We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckoo Cottage

The courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The courtyard
Study and original fireplace
Dining room and refectory table
The well appointed and equipped kitchen
Living room with wood burner
One bedroom with kingsize bed
One of the original bedroom stone fireplaces
Open spaces to explore
Natural rock formation at Brimham Rocks (NT)
Nidderdale at Pateley Bridge
Autumnal view outside the cottage
The suntrap courtyard garden
Langstrothdale limestone pavement
Bolton Abbey
Handmade oak doors, stone cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynzigree...
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Thanks Greg and Fiona, we loved it!!!

We stayed at the cottage for 4 nights in December and had a lovely stay.

4 adults and 2 girls. There were 3 very comfy double beds, all with lovely covers, blankets, pillows and throws. The linen, cushions and blankets throughout the property were all lovely. (Not always the case in holiday cottages)

The girls loved the games room and extra games that had been made available for them to use. The book shelf and DVDs were again a very nice surprise to!

Although one day the drain gave off a very unpleasant egg smell, it was simply fixed with some bleach from the local shop.

We also ran out of wood and had to go 2 days without the fire which was a shame :-( the shops were closed for Xmas so we couldn't get our own) I would suggest taking your own if you have a burner at home, we wish we had.

The kitchen is small but more than well equipped! Take some fresh coffee to fully Italian he lovely coffee maker too!

We had a tree and some decorations put up for us which was also a nice surprise as was the little gift!

Lots of lovely little touches that make this place extra lovely!

Parking is a little limited (we have a Nivara, so it was tight for us) but we managed.

The local Italian is very good, really busy so book! The Indian was below par, but maybe we are spoilt!?

There is a little supermarket 2 mins down the road and the local shops are sooooo cute. A sweet shop, an amazing butchers and lots of little places to nibble.

We will deffo be back, thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob V
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Thank you so much for a well needed break, a beautiful cottage, kept immaculate & everything you would require is already there.
I would strongly recommend this cottage.
Again thank you so much,
Dawn, Kevin, & family.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hookfamil...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just like being at a home x lovely to get there and have t bags sugar milk toilet rolls chocolate biscuits and let's not forget wine ! Lovely x beds fantastic, bathroom great x loved it x would go back tomorrow if I didn't have to work !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Great, thank you, glad the cottage and the welcoming touches were appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spoilt ”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a week in the cottage. Could not fault it. Ideal location, walk to town and pub. Perfectly clean. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautifully designed home in a perfect location to explore the east Dales.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Going to a holiday cottage is always a bit of a lottery: you've seen the pictures and you know there'll be the necessities - chairs, beds, windows, stairs - but living somewhere for two weeks without the little things you have at home can become frustrating: will the fridge be big enough? will there be exactly 4 of everything so I'm constantly washing up? How tatty and stained will the oven gloves be - inside as well as out? Is that bed as thin as it looks in the picture? Will that armchair be comfy for a teatime snooze after a long walk in the hills? Cuckoo Cottage has thought of all of these questions, and answered them intelligently and sensibly: a huge fridge! lots of plates! brand new linen! genuinely double beds with firm mattresses! sag-free sofas! And best of all - sharp kitchen knives that actually cut a pork pie not press it into submission. Being there was like being at home, but in a much more beautiful part of the country with two (yes, two) award winning butchers within 10 minutes (5 if you're peckish). The décor is thoughtful and coordinated - there's no sense of "let's consign this chair and these cushions and this rug to the holiday cottage and hope no-one will mind the fuchsia / aubergine / burnt umber colour clash" - and you are generously provisioned on arrival: my partner opened the wine and I counted the bales of soft Christy towels and sighed with happiness that there would be no need for a mid-stay laundry day. I'd go back there without a second thought; I'd live there if they'd let me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very high standard of furnishings and décor.
Liked least: Possibly too many scatter cushions - I wasn't quite sure where to put them all (a very minor quibble!)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for your great words, delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing