We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wendy H
Morrinsville, New Zealand

Beautiful B & B

Review of God's Old house
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 May 2016
We stayed here on our last night of the Alps to Ocean. What a great way to finish. The church has been done up absolutely beautifully. We were warmly welcomed by Roger and Carolyn with a glass of fruit juice followed by a lovely platter. We then relaxed in the spa pool while our hosts got our dinner ready. A lovely home cooked meal and the dishes were taken away afterwards so no cleaning up for us to do. Next morning a cooked breakfast delivered to us at a time to suit our departure. Highly recommend anyone wanting to stay somewhere that is in a peaceful setting with great hosts.
Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
14.0 km from God's Old house
Free parking
$108
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $108
  • Agoda.com
15.3 km from God's Old house
Free Wifi
Free parking
$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $189
  • Agoda.com
16.1 km from God's Old house
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $91
  • Agoda.com
16.5 km from God's Old house
Free parking
$342
  • Agoda.com
16.4 km from God's Old house
$632
  • Expedia.com
    $605
  • Official Site
    $550
  • Hotels.com
    $568
17.1 km from God's Old house
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
$167
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Official Site
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $174
17.1 km from God's Old house
Free Wifi
Free parking
$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $157
17.2 km from God's Old house
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
17.2 km from God's Old house
Sunrise at The Vicarage
$267
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $279
  • Booking.com
17.2 km from God's Old house
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Windsor
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
8
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The overall experience here is superb. The accomdation is very unique and great hosts.
The food was amazing, definitely restaurant standard. This is a must do on the alps 2 ocean or even for a quiet weekend away. We had such a brilliant time here it is the best place I've stayed for years, the accomdation, food and overall service was faultless and it's definitely underpriced.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This is a great place to stay...comfortable, beautiful peaceful setting and great hosts. I took my 90 year old Mum here for her birthday. Roger and Carolyn really made her birthday special for her. Our dinner and breakfast were both great meals and perfectly suited for Mum and the occasion.
Everything is high quality ..from the beds and linen to the china and the service from the hosts could not be better. A great place for a special occasion or a getaway break. Perfect for one or 2 couples or a family or a groupbof cyclists.
I will be back! Thank you Roger and Carolyn for making Mums day.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jenzview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We stayed one night on the A2O trail - this was the ABSOLUTE best place we stayed out of all the overnight stays. Roger and Carolyn are great hosts - welcoming refreshments, a bottle of wine before dinner, delicious home-cooked meal with vegetables from the garden, continental breakfast. Accommodation is in a converted church, which was Roger and Carolyn's home. The restoration is beautifully done. The church can sleep up to 8, but there were just the two of us (the hosts don't combine groups). There is a spa pool to relax in, and pretty garden surrounds to sit and read. There were some wifi problems while we were there, but hopefully they're sorted. The double bed downstairs was a bit squishy, but this shouldn't detract from your stay (there is a queen bed upstairs too).

Windsor is on the A2O trail about 20km before Oamaru, and Gold's Old House is just a couple of hundred metres from the intersection (watch for the sign).

Make sure you stay there!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank waiheke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We stayed at Gods Old House at the end of our cycle trip - what a way to finish! The Oamaru stone church has been lovingly converted into beautiful accommodation and sits amongst beautiful grounds. Roger and Carolyn were very accommodating and made us feel right at home. The food is no-fuss and tasted amazing!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0nes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews