We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$299
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris C
Bristol, United Kingdom

Excellent self-catering resort close to beautiful Grande Anse beach

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2020
We stayed for three nights at Blue Horizons at the end of our two week tour of Grenada. Blue Horizons is a very well managed and maintained resort of around 32 cottages and studios set in magnificent surroundings. Would recommend for any garden lover, as the planting is really exceptional and beautifully maintained. Our villa was very comfortable, had everything we needed and was well maintained. Our only disappointment was that our cottage (no 32) was close to the road and without a real view of the gardens. We will return and will request a villa higher up (ocean view). The pool area and bar is a nice place to relax. Blue Horizon guests are able to use the beach loungers adjacent to the Spice Island Hotel on beautiful Grande Anse beach. Overall would definitely recommend. The resort is owned by Grenadians and is eco-friendly so lots of reasons to choose this resort over a bland corporate owned multi-national hotel.
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Choose an ocean view villa or one higher up in the property to get better views.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • yescapade.com
1.3 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $502
  • ZenHotels.com
    $325
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$203
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $299
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedrooms
Tripadvisor
$169
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$2,573
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
    $2,573
0.2 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $834
  • travelup.com
0.3 km from Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Morne Rouge
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
242
134
27
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
134
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering spice island minute walk la belle creole pool bar grand anse beach police station st georges grocery store gardens are beautiful sun loungers living area superior studio one bedroom suite hired a car restaurants within walking distance large bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2020

We enjoyed our stay at Blue Horizons. We had a one-bedroom suite. It was small, but adequate for our needs. There was a balcony with a small table where we had breakfast every morning and lunches if we ate in. The kitchen had very basic dishes, silverware, glasses, pans, utensils, etc along with a full size fridge. We did purchase some additional ice trays since there were only 2 small trays. We had requested a microwave and were able to get one our first morning. The WIFI and AC worked great and there were USB outlets for charging. There is a room by the pool with tons of books available. We had a suite at the very top of the resort. We had a great view, so worth the extra steps. We had a choice between many, many steps or a very steep paved area plus a few steps to get to our suite. Anyone with any mobility issues should request a lower level room. We called a couple of times for maintenance issues and someone resolved the issues very quickly. We ate lunch once at the pool bar and thought it was ok, but not worth a repeat. We did not eat at La Belle Creole. It was an easy walk to Spice Island Beach Resort to hang out on the beach. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair. However, there are no signs that the loungers in the one area are for Blue Horizon guests. Some days several of them were occupied by people who I am fairly sure were not staying at Blue Horizons. The grocery store is very easy to walk to and there are several restaurants in the area. Morne Rouge Beach is close enough to walk to, but it involves a lot of walking up and down hills. Overall, Blue Horizons was a good choice for an affordable suite near the best beach in Grenada with lounge chairs available on that beach and within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and the bus stop.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2020

First, I'd like to clarify that if I will return to Grenada for any holiday which is not related to any major celebration, I will be back to Blue Horizons.
There is no other resort along Grande Anse Beach that would allow you to have a sun lounger in its best stretch without paying a fortune.
However, it is a three-star resort with rooms that look more like a two-star hotel.
Our room was "Deluxe" probably for its size but definitely not for its inside looks. It included two queen size beds, one of them being barely usable as it was pushed against a wall along one side, so if two people slept there one would have to get on and off the bed from the opposite side and would not have a bedside table.
We clearly used the other bed, which still didn't have any bedside table on one side, so we moved over a wheel table from the kitchen/dining room for that purpose. Another issue with the best bed was that the aircon unit was right above one half of the bed and it had a couple of LEDs beaming straight into the eyes of whoever was sleeping on that side of the bed. We fixed that issue by buying some tape to cover the LEDs but still, considering the size of that overall room/flat, the air conditioner could have been placed in several better places than right above the head of one of the guests.
Furniture and wall paint are old and clearly show signs of age. However, the kitchen is well equipped in terms of cooker, cutlery, pans and dishes, so next time we'd avoid the boring and bland cooked breakfast and get interesting food for breakfast at the local supermarket.
Resort-wise, Blue Horizons has little to offer beyond its wonderful vegetation. It is indeed a garden resort and they even offer guided tours across the whole property to learn about all the plants, flowers and trees which are definitely stunning.
Beyond the garden aspect, though, there's nearly nothing. The pool is fairly small and the pool bar is closed after 10pm, with no event or music on any day (we've been there for 10 days).
The pool bar works also as a small restaurant at lunch and dinner and that's where we had dinner but there are nearly no vegetarian options (my wife had to order a chicken salad without the chicken which turned out to be our most expensive dish as the chicken was gone but not the chicken price) and service is very slow.
There is also the main restaurant, La Belle Créole, which I will review separately with regard to the dinner, but the breakfast is worth mentioning here because it's definitely something that, as other reviewers reported, is best avoided. It was our first time there so I preferred the "safe" option fo including breakfast in our booking, but it's the first resort breakfast that is not a buffet. It's the same limited menu every day, with a sequence of meagre alternatives, and given that we stayed for 10 days I have literally tried all possible combinations. My wife, vegetarian, had much less choice. With a nice supermarket nearby with luscious fruit and vegetables, whenever we'll be back we'll just use the restaurant for our first breakfast and then we'll shop for the rest of the time, the fridge in the room is also big enough to store food and drinks for several breakfasts.
To complete this review, I must mention the beach because it was the main reason for our holiday and, again, there is no alternative on Grand Anse beach if you want to save some money.
The owners of Spice Island Beach Resort and Blue Horizons Garden Resort are brothers, so Blue Horizons guests get a limited, but always sufficient in our experience, number of sun loungers right in the middle of the stretch of beach where the Spice Island resort is located. The sun loungers are not offered with tables or sun umbrellas, so the only shelter when the sun is at its peak are some small trees and palms, or the nearby bar. The bar itself, unlike the rooms at the Spice Island Beach Resort, is priced quite reasonably and Blue Horizons guests can open an account with Spice Island for the duration of their stay. The account can also be used to pay for dinner at Oliver's, the local restaurant which I'll review separately.
The partnership between Blue Horizons and Spice Island works also as a perfect way to upsell Spice Island to Blue Horizons guests. And here's where it's worth mentioning service. Only a few people working at Blue Horizons seem to enjoy their job and some are often grumpy. On the other hand, at Spice Island all staff are very welcoming and often smiling.
In summary, the Spice Island Beach Resort sits along the best part of Grand Anse beach. Being a guest at the Blue Horizons allows you to enjoy the best spot of Grand Anse beach, but for special occasions like a honeymoon I would definitely go straight to the Spice Island Beach Resort.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms might be better as they're slightly closer to the beach
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Giovanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2020

What a wonderful find! Very sensibly priced. The gardens are beautiful and perfectly maintained. The staff are all delightful. We were one of the few 'newbies' many people have been coming back for over 20 years which I think says it all! Our first week we barely bumped into anybody else. It is a 5 minute walk to a perfect beach. We visited in January so there was barely anyone on the beach as well so no difficulty getting a sunbed and placing it under a shaded tree or two. The garden tour with Avon was fascinating. The bird tour was interesting too. The manager/owner was so friendly and informative about local history and happy to chat. The rooms are kept exceptionally clean, yes they are slightly dated but all totally functional and more than you need. The bed was super comfy. The pool bar was great for a meal or two as well. The supermarket was a 5 minute walk although a reasonable wide choice (with a lot of Waitrose branded product!!) sometimes you have to take only whats been delivered. I would take a torch as in January it gets dark as early as 6.30 and walk back can be an experience. Felt totally safe walking home in darkness along the streets though!

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank GillM900
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Blue Horzons is a great place to stay. It is meticulously maintained and the owner Arnold Hopkin is pleasent and ever-present making sure that everything is being done right. His staff is exceptionally well trained. For example when I called the front desk and made a request the person who took my call repeated back to me my request to be sure that my expectations would be met. They provide plug converters. They folded the mirrors in on my rental SUV when it was parked so they wouldn't get damaged. Thats the way customer service should be. The bed was very comfortable and there were 2 televisions in our room and ceiling fan in the bedroom. The AC would cool the room down in no time.The bed was very comfortable. My wife said that to me a couple times. The beach towels were nice, big and thick.

Arnold's brother owns Spice Island on Grand Anse beach which is about 5 minutes walk. They have nice clean and padded chairs on the beach for the Blue Horizons guests to use. You can order drinks on the beach and enjoy their restaurants as well.

The Blue Horizons room we stayed in had a kitchen and we shopped at the IGA down the street. Its in the some location as the Spiceland Mall. We made our own breakfast everyday before we went to the beach. From our room you could see Grand Anse Beach and the town of St George.

I would highly recommend Blue Horizons and the Island of Grenada. Grenada is a clean and beautiful place. Rent a car! Learn how to drive on left side of the road! Great fun.

Room tip: The higher the room the better the view. We could see the ocean and town of St George from our at the top of the hill.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RichonaRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2020

My daughter and I escaped the wet and cold British January for the most relaxing week in Blue Horizons. We felt truly revitalised and thoroughly spoilt by our week here. For us it had the perfect combination of spacious self-catering units but also pool with bar and fab restaurant on site. All set in the most immacualte lush gardens. it was our first trip to Grenada but won't be our last! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank janerps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews