We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa(Castelvecchio Pascoli)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$251
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Hotel Bridge(Bagni di Lucca)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Hotel Regina(Bagni di Lucca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ristorante Milano(Borgo a Mozzano)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
20
8
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
8
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzatiramisualexcookingwinesrecipepreparationluccahospitalityhost
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

My family and I had a fantastic day with Rita making pasta, she made us all feel so welcome and we all had so much fun. Rita and Alex are so friendly and really helpful with lots of advice about the area as well as with the cooking and especially the wine! Would definitely recommend Rita to learn some typical Italian fare.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank janer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi, thank you so much for your kind review.
It was such a pleasure meeting you and your family. Glad you enjoyed your food and wine. Hope to see you again one day in Barga. Grazie mille!! Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Great experience and super host in Rita. Thoroughly enjoyed learning how to cook real Tuscan food - the huge pizza oven is an experience not to be missed. Rita ensured we saw interesting places in the vicinity and the bonus was a wine tasting event on the coast with Alex followed by the most delicious ice cream ever!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dtokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLu1960, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your very kind words. It was such a pleasure meeting you.
We got good weather, had the opportunity to go for a wine tasting at the coast,
it also made our time memorable with you. Hope to see you again in the future.
Warm regards Rita and Alex xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

From the trip to Alex's wine tasting to the cooking lesson to a fabulous family style dinner, all amazing!!
We spent a wonderful day in the company of this family establishment. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jackozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLu1960, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you so much.
It was a great pleasure meeting you all . Good fun !!
Look forward to seeing you again at La Mezzaluna.
Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

What a fantastic experience this was. I stayed at La Mezza Luna to attend Rita's cookery course, the first time I had booked an activity holiday and was travelling alone. Rita and Alex could not be more welcoming and did everything possible to ensure all their guests had a great holiday. The cooking was fun as well as informative and the added excursions were so much better for having a local guide. I met some lovely people on the course making me feel that I was not really holidaying alone I would love to return one day and highly recommend La Mezza Luna and Rita's cookery course to anyone.
Thanks Rita and Alex,
Shirley x

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure meeting you and you were a
lovely group . Hope to see you again in Barga one day .
Best Wishes Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We went to La Mezza Luna on a whim, to see some of Northern Tuscany but mainly to enjoy learning about Tuscan cooking. From the moment Rita met us at the airport to when she and her partner Alex took us back a week later we felt as if we were being looked after by friends.

On our first night we visited Alex's winery over the road and with other guests enjoyed an evening of delicious local hams and cheeses and wonderful (non-headache-inducing!) local wines.

Next day the cooking began and we loved it! During the week we became adept at making so many types of pasta, delicious sauces, breads, tarts, pizzas, desserts - and wild boar stew! Rita didn't just show us, we had to do it all too. A real hands-on, and hands-in, experience! Pizza making, in the big wood-fired pizza oven, was a highlight.

Everything was taken care of, with Rita taking us on trips and visits and keeping us very well fed morning, noon and night. We visited places we would never have seen on our own and Rita's local knowledge and personal touch made all the difference.

Our accommodation was fine, not a five star super modern impersonal hotel, which we did not want, but spotlessly clean, comfy accommodation with everything we needed.

A short walk away is the railway station and we took ourselves off on our own one day to explore the medieval town of Lucca. Closer to Rita's is the beautiful hilltop town of Barga. In both we almost expected the Montague and the Capulet lads to emerge from the alleyways.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at La Mezza Luna and are very glad to have met Rita and Alex, our warm and helpful hosts. We loved the cooking, the company, the wine and the wonderful food.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

What beautiful kind words!
It is very much appreciated and thank you so much . It was a great pleasure for Alex and I to meet you both. This is our life... food, wine music and great company!
Thank you once again and hope to see you again in Barga one day.
Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews