We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BarefootOnTheSand
United Kingdom

Island paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jan 2024via mobile
We recently stayed at BH for what was our 3rd visit. We love this place, the friendly relaxed atmosphere, the stunning gardens, the amazing staff and the convenient location of the resort guarantees an amazing time. If you don’t mind walking a bit or taking a local bus or taxi there are many options for food and entertainment. We loved that we could self cater for breakfast and enjoyed our evening meals eating out or at the resort when we chose. The food at the resort was great and the cocktails even better. Service was always amazing from all the staff. Everyone greats you with a genuine smile.
It is a 5 minute walk to the gorgeous Grand Anse beach, however we preferred BBC beach though it is a longer walk of about 20 minutes. It is well worth the walk having a better atmosphere and easily accessible beach bars . La Plywood Beach Bar is an amazing place to have a drink and watch the sun set.
We love the fact that the grocery store (IGA) is only a 5 minute walk up the road and depending which way you go you can walk on a sidewalk as opposed to walking on the side of the road. Both ways being of a similar distance.
The pool area is great and well maintained with very comfortable loungers and usually an oasis of calm relaxation. It is not an overly large space and can fill up easily, however there are more loungers in the garden areas. We never had trouble finding a space. As this is a family resort, there were many times when a couple of very ill mannered pre-teens and their parents put an end to the enjoyment of the pool area. After being soaked by multiple canon ball dives and witnessing some very public, uncomfortable pool side arguments we finally decided it was best to stay clear when the family were at the pool, which was most days unfortunately. Avoiding them did put a bit of a grey cloud over our stay but we felt there wasn’t much we or the resort could do.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean, consistent with our previous visits. Though tired around the edges it adds to the charm of the place. We loved sitting on our balcony in the mornings having coffee and watching the ships come into port. As the balcony was fairly enclosed it made a great place to relax, stay dry and enjoy the rain during the short showers the island experiences. We had a flamboyant bush next to our balcony where watching the hummingbirds gave us no end of entertainment.
Thank you BH for another amazing holiday. Would we go back? Definitely, can’t wait!
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: If you have mobility issues request a room on a lower level.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $486
  • ZenHotels.com
    $333
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
  • yescapade.com
1.3 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$200
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $303
  • Expedia.com
    $352
0.0 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedrooms
$169
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $565
  • travelup.com
0.3 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $238
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
View more hotels in Morne Rouge
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
242
135
27
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
135
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering spice island minute walk la belle creole pool bar grand anse beach police station st georges grocery store gardens are beautiful sun loungers living area superior studio one bedroom suite hired a car restaurants within walking distance large bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2023 via mobile

Just completed a weeks stay. Lovely tranquil setting in beautiful gardens.
Spacious accommodation with air conditioning.
Well equipped kitchen area.
Nice pool with comfy sun loungers.
Reception staff friendly and nothing too much trouble.
We used the restaurant once for dinner. Food was good but slow service.

Room tip: Set on a hill. If any mobility issues advise asking for room lower down. 5 minute walk along unlit road (no pavement) to nearest supermarket
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank babsred18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of November and had a great time. Considering the hotel was full, it was very peaceful and we never any issue getting a sunbed by the pool or having to wait for anything.

The Gardens - as you’d expect are gorgeous and beautifully maintained. All staff are friendly and helpful with a shout out to Roslyn our housekeeper who was Amazing! Nothing too much trouble and she was so helpful and cheerful. The room was cleaned to perfection and she even washed our dishes if we left any.

This is not a 5 star resort, but a cosy quiet place with very comfortable studios and apartments that are extremely well equipped.

For us it sometimes felt too quiet here, maybe a “happy hour” or special on the menu for residents would attract more people at quiet times?

We did eat in the restaurant and it was amazing food and Patrine was a fantastic waitress/server, but it was often so quiet we would go elsewhere for some more atmosphere.

We did have breakfast (continental) which is definitely worth the cost! (About £12 per person) but a good meal amazing views over the resort and lots of food and again great service from Tahira.

Mary at reception was excellent too and helped organise a beautiful and very delicious cake for my wife’s birthday which she celebrated whilst we were there.

Just be aware that of course there are mosquitos around- We used repellent and were fine! But you can get bitten late pm even around the pool.

Overall we had a great stay (even though no one asked us when we checked out!) my only suggestions (apart from the above food/drink) would be to have a room available for changing on if you have a late flight ! - we did and had to shower and change by the pool, which is not ideal. Luckily it was sunny so we were fine, but a changing room would be really helpful.

Also many places we stay at in the tropics have umbrellas in reception for guests to use, Blue Horizon don’t have any, and it can rain heavily so they would be helpful.

Room tip: Room 3 was lovely and quiet and close to pool and restaurant
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nigelhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

We stayed on the advice of a previous reviewer in a partial ocean view room. It was huge, and the beds were very comfortable. Our kitchen had only basic utensils, pots and pans, but was perfectly functional. We had a large balcony to sit out and enjoy the lovely sea view across to St George’s. As previously mentioned in some reviews the bathroom is a little dated but it was perfectly functional and we had a daily room service which meant our apartment was always clean.
We had some lovely meals by the pool side and the rum punch was excellent.
My only criticism would be that the ‘happy hour’ was not well advertised and so the pool bar was often very quiet with little atmosphere.
Also beware if you are a smoker you cannot smoke in the hotel grounds at all and must go out onto the road.
We enjoyed our stay, choose your room wisely as some are much smaller with limited views and you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mewsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2023

We stayed at the Blue Horizons Garden Resort and found it to be a lovely place. The gardens are an absolute delight, as are all the staff. We were in apartment 1, by the gate. We didn't find it was unsafe, even when people walked past or looked in. I often walked about on my own to the Mall down the road where the supermarket is, and felt very safe. The kitchen area was ample size with a large cooker if we wished to cook. There were sufficient utensils should we need them.
The owner was always walking around and talking to guests and he was a hive of information. It is a short walk to the beautiful Grand Anse beach, but if you choose to stay at the resort, the pool area is relaxing. We ate there every evening and the food is delicious. Breakfast is in the restaurant which is situated with a good view of St. George's.
We would totally recommend staying here. For us it was perfect. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Moos33y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

We have stayed in many places in Grenada and Blue Horizon was by far the best. The accommodations, resort grounds and staff are first class. I could not find any fault.
We stayed in room 14 which gave us the privacy we were looking for. The room had a King Size bed and partial sea view and fully functioning kitchen. All furniture and kitchen appliances looked recently refurbished. Spotless and comfy we settled in real quick.
On arrival the staff make you feel welcome including the resort owner and through the trip staff where a credit to the resort with warmth and professionalism. This really stood out for us as a marker of a very well ram resort.
The landscaped tropical gardens are incredible a real treat. You wouldn’t know how you central you are to everything Grand Anse had to offer as you feel in your own oasis. The famous Grand Anse beach was so close to resort and so was the supermarket for those wanting to cook.
We visited for the carnival week as a middle aged couple and found the accommodation to be central enough for transportation to and from local events.
We only ate in the hotel pool bar once with family due to the events we were attending. The food was excellent and gave me a taste of what the restaurant has to offer. I will be back to try on my next trip to Grenada.

Room tip: Book a room with a partial sea view to get the breeze while relaxing outside
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews