel is affordable and worth the money for the location alone
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023

We can’t thank the owner and the staff team enough for their compassion and the care that they showed us during our stay. They were so accommodating and always meet our requests positively. The hotel offers excellent value for money where else can you stay in a hotel on Grand Anse beach for that price. The hotel is clean, welcoming and friendly. The facilities are good and the surrounds surreal. It made our stay enjoyable and momentous. The restaurant is closed however there are plenty of eating and drinking places nearby. We certainly experienced the real Grenadian experience and plan to visit again soon.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank S189XHbelindac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023

7 Days for $999... No frills! Great location.... Prime real estate.... The grounds were nicely manicured... The rooms were terribly outdated in need of rennovations... The beds were uncomfortable... I tossed n turned every night... No vending machines on the property... no ice machines.... there are lots of restaurant choices and a grocery store and spice mall is across the street... Becareful crissing the street its pretty busy... The owner and the staff... Especially Nelson... Are the nicest people ever.... I totally love them.... The pool was refreshing... They really need to update the lounge chairs.... But the best part that made up for everything is....The resort is positioned on the most beautiful beach ever!!!! Omg... the beach is clean... powdery sand.... crystal blue water that you can look straight down to the floor and see hundreds of fishy swimming aound your feet...The beach has these beautiful majestic shade trees and it's quiet and peaceful with a few families enjoying some beach time.... I still dont know where the spa was... The rooms were clean and fresh and they did supply beach towels... I would go back here if I couldnt splurge on something more upscale... For ballers on a budget you will enjoy this spot if you dont require much but a beautiful beach and encounters with good people.

Room tip: Get you water and snacks across the street at the grocery store... Very safe area!!!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Road45519174070
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2023

I stayed at Allamanda while on business in Grenada. While my stay was comfortable, I would not recommend this hotel for a business traveler, mainly because the restaurant is closed at this time.

As someone who needs a good breakfast to start my day, it was inconvenient to have to go looking for breakfast options that are very limited at 7am, unless you go next door to Coyaba. The hotel did tell us that their restaurant was closed and that there are options along the stretch. The options are VERY limited, especially at 7am if you're starting your day at 8am.

Front desk staff were friendly, lovely location on the beach, the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. Appreciated the fridge, but in the absence of a restaurant, I would have loved a microwave.

It's close to a mall that has a small food court and a grocery. Umbrellas is a fabulous restaurant in walking distance.

This property has a lot of potential. It would be great if they can partner with a caterer to get breakfast ordered for guests each morning.

If you're on vacation, it's a decent budget friendly option.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank csa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews