We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Agoda.comUS$151
CheapTicketsUS$151
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night villa renovation sky accommodation reception bathroom formosa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2021

We stayed for just one night as the location was ideal for visiting our friends. The villa was enormous. Normally I would not complain about that but it was lacking furniture. No pictures on the wall or any decorations. All the colours were so bland that you felt lost in the room. It also didnot look as if housekeeping had finished their job. There was still a cleaning spray bottle in the bathroom, two of the 6 pillows didnot have a pillow case, the hairdryer was left how the last guests had left it. The entrance door was full of spider webs and the outdoor lighting did not work which made it hard to load our car on our departure at 6 am. We did not complain as we were just on a flying visit and only we wanted a comfortable bed to sleep in. The bed is great and enormous.
No outdoor furniture which was strange as the location invites itself to sit outdoor and enjoy the surroundings.
The public areas like reception and restaurant looked really great and love to come back with out friends one day to try out the restaurant.
A great stay, but the rooms really need more spunk!

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank Bloeminhoropito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Keenan, General Manager at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Dear Bloeminhoropito,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay.

I am sorry to read your comments about the lack of furniture and artwork; the hero is actual outside the window, looking towards Hauraki Gulf, Rangitoto and Auckland City. We do also have outdoor furniture available in our Deluxe Villas.

It is disappointing that it appears housekeeping hadn’t completed serving your room on arrival, I have addressed the need for them to ensure that they are detailed, and have actually completed servicing a room prior to releasing to the front desk to allocate.

Having only recently opened we will certainly take your comments on-board, and look at the areas that you have highlighted as letting the Villas down, which in turn impacted on your overall stay experience with us.

Kindest regards
Marcus


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

We had bed and breakfast package for four nights.

Room very clean, modern and spacious.
We were moved from Deluxe to Superior because of no hot water. There wasn't much difference between D and S except the view in S was unobstructed and there were outside chairs and tables in S rooms. I think myself that all rooms should have tables and chairs outside.

NO COMPENDIUM to explain facilities.
NO SKY which surprised me.
INTERNET in rooms,no limit on use.
HEAT PUMP was blowing cold air onto the bed and I couldn't change it much so had to turn it off unfortunately.
Didn't like to have windows open at night as there were no safety catches.
The rooms were a bit bland and could do with a picture.

BREAKFASTS were very good, especially the full cooked one. But I did find they weren't consistent. One day you would have 1 sausage, the next day 2. The pancakes were listed as having cream with them. One day there was some, the next day nothing.

Staff were all very nice and helpful.
A nice quiet place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank roseandtulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Keenan, General Manager at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear roseandtulip,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and comments about the Villa(s) that you stayed in.

I am sorry to read that there were a few inconsistencies throughout your stay, which I can understand may have been a little frustrating for you. I do hope that you raised these with our team while you were staying, so we were able to address them straight away.

There are a few differences between the Superior and Deluxe Villas, and one is the outdoor furniture being available, the view is quite a big difference, as well as coffee pod machine in Deluxe, and a more thorough refurbishment of the Deluxe Villa versus the Superior Villas.

Again thank you for sharing your stay experience.


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

Definitely felt like we had left Auckland and found ourselves in Australia or Florida! We couldn’t believe we were still in Auckland, this is an Oasis. It’s heavily under renovation by Rydges, bringing her back to her former glory, but that didn’t affect our stay (or our golf for that matter). Stayed in a King Suite Villa & the view was impeccable. Clean, spacious, tidy, and more than we expected for our money. Am looking forward to returning and seeing what these renovations will unfold, will be recommending this resort to friends and family looking for a relaxing holiday! Stayed 2 nights and completely exhausted all there is to do in Beachlands, this is a place for golf + R&R, highly recommend if this is what you’re after!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 396gemmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Keenan, General Manager at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear 396gemmaw,

It was lovey to read your review after your recent stay with us here at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort; we are really happy to read that you felt as though you had escaped Auckland for great getaway experience.

Now that we’re into January the contractors have returned in force, and we’re progressing really quickly with the remainder of the Villa renovations, we hope to have all completed prior to the end of January.

It is so pleasing that you found your Villa to be spacious, clean and good value for money. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the golf, and the ability to have some well-earned R&R.

We love seeing a good recommendation from our valued guests, thank you.


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Although a quiet night at Ridges Formosa, the quality of food and service is not diminished. My family of four are delighted we took the lovely rural drive to sunny Beachlands to dine at Ridges Formosa Resort. Good decision.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Quikbrwnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Keenan, General Manager at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear Quikbrwnfox,

It is nice to read that your dining experience was worth the picturesque drive to Beachlands; and that while the night that you dined with us was quiet, this didn’t impact on the experience that our team delivered, in both the quality of the meals served, and the level of service offered.


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

The old Formosa golf resort has recently been taken over by Rydges hotel group who are embarking on an amazing transformation of this property. We recently stayed here for a one night stay but will be returning very soon. The accommodation is situated on a championship 18 hole golf course and comprises refurbished villas scattered on one side of the golf course with incredible views out to sea. The rooms are modern, nicely furnished with incredibly comfortable beds and a lovely seating area outside with views over the course and over to the city. The bathrooms are huge with double showers, a large bath, twin basins and huge ceiling windows to gaze at the sky. There is a restaurant and bar on site although we did not get the chance on this visit to sample the food. All the staff were incredibly welcoming. There is an indoor pool and gym onsite however the renovation of these areas is not yet complete, when they are though, this will be an amazing out of town leisure retreat. Thoroughly recommend a stay here before the prices sky rocket when all the renovations are complete!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Keenan, General Manager at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear Andrew,

We are really pleased to read that you had such a positive stay with us here at Rydges Formosa Golf Resort.

A lot of work has gone into the Resort in a short amount of time, to allow to open in early December prior to the Christmas and New Year festive period. There’s still more for us to do, however pleasingly we are certainly getting there, and looking forward to having all of the work completed and the full Resort, and all facilities, open and operational by mid-2021.

We look forward to having you stay again soon, and hopefully getting the chance to sample our menu on your next stay.


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews